We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #24 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Great atmosphere and selection of rooms, each with its unique feature and charm. Our bed in the Sunshine Room was super comfortable and the room was nice and sunny (as advertised). Breakfast was suberb each day and the evening "tea" is a nice opportunity to socialize with the other guests. We spent the better part of one evening rocking on the front porch with two other couples, talking and enjoying the warm evening, complete with fireflies out on the lawn! Peter and Laurie are wonderful hosts who worked very hard to ensure that our stay was everything we wanted it to be. BTW, two rooms in the carriage house are "pet-friendly".

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

there isn't much more that can be added to what has already been stated in all the other positive reviews below. we traveled to asheville in search of relaxation and good eats and we found them both in the city of asheville, as well as the black walnut.

the b&b is a restored historic house, located about .5 miles from dowtown asheville. the areas the inn is very safe, quiet and architecturally interesting to just meander through the area (there's even an historic graveyard about 3 blocks away -- sort of a southern pere lachaise).

the breakfast was literally a gourmet 3-course delight. the afternoon tea was a treat as well -- with soft drinks, wine, savory and sweet snacks.

if you're searching for a great experience in asheville, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The breakfasts and afternoon tea, wine and deserts are worth the price of admission. There is simply no one who does a B & B better than Peter and Lori. You are missing a memorable experience, if you pass up the Black Walnut.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigoChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

My husband and I went to The Black Walnut to celebrate our anniversary and it was the most romantic, relaxing, and refreshing weekend of my life. This bed and breakfast has the most stylish, vintage, comfortable, and classy decor. Our featherbed was heavenly and the sheets were the softest I'd ever slept on. The whole place is luxurious. The owners are the dearest, kindest people and the best hosts. They offer suggestions on where to go and eat, and every morning they make a delicious three-course breakfast. The dining room is full of tiny tables for two, each with delicate china, silver, and silver tea-sets. You cannot miss the afternoon tea, where they offer fresh baked food, wine, and good conversation with the other guests. The house itself is historical and inspiring and the yard is beautiful and precise. They are both in perfect condition. I would recommend staying in one of the rooms with a claw-foot bathtub. The Dogwood room is small, but a treasure with the bed tucked under the turret with the ceiling painted with copper clouds. Also, they have a little fridge in the lobby full of soft drinks and bottled water that you can take at any time. I know I'm gushing, but this place really is special. I want to go back every year for our anniversary. There are rocking chairs on the porch and we rocked in them at sundown.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissBee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My wife and I visited Ashevelle for a long weekend. We enjoyed our stay at the Black Walnut greatly. The breakfasts were fantastic, and creative, dietbusters. Peter and Lori's advise on where to go, restaurants, etc. were great. Afternoons sitting on the porch and meeting other guests were relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcofboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

There are not enough positive things to say to describe what a wonderful experience we had staying at the Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast Inn. The owners are gracious and welcoming, the Inn is just beautiful, the food and overall experience is absolutely the nicest we have ever enjoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotsL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My Wife and I stayed here for a long weekend during out aniversary. When we drove down the street she saw the house and it was the best house on the block. The decor was nice inside and the host were great. Their beds allowed me to sleep in comfort and wake to a wonderful 3 course breakfast. Every night they had good wine, food and conversation if you wanted in the lobby and on the large front porch.

I would reccomend this B&B to everyone who loves service, comfort with style and great food.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxavaaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
237 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
#25 of 39 in Asheville
544 reviews
Bunn House
#17 of 39 in Asheville
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 288 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £202 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our elegant style of southern hospitality and warm, personal service in our historic Arts and Crafts home. The dining here is as exquisite as the surroundings! A vacation at The Black Walnut is a truly quality experience with true value and true luxuriousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut b&b Inn
Black Walnut Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing