We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, problematic spa policies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, problematic spa policies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I recently spent one night at the Grand Bohemian while passing through Asheville. The hotel is magnificient. The style and atmosphere at the hotel is incredible, beautifully and tastefully decorated without being over-the-top. In that regard, the hotel is magnificent. My husband and I were very impressed with the overall look and elegance of the hotel. Also, the staff was great, very knowledgable and polite. Unfortunately, we had an issue with the spa. I am 8 months pregnant and made an appointment for a prenatal massage for myself and a sweedish massage for my husband. We made the reservations about 12 hours in advance of the appointment and no one told us about a cancellation policy. Since I'm so far along in my pregnancy, I would never make an appointment that couldn't be cancelled without penalty, because I never know how I'm going to feel, day to day. Needless to say, the next day I was not feeling well and called to cancel the appointments. At that time, were notified of the cancellation policy - that cancellations must be made 24 hours in advance or patrons are required to pay half price for the services. There is also an option to use the credit within the year towards a spa service. Since we live in NJ and are expecting a baby, there is no way we would be able to use the spa service within the year. I tried to explain this to the woman I was speaking to at the spa, as well as the fact that I was pregnant and not feeling well, however she was insistent about the cancellation policy. She was completely polite and professional, however it was very frustrating that this policy was being enforced when I am certain I was not even notified of the cancellation policy when I made the reservation. So overall, while the hotel itself is magnificent, the issue with the spa very much spoiled our experience. Losing $200 while expecting a baby is not acceptable to me and therefore we would not return to this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share some favorable comments about your experience with our hotel. I’m very happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the hotel décor and our polite and knowledgeable staff. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience that our spa cancellation policy created during your visit. Your comments have been shared with our Spa Director for additional review and consideration. Please do not hesitate to contact us, if we can be of additional service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    316
    117
    46
    21
See reviews for
232
766
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canfield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived on Good Friday and were very pleased with the appearance of the hotel as well as the staff. We were offered a glass of champagne and were offered menus of restaurants in the area upon asking where to eat. The rooms are lovely, this was the nicest bathroom that I have ever seen in a hotel, very large and luxurious. I was a little less "wowed" by the Red Stag restaurant inside the hotel.The menu was lacking, very limited I thought. The atmosphere was beautiful, we dined there on Easter Sunday for breakfast. I thought since it was Easter, there would be more on the menu, portions were small, a little pricey. Service was very good.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, as I read reviews that rooms were loud. Also, ask to be in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi68Canfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is grand in every way. It is not just a hotel, it is a destination.

The staff lives up to the quality standards of this brand
The hotel provides from its decor to its service an experience for the traveler to remember and want again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
648 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotels are always personal experience and this Grand Bohemian sets up itself up as a blend of hunting lodge( think tyrolenian mountain refuge) with a blend of art gallery. It aims to create a luxury weekend residence but somehow this doesn't work

So here is the breakdown

What's good - the rooms are well furnished and spacious, check in is swift and the staff are exemplary( apart from one waiter who seemed to have a personal chip on his shoulder a fact that stood out because everyone else was so courteous ). The valet service was excellent and very helpful

What's average - the public rooms were OK but there was sometime a feeling of limited space.


What' doesn't work - breakfast. Given that breakfast was from a limited range it was odd that it took forever to arrive. I mean I was able to eradicate through sections of the Wall St Journal before our order arrived. Breakfast tended to look beautiful but the food was average frozen fruit and disappointing yoghurts. This was a shame.

The wifi in the room continually goes down and this was a small thing.

But it was the atmosphere of the hotel that didn't work for us. The scented candles, the fact that thee were usually two trolleys in the corridor every time we went out from our room (on one day it was so busy with trolleys it was hard to get by). The art work was really awful - everywhere there were antlers, paintings of animals and this was a case of less would have been more.

There are better places in ashville and whilst the staff were very good the hotel needs to rethink some aspects of its layout and avoid the traffic congestion with those cleaning trolleys.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent visit. We greatly appreciate your favorable comments about our staff service. I’m sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was slow and somewhat disappointing. Your comments have been shared with our Executive Chef and I can assure you that he will take the necessary corrective measures. In addition, it sounds like you may have experienced the trolleys while they were loading for the day. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate hotel leadership so other options can be considered to minimize the guest impact in the future. Again, thank you for your nice comments about our staff. We greatly appreciate the positive remarks about our guest service. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Asheville. Do not hesitate to contact me directly, if I can be of additional assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, TN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is a total work of art. Its beauty is only surpassed by the art work that is located all over the hotel. Each corridor has art work hanging on the walls. The fireplace in the lobby is so warm and inviting. Not your typical hotel lobby. We had a slight glitch when we got to our room. The TV did not work, so the hotel switched us to another room and gave us a free breakfast for our trouble. The room was very comfortable and the bed was wonderful. Had a great night's sleep. You are literally at the front gate to the Biltmore, so quite convenient. The only problem I see is the valet parking. Its $18.00 to park your car for the night, plus tip. So be prepared, or you can park your car elsewhere. The restaurant (The Red Stag Grill) is top notch and the Eggs Benedict were divine. We ordered room service our first night as we had spent a long day ay the Biltmore, and the burger was excellent and the garlic fries quite tasty. A bit pricey in season but well worth it.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the entrance so we heard a little noise, but not bad. One train went through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleylass03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel has been on my bucket list for sometime and I was pleased with our stay . They accepted our 17 pound canine companion (for a fee) and offered champagne at check-in. The room was beautifully appointed in a country manor house motif with every detail covered and the bed was absolutely one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in . We enjoyed a fine wine pairings meal in their dining room served by a great waitstaff. We felt Biltmore Village was charming!

Room Tip: We chose the standard king room and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengalbouter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is wonderful but Asheville is full of a lot of pot heads and people that are asking for money! What happened to Asheville? Why doesn't the city people clean there city up? The art is lousy and the shops are for gypsies! To the city people - Please clean your city up before there is no more city and no more Bohemian Hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go there because the city is awful! No more beautiful Asheville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouieBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Property: Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing