We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sustained Superior Performance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #24 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sustained Superior Performance”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Whites have definitely maintained if not actually continually improved the superior quality of the whole package of experiences provided here. They continue to treat their guests in every respect possible as they'd want to be treated. We have stayed here five times over the past six years with the last stay being almost three years ago. Each stay especially this most recent one has been exceptional. We stayed in the Magnolia and Camilla rooms in the carriage house since we brought our dog. Everyone here is very dog friendly. Since we booked a bit late we couldn't get the Magnolia (definite favorite) all four nights and would rather change rooms than cut the trip short. Both rooms as well as all those in the house are excellently decorated and comfortable. You come to the Black Walnut to be pampered and fed amazing food. The three to four course breakfasts are all (if not more than) you'd expect from two highly experienced professional chefs. What you will get is a universe away from mediocre eggs, bacon, toast and coffee. Come early, take your time, savor all of it. The only 'problem' is you will be so satisfyingly full from breakfast, you won't feel like taking advantage of one of Peter or Lori's unerring lunch recommendations until early afternoon. That then impinges on taking good advantage of Tea Time that then impacts being hungry for dinner til late. It's all worth it since, we've never had a bad dining recommendation from them. Everything in the dining room, not to mention the whole house, speaks to beauty, care and quality. Many of the items have a very interesting story that Peter will willingly share with you. Tea Time Hors d'oeuvre and pastries are again what you dream about from the Whites' experience. If you want cheddar or cream cheese on stale crackers with Lipton Tea, go someplace else. There is a very comfortable setting to get to meet and talk with the other guests. Providing a superior experience to all their guests isn't a business run with passion by the Whites. Pursuing a passion run like a business is what is still making The Black Walnut and visiting Asheville such a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm. The website has a good depiction of each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasH133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    21
    4
    5
    15
See reviews for
25
230
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tn
Level Contributor
183 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Black Walnut. The breakfast was really good except that every morning is pretty sweet. If you are a savory breakfast person may not be you place. The room was great, small fireplace, etc. Bathroom was pretty small. It says pet friendly and they mean it. It's just a little over priced but we would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sethmanand54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Black Walnut celebrating our 36th anniversary. It was truly a wonderful experience from so many perspectives; not least of which was that all the rooms and commons areas were appointed in just the kind of period detail you'd expect from a home built well over a century ago.

Both inside and outside, the inn was beautifully decorated for the holidays. Ours - the Walnut room - and at least two others actually had live, fully decorated Christmas trees inside them! The owners - Lori and Peter - are a fantastic couple who obviously take great pride in how their guests are treated; and equally importantly, in how they are fed. The breakfasts are absolutely incredible - DON'T sleep in. And the afternoon "tea" with its mixture of hors d'oeuvres, deserts, wine - and yes - even tea, was equally impressive.

I grew up in Asheville and did not realize such a beautiful inn existed in my own backyard. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: If you'd like a large room in the main house, ask for either the Walnut or Azalea rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackTillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is the second year at the Black Walnut and it remains as beautiful and comfortable as ever! The fireplaces, the breakfasts, the afternoon treats and the wonderful hosts, Peter and Lori ... The Black Walnut is reason enough to return to Asheville next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful two night stay and found it to be a wonderful retreat after enjoying the sights of Asheville. Room was cozy, lux linens, and beautifully decorated. Loved sitting on the porch in the afternoon with a glass of wine and yummy treats and enjoying the company of fellow guests, as well as chatting with our host, Peter. Breakfasts were scrumptious in a most elegant setting. Lori is a delightful hostess and can she cook! All the staff were welcoming and very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dpp1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our first time to North Carolina. We were so pleased with the Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast Inn.

We travel extensively and by far this Inn is the best! From the owners ,rooms, breakfasts, and the other guests themselves, it has been a memorable experience. Loved Peter's wisdom and insight to the surrounding attractions and restaurants. Wonderful, upbeat host and hostess.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room if steps are a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We enjoyed three days in September 2013 at The Black Walnut in Asheville's historic district. We chose it because it was a pet friendly Bed and Breakfast but it is people friendly as well. All was delightful and every detail carefully thought out - from the little basket of doggie supplies in our room to the charming teapots and napkin holders at breakfast. The front porch is a delightful place to relax and enjoy the company of other guests and our charming hosts, Peter and Lori.
Both breakfasts and afternoon appetizers were outstanding. Our beautifully appointed room in the Carriage House had its own patio, fireplace, and comfortable bedding that topped the Four Seasons Hotel !

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank witch3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 288 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our elegant style of southern hospitality and warm, personal service in our historic Arts and Crafts home. The dining here is as exquisite as the surroundings! A vacation at The Black Walnut is a truly quality experience with true value and true luxuriousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut b&b Inn
Black Walnut Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing