We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay...amazing view!”
Review of Campfire Lodgings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Campfire Lodgings
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great place to stay...amazing view!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at Campfire Lodging in September for a week. We were not able to get a Premium campsite as they book up quickly. The Premium campsites are small but have amazing views. The downside is that they offer no shade. However, in the D sites, you are in a shaded area and surrounded by woods. For those who are not able to secure a Premium spot or even for those to wish to partake of it, there is a very short walk to a small outdoors area with an amazing view of the mountains and water. There is limited seating but you can bring a few folding chairs to sit and take in the sunset. The RV's and pop up spots are separate from the tent camping and Yurts which are like a little bungalow surrounded by woodsy views. They are large sites with decks. There is a trail leading to a stocked catch and release pond. The gift shop offers camping amenities, ice, propane gas refills and firewood for sale. There are 4 bathrooms (single use - unisex), one of which is handicapped. There is also a laundry area with a coin operated washer and dryer. The best times for showering is right after they are cleaned which is around 12:30 everyday. Jason who works there will deliver a bucket of firewood to your site for around 6/7$. Ice is $4 a bag. There is a place for bike riding and jogging as the road is well maintained. Ande who works at the reservations and office management is great! There is a grocery store (Ingles) and a Citgo nearby. The Biltmore is only a 15 minute drive from the campsite. In Weaverville (nearby city), there are a number of restaurants as well. The mosquito's are not bad here at all. I would recommend this campsite. It offers a relaxing environment good for families or singles. Quiet time starts at 10pm. We felt like we did not compromise what we wanted to do at all. A great place to stay! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RoanokeBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    36
    16
    3
    12
See reviews for
64
66
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

rude rude rude! never in my LIFE of traveling have i had to deal with such a negative, uncaring, money hungry, selfish person!
before i booked a yurt i called and told them i needed one with a bathroom because i had a small child potty training. i told them i also had a 12 year old with us and would that be a problem.
i always ask questions before i book and pay any money.
i was told over the phone by a man named stormy that it would be no problem at all and that there was a blow up bed for the older child to sleep on. this worked great so i booked the place.
HOWEVER once i got there i was told stormy had given me some misinformation and that blow up beds arent allowed in yurts that have bathrooms for some reason.
so i sucked it up and took the yurt that had NO BATHROOM.
the very nice and helpful groundskeeper (jason) assured me that when the owner ANDE came in she would reimburse me the money. this is not what happened.
first, when we got to the new yurt, i realized not only was there no toilet, there was no sink! no running water of any kind! the faucet outside was locked and "broken"...in fact the only water i saw was the lake of water in the floor running out of the air conditioner.
the place was filthy, had obviously not been cleaned....there was a wine glass with wine still in it sitting on the counter!!
three days later i called to speak to ande about my reimbursement - she told me there was no way in hell i was getting any money back! even though i paid extra for a yurt with a bathroom and got kicked out!
what kind of business are these people trying to run???

Room Tip: be very careful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank minkalodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yurts, Manager at Campfire Lodgings, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
To try to respond to this by saying anything other than, there are always 3 sides to a story, theirs, ours, and the truth, would be senseless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is the first time that I visited this camp ground. Have visited many campgrounds over the last 43 years. The staff here is great. We had major mechanical troubles with our vehicle. They went out of there way to help us. The view is the best camp site view that I have seen in the east. The cost may be a few dollars higher but worth the cost for one of their premium sites. Parked on top of the mountain over looking the valley. They have cement level pads. Full hookups. The lot size is small but should accommodate most any size coach. There are very few sites so you must make reservations very early. The road up the mountain is slow steep and just take your time and you will make it. Very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrcomand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The yurt was awesome. It was a perfect getaway for our 10 year anniversary. I would have preferred to have no a/c and no tv. We didn't use either. But a very nice space, very romantic and lots of things to do nearby in Asheville and beyond. We didn't spend much time in the yurt because we were hiking and exploring, but it was very comfortable. Only thing I would add are 2 comfortable chairs on the deck because the picnic table wasn't very conducive to sitting and relaxing (or bring your own). They have amazing RV sites with views of the river and mountains!!!

Room Tip: They have 3 yurts, all are in the woods. When choosing an RV site, choose one that is right at view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Upon our arrival late night from a 4 hour drive in the rain we were welcomed by the camp caretaker and was assisted immediately with parking our pop up camper. It was our first time using a pop up camper and we were with our 10 month old daughter , the hospitality was amazing and sincerely appreciated. During our stay both the camp caretaker and his wife were extremely kind and accommodating and checked on us occasionally to see if we needed anything, we were very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend the location. The only issue we can note is it rained the 3 days and nights we stayed, but that was mother natures doing, not the kind folk of campfire lodging. We arrived on 3rd and departed on the 6th of July , pleased.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPMBonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The view is amazing for an RV spot. This was our second time here, and the view is more than you can imagine. We stayed seven days and truly didn't want to leave. Asheville was a great base for day trips to waterfalls, hiking, national parks, and more. It's only a 2 hour trip to Pigeon Forge too.

Room Tip: Premium spots are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaThib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeoville, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We arrived at Campfire Lodgings in the early evening and found the drive up to camp to be acceptable in regards to pitch or incline of road (2-4 degrees). The road did have some curves and would be a challenge if we met another RV or TT on its way down but we had road to ourselves. We had spot P2 which has a panoramic view of the mountains. Bathrooms were private (your own shower, sink and toilet) which is quite nice. The operators of Campfire Lodgings were very nice and the other campers at this campground were quiet. We would highly recommend this campground to adults who would like a quiet place with spectacular views. We camped here in a 32 foot travel trailer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.6 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,199 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
943 reviews
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.5 mi away
The Pines Cottages
The Pines Cottages
#7 of 21 in Asheville
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campfire Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campfire Lodgings

Property: Campfire Lodgings
Address: 116 Appalachian Village Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-9636
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains with panoramic views, 4-5 miles of hiking trails and a "catch and release" fishing pond. Come experience the peacefulness and calm of nature on top of Goldview Knob while being in such close proximity to downtown Asheville, whitewater rafting, horseback riding, waterfalls, and the Biltmore Estates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campfire Lodgings Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing