We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Special Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #22 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Black Walnut was the first of our Bed and Breakfast stays on our road trip from Atlanta Georgia to Toronto - after having visited Nashville - it was fabulous. We were greeted by Lori and a bright young man who was assisting her as her husband Peter was busy in the kitchen. We arrived in time for afternoon tea which comprised of canapes and mini quiches with any drink we would care to enjoy, then finally a flour free chocotate dessert -all delicious and thoroughly appreciated by us. All soft drinks, tea or coffee were available throughout our stay. We chose the turret like room called Dogwood with a painted domed ceiling which was very comfortable and quirky - small but perfectly formed. There was no sound from the air-conditioning so a quiet and very comfortable nights sleep. The high bed and surrounding windows were a great vantage point for bird watching from the bed - not something I have ever been able to do before! We were given good information with regard to local amenities and Restaurants and on our walk to the Nine Mile Resauraunt, two minutes up the road, we were fascinated by loads of fireflies. The breakfast was beautifully presented and as delicious as the afternoon tea. Lori and Peter are excellent Innkeepers and we would have enjoyed staying for longer but had to start on our journey along the Blue Ridge Parkway. I think we were in the smallest set of rooms in the house but thoroughly enjoyed it. We would definitely recommend this as a very special place to stay if you are in Ashville.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated and bigger than the set we stayed in - no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hummingbird2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    21
    4
    5
    14
See reviews for
23
226
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I just cannot say enough good things about this wonderful place. We have stayed with Peter and Lori several times now, and each time is better than the last.
The house is an architectural gem, and all of the rooms are superbly appointed. From the wonderful Turkish cotton towels to the divine down pillows and duvets, everything is just top notch.
We have tried three different rooms so far...our favourite is the Ivy Garden room which has a King size bed and a fabulous jacuzzi tub.
Peter and Lori are fabulous hosts and afternoon "tea" is a delight that is not to be missed. Take your glass of wine and plate of amuse bouche (seriously, we have had everything from crepes to shrimp to tiny quiches....all amazing) out and sit on the large deep porch...the porch alone is worth staying here :-)
Breakfasts are the best I have ever had at any Inn; these folks REALLY know their way around the kitchen.
We will return again and again.....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenlamplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armonk, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Our stay at The Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Walnut room which was absolutely lovely with the most comfortable king size bed. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room was truly a culinary delight and hors doeuvres and wine at 5:00 were an added treat.
Lori and Peter White proved to be the ultimate hosts providing us with much information about the area and making us feel right at home!
We would never return to Asheville and not stay at the Black Walnut!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My partner and I made the decision to visit Asheville as part of a southern states vacation. After calling one B & B and getting a very "cold shoulder" on the phone, we called Black Walnut and spoke to Peter, one of the owners. He was extremely friendly and actually seemed to encourage us to bring our shelties. My partner is very particular about rooms, but the website looked promising.

When we walked into our room, we were so impressed. My partner actually said "I think this is the nicest room we have ever stayed in." The decorating in the main room was beautiful, and we were even more impressed with how the bathroom was designed.

While there, one of our dogs became quite ill. We rushed him to the 24-hour emergency hospital, which also should get a 5-star rating. Peter and Lori were so sympathetic to our dilemma and wanted to make sure our little guy was OK. These inn-keepers are so welcoming, and we couldn't have felt more "at home."

By the way, the breakfast is five-star, as well. There is something different each day, and the cooking/baking is spectacular.

It was hard for us to leave these nice folks and their outstanding B & B. If ever in Asheville again, we will not hesitate to stay at the Black Walnut.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

My wife and I decided to return to Asheville for a few days of vacation. We found the Black Walnut via a search engine and after a few views of the rooms, and after reading a few reviews we reserved the Dogwood Room for a 3 day stay. We arrived and were greeted by the innkeepers/hosts Peter and Lori. After making us feel at home they showed us to our lovely room and what happened over the next 3 days was wonderful - from the gourmet (really) breakfast in the morning, to the high tea (really wine and gourmet treats), to the homemade chocolate treats on our bed after the turndown service. We had a wonderful time, met wonderful guests, and were pampered by Peter and Lori. If you are visiting Asheville, enjoy the atmosphere of a bed and breakfast, were recommend the Black Walnut.
Phil and Barb W. , Fleming Island, FL

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I was surfing B&B's in Asheville and came accross this one, telephoneed and asked about specials listed on the web page. I immediately began to get very short responses and was then hung up on. Called back, and someone who identified himself as Peter insulted my sexual identity. I only wish this were a joke, but it isn't. All I can say is be careful with this one.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CrimeLabGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1BlackWalnut, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
This review is not correct. This reviewer called very late( after 9 pm) and I was very polite and helpful until he became unpleasant.I suggested he review the site as the info is complete, explained where to find the answers to his questions on-line, and asked he call the next day if he needed additional attention.He responded very rudely to me.My husband, who overheard his rudeness, merely explained he would not be welcome to stay with us as a result . This precipitated a tirade that we would be VERY sorry.I did not hang up on this guest until he stopped speaking for so long,I thought he had already hung up. There was no question about his sexual identity,and we do not discriminate against anyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Level Contributor
378 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Although we stayed over a year ago this is one of our best B and B experiences ever. Peter and Lori are terrific inn keepers and a joy to get to know. Would definitely stay here on next trip to Asheville. Highly recommend Black Walnut!!! Enjoy tea time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scot1ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 288 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our elegant style of southern hospitality and warm, personal service in our historic Arts and Crafts home. The dining here is as exquisite as the surroundings! A vacation at The Black Walnut is a truly quality experience with true value and true luxuriousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut b&b Inn
Black Walnut Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing