We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in comfort and understated beauty”
Review of Sourwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sourwood Inn
Ranked #21 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I spent the first week of June in Asheville, and we stayed at the Sourwood Inn. The inn is just as beautiful and well-maintained as the pictures look on their website. The Sourwood Inn is an unpretentious, arts and crafts style structure that blends beautifully with the environment. All of the rooms are filled with light, facing out into the surrounding woods. The place is so relaxing, whether you in your room, the living room, dining room, library, on one of the porches, or in any other room in this very special building. We always felt comfortable, cared for, and totally relaxed.

The owners and the staff were warm, helpful, and just plain delightful. Everything was so well thought out in designing this inn and setting it up, so we never felt the need to ask for anything; it had already been provided. We used the fireplace in our room almost every night; and it was great having a working fireplace across from our bed. My wife hasn’t slept this good in a long time.

The inn wasn’t far from the city center, yet you felt as if you were in another world, surrounded by nature, totally comfortable and relaxed. We recommend this wonderful place, and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay here and reconnecting with Asheville. We certainly enjoyed getting to know you both. THANK YOU!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have just returned home from a long weekend in Asheville, NC where we chose to stay at The Sourwood Inn because we enjoy the bed and breakfast atmosphere, and were intrigued by the reviews that we had read about this property. We arrived at the inn mid afternoon on a Thursday. The road up the mountain is indeed curvy, but not to the point of being scary, except perhaps at night or during inclement weather. We did not attempt it in either of those situations and found it to be scenic and lovely. Elizabeth greeted us when we arrived, checked us in, and showed us around the Inn. My husband and I stayed in Room 12 which had a small private hallway entrance which was great for setting up our evening cocktail bar and cooler for cold adult beverages. Our friends were on the other side of the staircase in Room 9. Both rooms had wood burning fireplaces which were set up each day for use again in the evening. There are no TV's or refrigerators in the rooms, no wifi on the property. It's very quiet and peaceful. Cellphone usage is limited to the point of being frustrating. Just don't bother! The bathrooms are amazing. The shower set up was my favorite EVER! There is a lounge area upstairs, and several areas downstairs for sitting, reading, relaxing, chatting, or just looking out into the woods. The breakfast is very good, and different each day, and not served until eight, which is perfect if you don't like getting up too early when you're away from home. There are two dinner seatings, at 6:30 and 7:30. Dinners were $30/pp and they post each morning (and on the web site) what will be served. If you like wine with dinner you need to bring your own. We got ours at the Ingles grocery store at the bottom of the hill on the way up. They have a good selection, and also carry all the local Biltmore wines. Be sure to check out the game room in the basement of the Inn. There is a pool table, ping pong table, dart board, and a flat screen TV. By the time we checked this area out we were over our need to watch TV.............I can't say enough nice things about Susan and her staff. Just amazing. And the building is beautiful, spacious and well planned out. We don't know when we will be back in Asheville, but cannot really imagine staying anywhere else. Autumn would be stunning there, when the leaves are changing........................

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if you don't like stairs you might want to ask for room 1,2,3, or 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pko57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Wow! Thank you for for the nice review. Kind words like these are so helpful to Sourwood. Thanks for the new pictures too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Sourwood Inn is a beautiful, comfortable inn located in a beautiful location with a very warm and knowledgable owners and staff. Our second floor room was very roomy and comfortable with a balcony that looked out over the tree line to the Blue Ridge Mountains that are not far away. With the windows open cool breezes came through the windows and across our balcony all day and night. My wife and I wanted somewhere to kick back and relax and we found it, whether on our balcony or the ground floor porch in comfortable rocking chairs. The dinner on Sunday night was a pasta with a simple fresh and delicious sauce. The breakfasts were ample and delicious, especially the oatmeal pancakes. Adequate shopping and site seeing are nearby. Blue Ridge Parkway 10 minutes, Asheville-15 minutes, Hendersonville- 45 minutes, Saluda- 60 minutes, Weaverville-15 minutes, so you are not as isolated as you feel. The only negatives about the Sourwood Inn that I can think of is that dinner is only served on weekends so going and coming requires driving up or down very twisting roads that are not for the fainthearted after dark. It was very cool outside while we were there and I am not sure how comfortable it is in the hot summer months with no air conditioning.

Room Tip: the view of the mountains is not as good from the first floor rooms as the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbob44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

At the Sourwood, there is no wi fi and no televisions in the rooms. It is just you, your loved one and the beautiful inn and surroundings. We spend too much time half aware thanks to our pervasive "connectivity-orexia". Thank you Sourwood for allowing us to just "be" in such a wonderful place.

Jason and Nancy Bellush

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4peasantsnawasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

We loved having you stay at Sourwood. Please keep us up to date with your move. Go Catamounts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Beautiful public areas, rooms and location. A short drive to the center of Asheville and all things fun and interesting around Asheville. A short drive to the town of Weaverville for great food at Stoney Knob restaurant, Well-Bred Bakery, and Blue Mountain Pizza, as well as art and gift shops.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 92ncca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for spreading the word! I am glad your stay was a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We would definitely rank the Sourwood Inn at the top of our list of wonderful places to stay !!! Nat, Ann, Susan and Cindy treated us just like part of their family and made our stay that much more enjoyable. New and rustic both describe tha accommodations with thoughtful details like fireplaces in the rooms, showers with windows that overlook the mountains, balconies for relaxing in the trees, and even trails on the beautiful mountaintop property !!! We will definitely be back for return visits.

Room Tip: The top rooms have a view of the distant mountaintops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asfpartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words. We loved meeting you all. Didn't the rain storm at Stoney Knob make you feel as if you were camping?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I tell everyone about this very special place. If you love the mountains and need to get away from the city hustle, this place is amazing! The food is SO good, the service is top notch and the views are excellent! We have been several times and never get tired of it! Walk the trails and breathe the mountain air!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,373 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#19 of 39 in Asheville
136 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Reynolds Mansion
#3 of 39 in Asheville
753 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
787 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#15 of 39 in Asheville
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourwood Inn

Address: 810 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-1762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £105 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sourwood Inn, constructed of cedar and trimmed with stone, sits on one hundred acres of hilly terrain at an elevation of 3,200 feet. Each of Sourwood Inn's guest rooms has a private balcony overlooking the Reems Creek Valley, a wood-burning fireplace, and a tub with a view. It was created to provide a retreat where our guests can experience the delights of the Blue Ridge and still easily access the arts and sophistication of downtown Asheville.Outdoor activities in the Asheville area include hiking, whitewater rafting, fly fishing, mountain biking, and horseback riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourwood Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing