We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed at the Grand Bohemian and it was wonderful. We stayed three days. The hotel is fairly new and is owned by the Kellser Group and bookings are done through Marriott.

We had a very nice room on the 4th floor. The only downsize was the the windows are dormer size. The beds were very comfortable and the room amenities were nice including the air jet tub. We had breakfast at the hotel's dining room which was nice although the service was a little slow in that we were the only ones there and had only ordered a fruit smoothie and muffin (which were excellent).

The great thing about the hotel is that it is located in the upgraded historic district
right outside the gates of the Biltmore. We were able to walk to some of the best restaurants in Asheville. The historic district also has lots of boutique shops as well as some upscale "chain"stores. Lots of coffee shops, bistros, banks, etc. within walking distance.

The staff were very accommodating beginning with the parking attendant, to housekeeping to front desk.

We have visited Asheville twice before. We stayed in the downtown District which was interesting but a little rundown and a little creepy at night. While on the Biltmore grounds we saw the hotels available there and they did have the charm of the Grand Bohemian and also were not within walking distance of the restaurants and shops in the Historic
District.

Room Tip: Room 400 a corner room was great.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank not2woryluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

What a compliment you’ve given us by saying The Grand Bohemian Hotel is the “best place to stay in Asheville”! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

Very nice spacious room, ambiance great throughout, across from biltmore estate, small shopping area walking distance with some unique shops, Restaurant was excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner nice quaint bar. I saw dogs so they allow pets would definitely stay here again if I go back to Ashville. Wasn't in love with the pillows on the bed for sleeping. but otherwise very cushy beautiful bathroom

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crittergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a complimentary review. We are delighted that our amenities and services met with your satisfaction and provided you with a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Asheville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Beautiful artwork permeates the entire hotel -- from the lobby, to hallways, to the rooms; This place is first class all the way!

Why?
1. The staff takes personal interest in you stay from the moment you arrive. We even found they take care of you after you check out. We discovered a billing error before we left the lobby. Our consierge, Angie Richardson, took over and worked to solve it with a simple refund. Nothing worked! Computer software could not handle the request, bank, and credit card supervisors could not explain why it could not happen. Angie worked for an hour until she finally spoke to a supervisor who was able to make the changes needed. As we left, Angie gave us her card and said she still was not sure the issue had been fixed. She added that if there were any problems on our account to call her and she would give give it another try. The bill just arrived and thanks to Angie Richardson everything was correct.

2. The hotel is within short walking distance of great restaurants, including their own (ate there 3 times). Ask the staff for recommendations.

3. Our room looked out to the entrance arch for Biltmore House directly across the street.

4. The decor is old world European hunting lodge - warm and inviting, filled with antiques, and detailed wood carving / trim. The four-sided lobby fireplace is a warm and cozy place to sit and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCERHARDT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you so much for your valued feedback regarding your recent visit to The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that our grand performer, Angie, was able to provide you with outstanding service. We hope that you will include our hotel in your future vacation plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed overnight at The Grand Bohemian Hotel. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and you can’t beat the location right across from the Biltmore entrance. We had a Superior Room in the main hotel. Some things to note:

Positives:
1. Very comfortable bed!
2. Location, location, location. You are right across from Biltmore and just down the street from the shops and restaurants in downtown;
3. The staff is very friendly;
4. The hotel restaurant, The Red Stag, is to die for;
5. The music in the room is awesome. They offer the CD for purchase. We burned it instead…Shh….

Improvements:

1. The bathroom does not have doors, but rather curtains. This could be an issue if you are not comfortable with the person you are staying with;
2. There is no refrigerator in the room.

Overall, we had a lovely time here and we’re looking forward to staying again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnoxvilleTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for your insightful review. I will be sure to share your recommendations with the appropriate departments as we continue to maintain hotel excellence. We look forward to seeing you on future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My husband and I just got back from our overnight trip to Asheville. We were a little hesitant about booking our stay at the Grand Bohemian, but it turned out to be the BEST hotel we've ever stayed in. As soon as we entered we were treated like VIPS. When they found out it was our birthdays and 5 year anniversary they upgraded us to a king suite and had champange delivered to our room! On them! Sweet! The pictures do it no justice. You have to see it to believe it. We will stay there again, no doubt about it. Great location, great food, (try the Corner Kitchen) and excellent staff. Even the valets were awesome. Thank you Grand Bohemian for making our night so special. And thank you for that amazing tub..it went well with the free champagne! Book there now!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilublu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We spent last weekend at The Grand Bohemian in Asheville for the Valentine holiday. They had a $379 deal which included Dinner at the Red Stag Grill and breakfast. Our room was large, clean and very nice. The bathroom was large and very luxurious. The staff was helpful in every way. The dinner was prix fixe for the holiday (a 5 course meal) and included in the price. I have absolutely no complaints - everything was first class.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoduwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I don't know where to start. The lobby is stunning, check in staff professional and helpful, the room was very nicely decorated, clean and the beds comfy just like home. You MUST go up and see the ballroom on the 4th floor! Crystal chandeliers, marble floors, grand piano, stone columns... I want to have a party just so I can rent the place. The stag restaurant and bar is beautiful and the food is great. OMG the light fixtures. How do you combine rustic antlers and austrian crystals? Well you can and they did and it works. It's rustic yet elegant. The gift shop is awesome. I bought a beautiful heart necklace and even got to meet the jewelry designer. They were featuring her work while we were there. Each floor has a different theme and is tastefully decorated with fine art, scultures and the NEATEST light fixtures. Many elegant crystal chandeliers throughout. Walking distance to the Biltmore shops and restaurants but why eat anywhere else. My husband said the western omelet was the best he ever had. I had NO idea Marriott had this type of hotel but now that I do we have decided to visit them all. In fact, I have booked the mansion in Savannah Georgia this week just to try out another hotel in the new Mariott Autograph Collection. OMG!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonewall90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
2.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £221 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing