We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Black Walnut B&B - A Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #23 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“The Black Walnut B&B - A Great Experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A wonderful experience from the moment we arrived until the moment we left (and sad to do so). Our hosts, Peter and Lori, were fantastic as was their staff. The food, room, ammenities and service were all great. We can't get back soon enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck and Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    22
    4
    5
    15
See reviews for
26
235
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I loved our two-night stay there last month. We highly recommend it! The hosts Peter and Lori have created a top-notch accommodation, down to the smallest detail. The elegant décor is filled with beautiful antiques. The breakfast, created by Lori, was exceptionally delicious and delightfully served on small tables set with pretty china and crocheted tablecloths. Our charming room was spacious, clean and had a very comfortable bed. In the evening, we enjoyed sipping on complimentary wine in the parlor while chatting with Peter - a wonderful storyteller! Thank you Peter and Lori for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We loved our stay at the Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast. I am not a person that ever writes a review, but I wanted to share my experience for those of you that might be hesitant. We stayed in the pet-friendly room there at the BWB&B. I have stayed at other places that were pet friendly and therefore was afraid to give this a try.BUT... we were so pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the Camellia room. It was spacious, had a microwave/fridge, coffee maker,tea pot, lovely footed tub with shower attachments, beautiful decor, it's own patio and very modern thermostat controls. We found it to be very clean with absolutely NO smells! The Inn itself it artistically charming, with attention to the smallest detail. For instance, have you ever seen a knife rest? I digress... I highly recommend the Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast to anyone interested in enjoying what Asheville, NC has to offer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okauchee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the minute we arrived to our departure, we were greated and treated first class. Our stay was for 2 days. Each day we woke up to the smell of coffee, and a great breakfast. When we returned for the evening, the covered porch was there to help you relax in the comfort of a rocking chair, wine, and a good cigar. Our fellow guests that we met during our stay were very pleasant and engaging. You are within walking distance of a few restaurants and minutes from downtown.

When we return, we will be staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveP502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Exceptionally hospitable hosts with superb breakfast and home made canapes on arrival. Would've loved to stay longer and try more home baking, plus hear more of their adventures. Beautiful decor with lots of interesting pieces. Extremely comfortable bed.

Room Tip: They all looked lovely & I'm sure are equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a fabulous weekend at the cutest B&B. Owners were super hospitable, kind and helpful! Food was top notch - 3 course breakfast was perfectly done. Beautiful Inn with lots of character and charm. Highly recommend!! With some many B&B options in Asheville, we were so happy we chose the Black Walnut Inn. Do the same and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Wonderful inn, wonderful hosts. Accommodation excellent and so beautifully decorated. Heavenly breakfasts. Hospitality extends to hors d'oeuvres and delicious pastries (and wine!) on the lovely porch. One of the best places I have ever stayed......and I have travelled extensively and am very very fussy. Can't wait to return, but will be quite a wait.

Many thanks to Lori, Peter and Beth for giving us the best "end of holiday" experience we could have wished for.

Room Tip: Magnolia room is in the carriage house separate from the main house. Wonderfully peaceful and you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 39 in Asheville
873 reviews
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 39 in Asheville
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Asheville
547 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 288 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our elegant style of southern hospitality and warm, personal service in our historic Arts and Crafts home. The dining here is as exquisite as the surroundings! A vacation at The Black Walnut is a truly quality experience with true value and true luxuriousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut b&b Inn
Black Walnut Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing