We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Road Trip Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Road Trip Stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice clean hotel, value for money, breakfast better than most in this price range, good location for exploring the mountains. not to far from the town center and close to quite a few resturents, would stay there again

Room Tip: ask for level 1 as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LARRYFLACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S8AVL, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello and many thanks!

I appreciate you noting the cleanliness of our facility. I am pleased we exceeded your expectations with our complimentary breakfast. We are such a terrific value in a very popular tourist town. So glad you stated that you would stay again! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    450
    171
    47
    27
See reviews for
300
400
94
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Agree with others that it's 'nothing fancy' but didn't expect that. Asheville is an expensive town during tourist season and on weekends. My two-night stay in midweek, with AAA discount, was under $70 per night. The rooms appeared to be recently redecorated with modern TV, microwave, a nice little frig, good lighting. One caveat: If you need reliable internet, this may not be the place for you. Any sizable file or significant Cloud activity took forever or failed. Might work better if you were in office/breakfast area.

Room Tip: A creek running in front of the rooms (it's a small two story motel style) requires you to park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S8AVL, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello! and Thanks!

You are correct! Super 8's are generally considered "nothing fancy", but we do have a great room for a great price! Asheville has becoming a premier tourist destination, and that really drives lodging rates, so we are so pleased to be able to offer our rooms for great rates! All the rooms were renovated this past year, and feature fridges, micros, flat screen tvs, and very comfortable beds! I am sorry the wifi wasn't as reliable as you expected. We will continue to look into the matter, and try to get the performance up on that! It is good to know that due to the parking situation the rooms stay quieter.

Please return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I am very upset with my last stay at Super 8, in Asheville, NC. We were told that there was a NC law that we had to let cleaning staff into the room every 2 days. I have health issues and I take pain killers an did not wish to have people in my room, after the room was cleaned we had an entire bag of items missing? I had medication, drawings from my grandson, brownies my granddaughter made, magazines, candles and other food items in the bag, when I spoke to personnel they said I must have left my items too close to the garbage an they have been thrown out. I will not be staying at your motels any longer and I will urge others not to stay there. I DO expect my items to be in the room when I return especially unreplacable items, I would consider that theft.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S8AVL, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello dear guest,

We greatly apologize for the confusion and misunderstanding concerning your items that were dipsosed of. Our management company's policy requires the rooms to be cleaned every other day to ensure continuous sanitation standards. It is our housekeepers common assumption that items in garbage bags, left near garbage cans, are items to be disposed of. From what our housekeepers explained, your items were in such a bag and in such a location. I do understand the disappointment of losing those precious items from your family, and of course your necessary medication. Please believe that our staff never intended for that. Please feel free to reach our to our management to furthur discuss ways of resolving this matter.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nothing fancy--but I was not looking for fancy! Comfortable clean rooms and beds. Great value for a stay in an expensive town! Routine chain hotel, near food, shopping and gas, on main road. Short drive to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowrider221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S8AVL, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello and thanks!
We are glad you found our clean and simple, low priced property! We are a town that has some very steep lodging prices. We are 3 minutes to downtown, and we have plenty of dining and shopping within walking distance!

Stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you need a place to sleep where the bed is comfortable, the air conditioner quiet, a clean room and more than enough pillows then for the money this is the Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Brooks F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S8AVL, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello valued guest!

We thank you for your nice review of our property.I am glad that your AC was quiet and the bed comfortable. You really cannot find a better deal in Asheville!

Please return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as a stopover for go to The Biltmore. Great location for highway, downtown, Biltmore. Very clean, nice staff, breakfast the usual.A Lots of chain restaurants on the strip so we had to drive a bit to get to get to something local. A good deal for the price. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: don't stay on the first floor facing the road if you want any kind of a view. There is a privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S8AVL, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi!

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts about our property. We are glad you found us to be a nice , clean location for a good price. I am glad you found the staff to be friendly as well. We do hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 63 in Asheville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#38 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Biltmore East
Days Inn Biltmore East
#31 of 63 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road

Property: Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road
Address: 180 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1853 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#18 Business Hotel in Asheville
#20 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#26 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Asheville Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing