We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in Asheville NC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    486
    180
    50
    31
See reviews for
334
418
99
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

First, an observation about Asheville, NC--a lot of tourists,poor traffic flow, parking that is consistent with a much larger city. Overall, the charms of this "quaint" mountain town are lost on me--it has many abandoned buildings with broken windows and the streets are littered and in poor repair. It seems to be populated by many unhappy sullen people tired of the tourists. As you might expect, I will not be be going back anytime soon.

This hotel reminds me of a 1970s era Holiday Inn facility that has been refurbished. Entry to your room is directly from the parking lot if you are on the ground level--pull up outside your door and take three steps and you are there. Our ground level room was clean, quiet, and the king size bed was outstanding. The breakfast was a token effort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor at the back--it's likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgray2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S8AVL, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello valued traveler!

I am sorry that Asheville did not meet your expectations! It sounds like you were in all the wrong places at the wrong times! That is unfortunate because Asheville really is a wonderful little city,and home to a lot of happy people! You are correct thought, that we are getting more and more of tourists every day, and that does lead to some traffic issues. I am glad at least that you found your room at our facility to be clean, quiet and comfortable. It is a motel, so the design is for the doors to be accessed from the outside. Even if you do not plan on returning to Asheville, we hope you will continue to stay with the Super 8 brands!
Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Tx
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

oh my goodness! So my friend and I packed up our car and hit the road to Asheville from Houston, Tx. We booked ahead for four nights. Our plan was that the room would be used for downtime, sleeping, and showering since the majority of our time would be hiking and out on the town. We fell in love with Asheville and booked another night in our same two queen bed room. We were very very pleased with our stay there. My absolutely only two complaints are that there were only two staircases, neither of which were particularly close to our room, and the wifi did not work in our room. OVERALL we loved it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Aashrawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S8AVL, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello!

It is so nice to hear about folks who have just discovered beautiful, wonderful Asheville, NC; and then to have discovered our surprisingly nice and affordable little property in the heart of it all! We are glad we met your needs, although I apologize for the problem wifi.We do hope you will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Online reservations and check in were easy and straightforward. The front desk employee was friendly at check in and at check out. The hotel was located just outside the city and was close to all the major highways in the area. The room was recently renovated, the décor and fresh paint were nice and clean. Room itself was pretty clean. The bathroom looked unfinished in our room, just a few trim pieces missing. Good amenities for a hotel at this price, coffee maker in room, mini fridge and microwave, as well as a nice flat screen TV. The only downsides were some noise outside the hotel from construction, not really the hotels fault and the garbage can near the stairs smelled awful, like it wasn’t changed in a few days. Besides that the bed was very comfortable and had nice pillows. The continental breakfast was better than most and offered hot waffles. For everything we were looking for in a 2 night stay this was a good place. We would recommend it for anyone looking for an affordable room in the area and will definitely consider staying here again for future trips to Asheville.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD6212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S8AVL, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello valued guest!

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. I am so glad that from reservations to check out your experience was easy and pleasant. We have renovated this property and loaded the rooms with everything anyone could need. I am so happy the breakfast was also satisfactory. We can ask nothing more than your recommendation to others and your promise to return!!Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.1 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#49 of 66 in Asheville
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road

Property: Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road
Address: 180 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1853 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#18 Business Hotel in Asheville
#20 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#26 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Asheville Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing