We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure where these glowing reviews came from?????”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Everyone before us seemed so thrilled with the Inn and it's hosts, so that was what lead us to stay here for a week. Fisrt off, you should know there are a LOT of stairs and uneven steps going up to the house, and a 2 flight staircase inside. You would want to know this if you are handicapped or have any problem with lots of stairs. The house is very pretty, and in the historic Montford district, which is very close to downtown Asheville. We stayed in the Leaf Peeper room, and it was very roomy and comfortable, with a large bathroom. It was very clean upon arrival, but we were very surprised to find the room was not cleaned while we were there. The bed was made, and towels were replaced, but that was it. Nothing was wiped down in the bathroom, as far as the sink and tub go. The owner let us know upon arrival that there were plastic cups in the dining room cupboard, because people were taking cups up to their rooms (she was perplexed at this). We did take some cups, so we could have a drink of water to take medicine, etc. I am certain this is why other people were taking cups upstairs too.

There are not too many places to go in the house. You can use your room, the parlor, the dining room, or the porch. There was not enough light for reading in the room, and a reading light behind one of the chairs would have been great. Another guest complained to us that there was really no place to sit in their room, so you may want to ask if you would like a room with seating. Our closet had about 2 hangers, and since their are no dressers for clothing, more would have been handy. The room had windows, and because it was warm, we opened one, but had to prop it with the 2 hangers because it wouldn't stay open. When we came back from our day out, the window was closed, and an un-openable storm window was put in place. We got the message they didn't want us opening the window. We had a tv in our room, but I am not sure if they all do, you may have to request it. There are few channels though, probably around 7.

You get a breakfast each morning, which was ok, but had some type of sausage 4 of the 5 days we stayed. Something different would have been nice. It would have been nice to have one alternative to the main breakfast each day, like a simple granola or something. Also, breakfast is a surprise. You don't know what you're having until it's served to you. Coffee seems to be rationed here, and don't expect any after breakfast time. I highly recommend the inn keepers purchase a Keurig system so visitors can enjoy coffee whenever they like. There is a water bottle in the dining room that dispenses hot/cold water, so you can have tea. It would have been so nice to come back in the afternoon or evening to settle down with a cup of coffee. There are cookies left out daily, but they were nothing special and not home made. They tasted like the buy-and-bake dough type. There are snacks and some sodas available, but the snacks were Sam's Club individual packs of trail mix, and were the same every day. Basically, coffee can be searched for at around 8am, breakfast is at 9am, then that's it for the day. I know most people go out and explore, but it just seemed odd to me that there was a great lack of a personal touch at this inn. And at the price they charge, I would certainly expect more. The whole experience felt mostly self-serve. It was all very odd.

Room Tip: Ask a LOT of questions, and be specific about your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom2aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshevilleSeasons, Owner at Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Honestly we had to laugh at these reviews once we got over the initial surprise to such deliberate untruths. Everyone is entitled to do a review, but if you are going to do it, AT LEAST be honest…We truly believe that anyone that comes across this will see right through the type of person that wrote it. Yet, we still feel we need to address it.

Of course we have stairs. It is not something we have tried to hide. As a matter of fact on the homepage of our website, we have 3 pictures that clearly show a multi-story house with what…stairs???? Each room description also indicates what floor the room is located on in clear bullet points. AND, we do not have a two flight stair case inside of the house like you claim. I wish we did. That would be so cool! Also, we are not handicap accessible and have never claimed to be, nor did you seem handicapped, so how is this an issue…?

Also, on our website we offer TV’s on request, as they are not left in rooms. No surprise there. More often than not, our guests do not even want to see a TV, much less watch one. As a courtesy, we have them available for those of our guests that do. Yes, our rooms are cable ready with the exception of our Endless Summer room. CABLE READY!!!! Meaning there are CLEARLY more than 7 channels.

Let’s see, coffee. Again, referring back to our website, it does clearly state early morning coffee service at 8am. Again, no surprise. We are accommodating and your girl friend requested coffee at 7am, which we did for her, every morning. We even poured her a cup earlier on several occasions and brought it to her while she sat on the front porch early in the mornings or when we found her sitting in the middle of the interior staircase…? What was that about? At that time and several times after that she was asked if she wanted coffee prior to 7am. She said no, as long as she was able to get coffee. Ooookayyyy…we really did not know what time to put coffee out for her other than the time she specifically requested, 7AM!

Oh, and yes we do provide an assortment of teas for guests, as if this is a bad thing…? On our website, we clearly say that we have a variety of teas in the dining room. If you wanted coffee in the evening all you had to do was simply ask, just as we asked you if there was anything you needed. You always said no. We would have gladly made some coffee for you. We never once claimed to have 24 hour coffee service, but we do make sure our guests know we are available to them and approachable should they need something. A B&B does not have a 24 hour manned desk like a hotel/motel would…but we are here!

Yes, upon all guest arrivals we show them where water glasses, tea cups, and plastic cups are. They are there for a reason and yes, guest can even take them to their room. Nothing perplexing about that.

As far as grab and go snacks, we leave them out as a courtesy (one of those things we would like to see form our past B&B experiences) we do buy granola bars, nutra-grain bars and trail mixes in bulk, so what? You did not seem to have any problems having more than your fair share…and we would happily restock for other guest’s enjoyment. Our guests seem to appreciate that they are there. We also have a guest refrigerator in the dining room stocked with soft drinks and V8 juice as a courtesy to guest. I guess what we could do is put one of those refrigerators in each room that you find in hotel rooms that charge you $5+ dollars every time you take something from it…and maybe charge for WIFI usage as well. Wouldn’t that have a nice hotel-like feel to it? Of course we would never do that!

As far as breakfast we are not a hotel with a restaurant…breakfast is not made to order and there is not a menu to pick and choose from. It is at our discretion, again which is stated on the website. Breakfast is decided once all guests have arrived and we have spoken with every one regarding dietary restrictions, allergies/sensitivities to foods. We often are use to working around guest dietary needs and sensitivities should that come up. If your dietary needs required high sugar and fat with low nutrient content, we could have accommodated you. Also, there was always coffee available every morning after breakfast if any one wanted more coffee. We poured almost full carafes out on a daily basis, which is a normal practice throughout the year.

We did supply you with new towels everyday. No, we do not do a full turnover of rooms for a stay over. However, the surfaces are wiped down and trash is emptied by our assistant while the bed is being made. As far as your window goes, yes I would shut it every day. (which would mean that it was operable) If I didn’t the room would get too hot, as that room faces south and the sun can really warm it up. Yes the nights were cooler but the days were still warm when you were here in October. Believe it or not, I was doing you a favor. OH and your bedroom window absolutely was not replaced with an inoperable storm window…really? Where is all of this coming from? All of the windows on this house have storm windows to help insulate the original windows to this house. They are all operable, in the Leaf Peeper room as well. The storm windows were already on the house when we purchased it. Again, we have to chuckle.

We also have ample seating in each and every room which is to scale for the individual rooms. We seriously doubt any other guest in the house complained about this as you say they did. We were quite familiar with the guests that were here the same week you were. Lighting in this room is more than adequate…as we responded in our response to your friends review.

Common space, how much do you need? As you stated, there is the parlor, dining room, and front porch. We also have a deck and large foyer. Keep in mind this house was built over 100 years ago. There is more than enough common space and is also to scale for this house. Again, we’re not a hotel, we are a home. We are a home that people enjoy coming to and we have many repeat guests.

Out of the over 4 ½ years we have been here, we have NEVER had anyone blatantly distort the truth quite like this. It almost seems like you purposely pulled specifics from our website and made them out to be something negative…AND for what reason? We are a very small business and we have based how we operate our B&B based on the B&B’s we have enjoyed for the past 20 years. Things we have liked at B&B’s and things that we would have liked. Every B&B is different and the way they are run is at the discretion of each individual owner. We are hospitable, friendly, welcoming, AND always available to guests should they need or want something or in case of an emergency. We are not for everyone. Nor do we expect to be. Life is short and we all have a choice to be miserable or happy. We wish you both a long life of happiness! 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast located near lots of fun activities and attractions. Very clean rooms and wonderful breakfasts! THANKS to Tag and Ginger for a wonderful stay again!

Room Tip: They are all special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This fabulous house is only a gateway to the kindest Inn owners I have met in a long time. It felt as if there was nothing they wouldn't have done to make me feel welcome and comfortable. My room was charming, breakfast and morning coffee were fantastic and the ambiance was just my style. Sat out on the big porch in the red glider for hours both evenings I was there and was in heaven!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesToTravel1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This was our first experience with a B & B and it was great. The home was nicely decorated and very clean. We stayed in the Winter room and it was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The host, Ginger and Tag were courteous, helpful and informative with things to do and see in Asheville. The Breakfast was good and Ginger made sure to ask us if we had any dietary needs. We are sold on the B & B and hope to visit again in the future. Highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I visited Asheville during the "peak" fall season. I researched B&Bs around the city and from the reviews, felt Asheville Seasons would our best option based off of price and location. I am completely satisfied with the value they offer.

From the Montford neighborhood, downtown is an easy walk. Our room was exactly as presented on their webpage. The room was clean and the linens were fresh. Our mattress was a bit softer than i like but i think it would be hard to make everyone happy in that regard.

Tag supplied us with a map of the area and gave a few suggestions. Ginger prepared some wonderful breakfasts and we found cookies one evening. In the guest dining room, there's a small frig with sodas (where you can store your own beer & wine) and a bottled water despenser.

The house was almost full during our stay and all the other guests were friendly and quiet. The landscaping and front porch are both charming. We felt comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oriahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The owners, TAG and Ginger take great pride in the upkeep of the property as evident in the curb appeal and beautiful furnishings throughout. The house is beautifully decorated and located within the historic Montford District which is a short walking distance to the downtown area. The rooms have all the amenities of an upscale hotel but with a warm and inviting charm.

As a guest during our recent visit in June, we were made to feel at home. Every morning, we woke up to the scent of a different home cooked gourmet breakfast. TAG is a great source of information for things to do, places to eat and exciting destinations. As Beer enthusiasts, we especially appreciated his input on the great breweries Asheville has to offer.

One of the things we love the most about our stay at Asheville Seasons is the owner's willingness to be flexible in accomodating our requests. Ginger was so wonderful in packing up breakfast on the go for an early outdoor adventure (ziplining which I highly recommend).

There is no doubt, that upon our return to Asheville, we will be staying at Asheville Seasons!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We are B&B snobs, and this place was very nice. Comfortable beds, well-decorated rooms, great showers and tubs, and a delicious breakfast with coffee that we just kept sucking down. We never met Tom, but Ginger was a great hostess. The secret weapon, though, is assistant Billy. He is AWESOME. Positive, upbeat, courteous and capable. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with king beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcneely11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Aberdeen Inn
#29 of 39 in Asheville
81 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
801 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#14 of 39 in Asheville
891 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Address: 43 Watauga St, Asheville, NC 28801-1027 (Formerly Katherine's Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £118 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy one of Asheville’s more intimate Inns just walking distance from downtown.Tastefully appointed rooms feature king or queen beds, and most rooms have fireplaces.Envelope yourself in comfort on our much talked about beds.Wake to the smell of fresh organic coffee and a hearty breakfast.To further your enjoyment, you will not find a television in your room unless you request one.At Asheville Seasons Bed & Breakfast the Innkeepers/owners are onsite and will greet you at the door to welcome you to a B&B that feels more like home than a museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing