We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Biscuit Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweet Biscuit Inn
Ranked #7 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hosts were warm and personal, room and bathroom were well-appointed and breakfasts were fabulous both mornings of our visit (including crepes made for you tableside!) The neighborhood is warm and tree-lined and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. Price was about the same as a mid-range chain hotel but delivered far more in charm, warmth and delicious home-baked chocolate chip cookies. Thank you Christian and Claudia!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear DeborahNj,
thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are always so pleased, if our guests make the effort to share their experience with others. You and the other guests were such a nice group, that reminded us once again, why we love, what we do. Thanks for coming down the long way and staying with us,
have a great fall and stay healthy,
Claudia and Christian
Owner/Chef and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    39
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
186
387
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were absolutely delighted by our recent stay at Sweet Biscuit Inn and the above and beyond service provided by the two owners. Our situation was a bit unique in that we were traveling with our toddler to a family event taking place over a weekend. Based on the website, I knew that Sweet Biscuit allowed children (which is not common among B&B's), but I wanted to make sure that it would be a good fit for our family.

Christian was responsive to my communications prior to the stay, helped us find a babysitter for the evening we wanted to go out, and assured us that the facilities and breakfast were conducive to traveling with a child. When we arrived on Friday afternoon, both Christian and Claudia warmly welcomed us and showed us to the suite, in which they had placed a wonderful selection of toys, childrens books and a crib. Claudia even sent up an organic apple and banana as a snack for our son!

We loved the facilities (beautiful yard, playground on the side, big front porch, open spaces throughout) and our suite was spacious and comfortable. And as mentioned by the other reviewers, the never ending supply of cookies on the front hall table was a lovely treat. Best of all, the breakfast was fantastic. Delicious, well conceived and well executed. We were incredibly disappointed to miss breakfast on Sunday (due to an early flight), but my parents who were also staying at the Inn for the weekend reported that it was also great.

Overall, a lovely stay and infinitely better than any hotel experience could have been. Personal attention, lots of little touches and great food. What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear KJMM,
we enjoyed you and your family so much, and we missed you at the Sunday breakfast. Your son was a delight to have, and we hope that you will be back with a little more time, so that you can enjoy Asheville at its fullest.
Have a beautiful fall, all the best,
Claudia and Christian
Owner/Chef and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, WV
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Everything about this inn is superb. It is immaculate. It is quiet. It is comfortable. The breakfasts are outstanding. And the innkeepers make it all work like clockwork. We met wonderful people from other parts of the country at breakfast (though to be fair, Christian says the chemistry is not always as great as it was for us!) As grandparents to two Asheville School students, we look forward to many more visits. We came simply as guests; we left having gained many new friends, not the least of whom are Claudia and Christian. (PS. There are some negative comments on this site. I believe they say more about the people who made them than they do about the inn and its owners).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Wirt W,
we were touched by your words - we also think as friends of you now, and we hope that your two grandchildren will bring you back to Asheville often. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you both again and to the interesting conversations which will follow.
Have a wonderful fall and a save trip, when you come again!
Claudia and Christian Hickl
Owner/Chef and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I rarely feel compelled to write reviews on places, but I wanted to leave a fantastic review of the Sweet Biscuit Inn. My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for our one year anniversary. We were welcomed with open arms and our bedroom (#4) was so comfortable. We had our own bathroom as well. The breakfasts were outstanding...especially Sunday which is when we were served table side crepes (go for the Nutella and/or cinnamon & sugar), and my husband particularly loved the chocolate chip cookies that seemed to keep replenishing themselves in the front entryway.

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and we couldn't have picked a better place. We enjoyed being able to go and do as we please throughout the day but also especially enjoyed sitting down for breakfast with the inn guests and talking to Christian and Claudia.

The location was optimal, perfectly set between downtown Asheville & Biltmore village, nestled in a quite neighborhood. I can't wait to return and hope that this review sways you into booking your first visit.

Thank you to Christian and Claudia for an amazing experience. We were seeking to have a quiet and relaxing time and I would have to say that the Sweet Biscuit Inn exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Katie F,
thank you so much for your warm words! It was such a pleasure to have you and we fell honored that you choose us, to celebrate your first anniversary.
Your open and friendly way to meet other people was a delight to see, and we wish you both many more years to go, and may be celebrate once again in the Sweet Biscuit Inn!
All the best, stay healthy and have a nice fall,
Claudia and Christian
Owner/Chef and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atmoroe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sweet Biscuit Inn for 4 nights beginning September 25, 2013. We like to stay in B & B's because it's more of a home-like atmosphere and because of the opportunity to meet and interact with people from different places. This trip did not disappoint! Claudia and Christian know how to make you feel welcome and comfortable, as well as well-fed! I cannot possibly describe how good the food was, but suffice it to say, you will definitely not be disappointed. Our room and bed were so comfortable that when I woke briefly during our 4th night my first thought was, "I could live here!". We will definitely be going back. Stay here; you will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Laurie M,
thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to write so detailed.
We enjoyed your long stay with us too, it gave us the opportunity to talk a little more than on a "normal" busy weekend. We are glad, that you enjoyed the food, it is always a pleasure seeing that.
Thank you for choosing us, and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again!
Take care,
Claudia and Christian
Owner/Chef and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Christian and Claudia know how to make their guests welcome and comfortable.
We anxiously awaited our breakfasts....they were wonderful...well presented and delicious....with a European flair. The location was great for us. And the cookies were always on the table!

Room Tip: We wanted a room with a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Judy R,
thank you so much for writing this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to see, how you enjoyed the food.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, have a nice fall and take care,
Claudia and Christian H,
Owner/Chef and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sweet Biscuit Inn on a weekend getaway to Asheville. From the moment we pulled into the driveway until the time we left, I can say nothing but good things about the entire experience. Our hosts were very friendly and cordial and social and happy to answer questions about the area. The room was fabulous with many personal touches; very clean, nice furniture, excellent bathroom, and wonderful bed. The common areas were very nice and welcoming, we especially enjoyed the library and piano on the upstairs landing. All three courses of our breakfasts were fantastic and we really liked the unique fare. I was a little apprehensive about dining with all the other guests, but that proved to be unnecessary as it was very pleasant and encouraged discussion about each others' travels and time spent in Asheville, good places to see, restaurants to visit, etc. It was apparent that great care and attention to detail was taken with the property and landscaping; the porch was getting a fresh coat of paint when we arrived and was lovely to sit out on and enjoy by that evening, I really enjoyed all the plants out front and the little sitting/picnic area at the edge of the yard, and I even noticed that a few bricks in the driveway that had been knocked askew by a passing car were set to rights that same evening. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would (actually have already!) recommend this B&B to anyone considering a stay in Asheville.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear JK,
it touched our hearts reading your review!! Thank you so much for taking the time to do such a detailed "report".
We enjoyed thoroughly how you used and enjoyed all different options of the Sweet Biscuit Inn, just as we thought of in creating them. How nice that you could experience all the benefits from a large breakfast table. Guests give the best recommendations in sharing their experience, we "only" can pass on ours..
So, as Kentucky is not so far, we hope to see you again, and we will take great care of your recommended friends, promised!
All the best,
Christian and Claudia H.,
Owner and Owner/Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Biscuit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Biscuit Inn

Property: Sweet Biscuit Inn
Address: 77 Kenilworth Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-2542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sweet Biscuit Inn is an elegant seven-bedroom Bed and Breakfast Inn with a Carriage House located in Asheville, North Carolina's quiet wooded neighborhood of Kenilworth. Centrally located, this magnificent 1915 Colonial Revival home offers lodging with urban sophistication and a flair for comfort and friendliness. Our B&B lodging is only 1 1/2 miles south of downtown Asheville's shops, galleries, restaurants and cafes, and only a 1/2 mile north of the Biltmore Estate entrance. The Sweet Biscuit Inn is convenient to all of Asheville's attractions. Whether you are visiting Asheville for the diverse cultural charm, the opulence of the Biltmore Estate, or the spectacular Blue Ridge mountains of Western North Carolina, your visit with us will make you smile. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing