We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peak Season” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ridge Parkway

Blue Ridge Parkway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.95*
and up
Flame Azalea and Fern Forest Combo Horseback Trail Ride
Ranked #1 of 183 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This 469-mile scenic drive links Shenandoah and Great Smoky Mountains National Park, while protecting the cultural and natural features of the Blue Ridge.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peak Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you can schedule a trip through the parkway during Peak Season it is well worth it. One of Mother Nature's many splendors, this time of year is beautiful site to behold. The trees look as if someone painted them in deep colors or red, gold, orange, and yellow. As the leaves fall and the trees prepare for their winter slumber, the moutains feel the most alive at this time of year! With just a bit of nip to the night air, the days are cool and comfortable, and the climate is superb. Bring your friends, family, or your someone special. There is something for everyone in Asheville!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HollywoodGoesLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,324
    829
    134
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sublime route with interesting stops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We took a segment of the Parkway in western NC that was absolutely gorgeous, very little traffic, many places to stop to hike or admire a view, which we did. We will go back, to do more hiking, and to see it in different seasons. The pace is sedate and reminds me of the days when people went on motor tours or long drives to relax and enjoy some scenery. The Mountain sh were in full fruit, deep red, spectacular! Gorgeous wildflowers, birds, sublime.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank andarcaminos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
893 reviews
406 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,747 helpful votes
“APPALACHIAN SCENIC HIGHWAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

It took from 1935 to 1987 build the Blue Ridge Parkway in its present state. It connects the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Shenandoah National Park.

The scenic, unspoiled beauty is breathtaking. I found the section around Asheville largely section undeveloped---no telephone poles and no wires. I really enjoyed the drive.

I visited the National Park Service's Blue Ridge Parkway Visitor Center & Blue Ridge National Heritage Area HQ at Milepost 384 which is the newest attraction on the Parkway. This is where the National Parks Passport Cancellation Station for the North Carolina section of the Blue Ridge Parkway is located. There are three stamps here:
Blue Ridge Parkway ---- NC - VA
Blue Ridge Parkway ---- Visitor Center
Blue Ridge Parkway Heritage Area ---- Asheville, NC
There is a fourth stamp available at the NPS affiliate site, the Folk Art Center at Milepost 382.

There was still plenty of colorful foliage in mid-November when I visited.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurene_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Rode more than 200 miles of this iconic road and loved EVERY one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Joined this road after completing the scenic Skyline Drive on my way down to Asheville, NC. The road is beautiful and a lovely slow, drive if you want it to be. Services were plentiful even though some were closed for the season. The foliage was the best we saw on the east coast this year. Cannot wait to return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jardindemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We traveled many kilometers on this parkway from North to South. Breathtaking views! It was foggy during the last part (from Asheville, NC to Cherokee, TN). We had to be very careful but it was a Sunday morning and no traffic so that helped..
We then crossed the Smokey Mountains National Park to our other destination.
Beautiful journey.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Ridge Parkway also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Blue Ridge Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing