We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale expensive hotel - Fun for a wedding night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Upscale expensive hotel - Fun for a wedding night”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I recently got married in Asheville and we picked this hotel to stay in on our wedding night before we left on Saturday for our honeymoon. It's a very beautiful hotel with upscale decor - very appropriate for a special event like a wedding night. The valet parking was also nice when you're in a tuxedo and wedding dress and don't feel like wasting time trying to find somewhere to park. And they offered complimentary valet parking for wedding couples, so that was nice. I wish we would have had more time to enjoy the hotel or try the restaurant but we checked out pretty early on Saturday.

I don't think I would stay here if I was just on a normal vacation or anything but maybe if we decide to celebrate an anniversary in Asheville, I'd consider this hotel again. It's pretty pricey for hotels in the area, even considering its awesome location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    319
    117
    47
    21
See reviews for
235
774
30
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed here one night during the Asheville Belle Chere festival. The hotel is located in Biltmore Village, across from the entrance to the Biltmore Estate. If you are going to the Estate you can't find a more convenient location.

The hotel is built to look like a German hunting lodge, down to animal horn chandeliers, wood paneling scored to look ancient, hunting-oriented paintings, natural wood furniture accents.

The staff is uniformly polite and they seem to be efficient. We weren't there long enough to observe service over a long-enough period to make a real judgement.

The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is something to be experienced. Ours had a jacuzzi bath but we didn't use it. The room was very quiet. We didn't here noise from the hallway or any door rooms opening or slamming shut. We were on the side away from the railroad tracks so I can't confirm other reports of train noise all night. We heard nothing. However, there is a train track two blocks away and we saw trains whisking by while we were outside.

We had a nightcap before going to the room and the bar is nice but with all those horns on the lights. Breakfast was excellent but suffers from the usual hotel elevated prices. But an excellent breakfast none-the-less.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbirds12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I originally booked in the manor house but after reading bad reviews I switched to the main hotel. Beautiful hotel, very nice bathroom, great value for quality. First night I never heard any trains, but second night I did hear two around 7 am. Would stay again but would ask to be on other side of hotel.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ike2012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This hotel is amazing. We had a fantastic experience while staying, and were then taken care of even when we left....

My partner and I took a last minute trip to Asheville, NC this past week, after spending a few days with family in Greensboro. We drove into the village and saw the Grand Bohemian Hotel. After speaking with Parker at the front desk, and taking a quick walk-through of the hotel, we were sold and booked one of the suites for 2 nights. The service and atmosphere was exceptional. We were thrilled to have discovered such a treasure.

When we arrived home in Pennsylvania, we discovered that one of our suitcases had not been loaded into our car. I spoke with Parker and Jordan (a manager) and the suitcase arrived on our doorstep 15 hours later! We were speechless.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The staff at this holiday gave us great information and recommendations for shopping and restaurants in the area. The rooms are lovely and our only complaint is the glass doors on the water closet as it was not private if someone was using the bathroom to get ready. The room coffee was great and most of all, we found the hotel and staff to be top notch. It is an especially good location if you are visiting the Biltmore Estate.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makingmemories09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We were very excited about staying at this hotel after looking at the website. Indeed, the hotel was very nice, our room plush, however we did experience some annoyances. First, our reservation was messed up - thank goodness we called to confirm a few weeks in advance when we discovered the problem. They blamed it on their switching over to a new reservation system but it took another phone call to get the rate that we were guaranteed during our initial reservation extended and the reservation corrected. Another annoyance was that we had to stay in the Manor House across the street - this was not at all convenient for luggage, getting your car, or visiting the fitness room as the street you have to cross is very busy. Third, the maid staff would take our soap each night and not leave us a replacement. Fourth, the "club mix" playing in the small lobby of the Manor House could often be heard in our room, at 2 AM. As one reviewer already stated, there is a train very close by as well that is busy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aschlotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Stayed 1 night of a weekend for our anniversary. Sadly, the main building was full so we stayed in the "Manor House" across the street. Had to carry our luggage across a busy street and up a flight of outside stairs to gain access since the side door with the ramp was locked from the outside. We reserved the room in advance by phone and specifically asked not to be given a room near the elevator or near the ice maker. Upon arrival we find our room is right across from the noisy ice maker and very close to the elevator! Upon checkout we mentioned the outside side door to ramp for bags was locked and mentioned location of our room issue with ice maker and near elevator. We were told management was aware of the issue with the side door being locked from outside and guests having to use stairs to carry up bags - yet still not resolved. We were also told at checkout that they had no record of our asking not to be placed near ice maker or elevator! Had someone told us on the phone that was all they had that busy weekend we would have gone elsewhere. Also, the manor house overlooks a very busy, noisy heavy traffic street with a train running very close to the hotel. Not exactly the quiet romantic retreat we were hoping for between the street noise and trains. The only parking at the hotel is valet for $15./per day. The bathroom was very small and had curtins instead of a door which was a bit strange. The staff did send over some complimentary champagne once they heard it was our anniversary which was a nice touch. The restaurant at the hotel has a nice ambiance and were given a lovely private booth after we declined the initial table in the middle of the dining room. Food and service was good but the portions were very small so my husband ordered a second portion of lamb which he never did before.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeedbackProvider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Property: Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing