We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELENT place to stay..."HOME AWAY from HOME"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asheville Swiss Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Knightdale
1 review
“EXCELENT place to stay..."HOME AWAY from HOME"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Our family loved staying here. You thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our children, my husband and I will be staying with you every time we go back to Asheville. We have already told everyone we know about how our stay was. LOVED IT......

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewalkers143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
134
169
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Stayed here for a romantic weekend with my wife. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonesome_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Just spent 2 nights at the Alpine cottage and it could not have been better. Tastefully and thoughtfully appointed. Everything you need is there right down to cooking spices. Just like staying in your own home. Located in densely wooded area with beautiful views but just minutes from downtown Asheville, the Blue Ridge Parkway, etc. Our Portuguese Water Dog was welcomed like a member of the family. Judy, the owner, is passionate about customer service and carries it out in word, spirit and deed. Judy also owns The Well Bred Bakery a short distance up the road and serves incredible pastries, great sandwiches and salads.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowdy-the-dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed at the Geneva last September to visit Asheville. We wanted to bring our medium sized dog and this was really the only place I could find online that was pet-friendly. That was the best thing about the place. The Geneva cabin is definitely the smallest, and was an okay price- but boy is this place tiny. The front door is downstairs, but there is storage in the first floor, so you must walk up a tiny dark staircase to get to the apartment. That was fine for us (although slightly annoying for late night dog business), but the smell of old dog hits you as soon as you open the front door- it dissipated upstairs but that was not a great first impression! There is a very small kitchen, not really conducive to cooking most of your meals in, but sufficient for simple food preparation. The fridge was abnormally small too, understandable for such a small kitchen, but I had trouble fitting our food and beverage stash in the fridge for the week! There is a small living room with a very uncomfortable (i.e. short) couch and TV, and a nice sized bedroom with a really nice TV- so we actually tended to recline in the bedroom when we wanted to relax and watch a few shows. The bed was actually extremely UN-comfortable- the frame was basically falling off of the bottom and we didn't sleep that well the entire week. One nice feature was the small balcony right off of the bedroom which we used almost every day to read and enjoy the fresh air. Another nice feature was the laundry facilities- while they were not in our building, it was a short walk to clean some clothes mid week.

All in all, I would not return to this specific "chalet" due to its tiny size, but might consider trying another building if I wanted to return to Asheville. It was a fine place to leave our stuff and sleep (although it could benefit from a nicer bed), but is not comfortable to stay in and relax throughout the day/evening. It was just too small for 2 people and a small dog... I would have to get one of the bigger places to feel comfortable for a whole week.

One last note- the owner was easy to work with over email, although we never got around to using the gift certificate for the bakery- but we were about 15 minutes late leaving our cabin on the last day and the woman that came to clean was extremely rude to us. I know there is a tight turn-around, but her attitude really turned me off when we had been there for an entire week and were literally 15 minutes behind.

We were also supposed to have wi-fi, but could never hook up to their network, so we ended up finding another free network and basically stealing internet all week.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissChalet12, Owner at Asheville Swiss Chalets, responded to this review, 24 August 2009
These comments are from a guest who wrote the review almost a year after her visit. We encourage feedback from our guests by leaving comment cards in our chalets and rely on suggestions to constantly improve the quality of our accommodations. Most of the things she was unhappy about were never reported to us yet have actually been corrected. While the Geneva chalet is the smallest and coziest of all 6 of our chalets, (much larger than most hotel rooms) it is over 100 sq ft larger than a New York City apartment that I lived in for 18 years! "Tiny" is a very relative term. The fully equipped kitchen includes an apartment-sized refrigerator with a separate freezer. This is the first comment about the size of the refrigerator that we've received in 5 years including from guests staying as long as a month. The Internet wi-fi that did not work is one of 6 networks available and our guests can often connect to more than one (as she did) if they are unable to connect to the one in their chalet. While it appears she would have been happier in a larger chalet, we have many guests who stay at the Geneva, (including lots of repeats) and let us know how much they enjoyed it.

The Asheville Swiss Chalet Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed here whilst exploring the blue ridge/smokey mountains. It was a great base to return to after exploring the natural beauty of the area including hiking, white water rafting and tubing! We strongly recommend these chalets, we stayed in the Materhorn which was ideal for us as a family of four. Also, very handy for the laundry room which is in a building adjecent to the chalet. The bakery is well worth a visit but beware of the mountain eclair for breakfast for obvious reasons!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We really have loved our stays at the Asheville Swiss Chalets! We stayed in the Interlachen most recently, but have been in two of the others on previous trips. They are charming - so very attractive - but more than that we really appreciated all the loving, welcoming touches: the cookies, fully stocked kitchen (including coffee beans & grinder) and fresh condiments in the fridge - Wow! The chalets are centrally located in Asheville, so are close to just about any where you'd want to go. The chalets seem better every year and have added so much to our stay in Asheville.
Suzanne & Bill

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh,NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We visited Swiss Chalets for 4 nights Halloween weekend '08, booking all the mountaintop cottages for our son's wedding. Judy was very helpful via phone adjusting accommodations to suit our midwestern family and friends. The cottages are set high in the trees affording visitors a treehouse feeling, decorator touches and large rooms. Judy provided coupons for her excellent bakery to the cottage guests. However, when I mentioned they may not have time for a visit to the bakery, she was very flexible in providing me with the coupons to use along with items I ordered from her for our post wedding brunch.
Asheville has a very eclectic downtown area with fine and casual dining and wonderful shopping. BIltmore is the most spectacular and largest private home open to the public in America. Worth every penny! These cottages are only 10 minutes from downtown and 20 minutes from Biltmore, yet you feel like you are far,far away from everything and everyone.
Judy was very flexible and allowed us early entry to the cottages to place welcome baskets for our guests and also extended checkout time to accommodate us for the post wedding brunch we hosted for a good-sized group. She can also provide air mattresses. We will definitely stay there again. Judy, thank you for helping to make this a long weekend we will never forget!
Lula in Raleigh, NC

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LulaRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Swiss Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Swiss Chalets

Property: Asheville Swiss Chalets
Address: 10 N Delano Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1797
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville Swiss Chalets offers pet-friendly and serene standalone cabins nestled in a woodland setting, with casual elegance and all the conveniences of home. We are located on Beaucatcher Mountain just 5 minutes from vibrant Downtown Asheville, close to many popular breweries, nightlife and award winning restaurants, yet close enough to enjoy the beautiful outdoors with the many waterfalls and hiking trails nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asheville Swiss Chalets Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing