We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but would try another spot next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, but would try another spot next time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

Rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were tasty. Because they serve at 9 am only, all guests (usually eight) eat at the same time at the same table in forced togetherness, which I didn't care for. Also, they provide only one key, which is needed to open the front door as well as room itself, and didn't seem to understand why two people sharing a room might want to each have their own key. If I go to Asheville again, I would try another inn (there were at least 3 in the same area, about a mile from town on pleasant residential streets in the historic neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiadogasheville, Owner at Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 April 2010
On arrival our guests are given a set of keys, one for the guest room and one for the front door. For security reasons, the front door key will not open the guest room. Had this guest ever asked for an additional set of keys, for any reason, we would have gladly provided them with a second set immediately.

We have found that single seating dining is the best option for us to provide the quality of delicious food that we offer. This is the case for most bed and breakfasts. Having said that, if this guest had informed us that they were uncomfortable with this arrangement, we would have offered other options -- like seating them for breakfast on the sun porch.

While we regret that this guest did not have the experience that we strive to provide and that so many of our other guests have enjoyed. We certainly feel that if we had been given the opportunity to address their concerns, they would have enjoyed their stay more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
114
442
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

I absolutely loved this B&B! I do not always enjoy inns- but this one was terrific. The staff knew exactly how much was enough attention and the rooms were great. I think the best part was the food. Almost every ingredient is from a local farm and the inn owner knows many of the farmers personally. It is such a great and green atmosphere. The setting was a perfect romantic getaway from the ratrace/kids/typical routine. The inn is set in the historic part of Asheville and was so close to everything we wanted to do- including take a run in the neighborhood ON SIDEWALKS! Overall fantastic experience- we will do it again- maybe every spring!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_is_a_must
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

My wife and I have visited Asheville many times but have never stayed at the Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast until this last trip. We loved the innkeepers, the food, the b&b, Montford. We'll stay there from now on. Walking around beautiful Montford was so nice - it was great not to have to drive and to truly relax in our comfortable room.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdugliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Beautifully appointed, immaculate and comfortable, our room was perfect. We travel extensively, and this is probably the nicest place we've stayed. I'm picky about cleanliness and I'll admit, it was cleaner than my house! The hosts were helpful and pleasant and the food was organic and absolutely delicious. Conveniently located, we were able to walk a few blocks to town and enjoyed the ecclectic atmosphere that Asheville has come to inspire. We had a great meal at The Lobster Trap and enjoyed cocktails and appetizers at many of the the al fresco cafes downtown, where people watching was a real treat. Stores are more "artsy" then "touristy", which is great, but they close early around 6 or 7 pm. Of course you can't miss the Biltmore Estate and the earphones are a must. We'll be sure to return to Pinecrest soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed at Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast in Asheville for 3 nights while celebrating our 20th Wedding Anniversary . We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before so we were a little unsure what it would be like or whether we would enjoy it. Pinecrest is everything that their website says it is...Charming & beautifully decorated and very comfortable. You feel so at home... very comfortable bedding, very clean, everything you need. The innkeepers are very accomadating and very personnable. Their genuine hospitality showed... from the cleanliness of the rooms, the decor of the home, the delicious organic breakfasts and concern of your needs... to information they provided about what to do and where to eat in Asheville, their friendly conversation, friendly smiles and welcoming personalities. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pinecrest and we would recommend it to anyone!!
Kim & Ron from Amherst, Ohio

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiobythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

Wonderful staff and really good food.

I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samf99x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Our stay at Pinecrest B & B was wonderful! The service was excellent and the breakfasts were delicious. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The innkeepers were so pleasant and helpful. We loved their restaurant recommendations and enjoyed visiting with them as we came and went. The location is convenient and within walking distance of downtown Ashville. We would definitely stay at Pinecrest again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Ashville!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleTwinsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 249 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the Montford Historic District, just one mile north of downtown Asheville. This 1905 English Tudor style home, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, overlooks an acre of lush grounds and woods and has been restored with elegance and grace. Come and enjoy the Biltmore Estate, the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains and all Asheville has to offer, in comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinecrest b&b
Pinecrest Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing