We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Grand Bohemian is a gem nestled in the Historic Biltmore Village. The hotel and staff more than met our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed. The valet/bell stand attendants were courteous and friendly. The front desk staff (who literally sit at a pair of large desks) were equally as welcoming and friendly. The requested preferences for the room were all attended to, save for one, which was noted by the front desk staff member. She explained what could be done and was intent on ensuring we were satisfied. Importantly, we had noted when making our reservation that we were staying for our anniversary and she offered to send us a complimentary bottle of champagne. When I thanked her and joked that we didn't drink champagne in order to save our calories for chocolate, she clearly took note as 10 minutes after arriving in our room a complimentary plate of chocolate covered strawberries arrived. It was a delightful surprise.

We also received a complimentary upgrade on our room, as the hotel was relatively sparsely populated. The upgrade was to a room with a balcony. Unfortunately, the weather was not especially cooperative and the view was not especially attractive (overlooking Hardee's and Ruth Chris), but we nonetheless appreciated the gesture. The room was very nicely appointed and as clean a room as we have seen in some time (yes, even at luxury hotels). The wall mounted screen served as TV and computer screen and the clock/alarm was a nice Bose model that also played CDs. The shower head is a rain shower head and was very nice at the end of a long day. The beds were comfortable, with soft bed linens.

We had read complaints about the bath oil, bath salts, Evian water and wine in the room that is offered for sale. Yes, those items were in the room, but so what. We didn't have to use/buy them. They certainly were not in the way.

We had also read complaints about the noise level while in one's room. We could hear the train, but did not find it distracting. It actually had its own charm when considering the history of the Village and the nearby train depot. The walls do seem to be a bit thin on insulation, though. Our next door neighbors clearly had a very enjoyable evening our first night, but thankfully apparently wore themselves out or checked out, as we did not have a repeat performance our second night.

The fitness room is available with a room key 24 hours and for us that was critical. We work out at odd hours sometimes and enjoyed the flexibility. The equipment is in excellent shape and included Precor cardio (treadmills, ellipticals, bike), as well as hand weights and four fixed weight machines. The only complaint is that there is no restroom facility available to the work out room.

The hotel's location was ideal for us. We enjoyed the brief walk around the Village. The shopping is not extensive, but does include some nice shops (e.g., Brooks Brothers, JJill, Talbot's, Coldwater Creek) and a few restaurants. The restaurant selection was not extensive, but was sufficient. The entrance to the Biltmore Estate is literally across the street. That was very handy, as we simply drove around the corner and right to the estate.

The hotel décor is charming and attractive. The lodge style resonates throughout, including historic/period pieces (e.g., Civil War weaponry). While the artwork was not all to our tastes, it is beautifully displayed and does enhance the overall hotel atmosphere.

We highly recommend the Grand Bohemian and thank the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiana2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    316
    117
    46
    21
See reviews for
232
766
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Was surprised by this hotel, the lobby was amazing , like being in a hunting lodge, very cool. We had dinner both evenings, Micheal was our waiter and he was the friendliest person ever, so interesting to talk to, and very knowledgable about the food and where it was sourced from. We liked him so much we requested to be sat in his section the following evening.
The Biltmore house was fantastic, the gardens were just stunning. We went over to Antler village and enjoyed a cold beer in Cedric's pub, very nice.
The only negative with the hotel is the traffic noise, constant EMS going through and fire trucks, so much activity for a small town. Also a train went through at 3am, horns blasting! Drove us crazy!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Upon entering this "autograph collection" hotel, I felt we had arrived in a hunting lodge nightmare. All those mounted heads! Ugh. Antlers on light fixtures everywhere. I can only hope they were not real.
This is a good location, and the room was large, but we will not return.

Room Tip: try to stay away from ice machine- very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo58-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I recently stayed at Grand Bohemian and was disappointed. The lobby, restaurant and staff were very nice. However, there are archtectural restrictions in Biltmore Villlage where hotel is located. I was checked in and it was raining. I was told my room was across the street in the Manor House. I thought that was strange, but worse, I was not offered assistance with my luggage or an umbrella. There were brick steps leaving the main building and steps leading into Manor House. It took several minutes for the traffic light to change and the entire time it was raining. I don't know why I was put there, but will only return if I will be in "main" building.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
254 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel staff were friendly, efficient and professional. The décor of the common areas is rustic in an Old World fashion. Rooms are well appointed and spacious. Restaurant is on a par with the best in Asheville. The location is excellent for visiting both the Biltmore Estate and Biltmore Village. There are two units to the hotel. The main unit contains the lobby, bar, restaurant, meeting rooms and exercise facility. The second unit is just across the street and houses rooms. There is a small lobby, but is only staffed at specific times. We have stayed in both units. Rooms are exactly the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I really fell in love with this place. It was so pleasant to have a hotel chain design something with real ambiance! It was creative and fun! I loved the theme, all the art, the whole design, our room, the lobby, and the restaurant and bar. We went to the Biltmore (interesting, but too many people) and found this an ideal spot to stay. It was easy to zip into the Biltmore from the hotel.
My husband had broken a hearing aid and though we arrived around 3 p.m. on Friday, the hotel was so helpful in aiding us with this problem that we were actually able to locate and drive to a spot that fixed it for him. That made the rest of the vacation so much more pleasant than it might have been!
We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. I had elk (wonderful!) and my husband had the angus beef which he enjoyed. The drinks were good, and the service excellent. The next night we wanted something smaller and so enjoyed the bar menu.
I will look up other hotels in this chain.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Grand Bohemian Hotel is in the motif of a Hunting Lodge. The mixture of Old World Elegance and up-to-date convenience works perfectly. In our view this is the best hotel in Asheville, and that includes the Grove Park Inn and the Biltmore Inn. Superb service, wonderfully appointed rooms, great location (in Biltmore Village which is abounding in great shops. High tech wireless setup as part of the super sharp television. My wife and I could not be more pleased. The gallery has a number of quality offerings and the Red Stag Grill is great. Great food selection, professional and courteous service, wonderful view, and a marvel of taxidermy. Roomy bathroom with all the amenities one expects of a first-class hotel.

Room Tip: I don't thik there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Property: Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing