We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fabulous 2-day stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sourwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sourwood Inn
Ranked #21 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“a fabulous 2-day stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Charming rooms, incredible location, fabulous food and wonderful attention to detail by Innkeepers, Susan, Anne and Nat. We were there in early December and unfortunately, not during a dinner service, but if Anne's oatmeal pancakes or Susan's goat cheese and spinach omelet where any indication, I suspect dinner is fabulous as well. The Inn was built specifically as a B&B: every room has a working fireplace with wood at hand to use and lots of little spaces like the library or upstairs sitting room to enjoy. We didn't get to enjoy the huge porch which stretches across the back with rockers for all....or the wonderful outdoor patio and BBQ area which I imagine get lots of use in the warmer weather. The ride in across the mountain and down to the Inn was a bit hair-raising for me (not keen on heights) but well worth it. Turn off the cell phones, put away the Ipads and electronics.....let the stress melt away....you won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank silksiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for the delightful review. Your comments have come at such a nice time too! We are closed during the month of January, so having some activity now is doubly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
147
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

My wife and I visited Sourwood for at least the 10th time on the Friday through Sunday after Thanksgiving. As always the staff was tremendous, the food remarkable and the peace and tranquility so refreshing. Can't wait to next visit!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello Fabulous guests. We always love your visits to Sourwood and are once again, so appreciative of the praise you give us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radford VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Sourwood Inn for 11 years. It is in my top 5 places to stay. The Inn itself is beautiful and interesting. Each room is different with a working fireplace and huge tub overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. But, it is the owner and her family and staff that really make it special.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLSRadfordVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
I think you should add fabulous guests to your reason for coming to Sourwood. You are that!! Thank you for the kind and enthusiastic review!! We look forward to visit 12:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We absolutely loved the Sourwood Inn. The place is gorgeous, and they have a big property with lots of options for activities. The rooms are large, the bathrooms are also large and luxurious, and my favorite - a fireplace in each room. We were able to sleep to the sound of a crackling fire. The staff is extremely helpful and hospitable, and the breakfast was amazing. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. It's only a couple miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We would definitely return. Do be warned, there is a steep gravel driveway to get down to the inn (paved on the way out). It is very well kept, but if you have a very low riding car you need to be very careful.

Room Tip: We had Guest Room #4. I didn't see the others, but it may have been a little larger since it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Hello! Thank you for the kind and generous review, especially seeing that you did not arrive until late and then had to leave on the early side. Your energies towards promoting Sourwood are so appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The inn is gorgeous, welcoming, and tucked away on 100 acres of woods, offering both privacy and serenity. The hosts are helpful and kind, and the food was delicious. It was clear that the other guests also felt at home, helping to poke the fire in the dining room to get it going just right.

We could see the stars, and then the sunrise from bed, and falling asleep to a comforting fire was a treat. The view from the bathtub was also incredible.

The inn is just a short jaunt off the parkway, and a convenient launching pad for exploring and hiking in the area.

Would highly recommend this place for anyone looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavyCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for the generous and kind review. This is so helpful in letting others know about Sourwood:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I are caretakers for our 90 year old parents, so we decided to take a one day away "stay vacation" at Sourwood Inn. The not so long and winding road to our destination revealed beautiful forests and outstanding views of the comfortably rolling Blue Ridge Mountains of WNC. The Inn itself sits on 100 acres of woods with two nice hiking trails and other interesting venues closely should anyone want to leave the premises.

Once we arrived we were warmly welcomed by one of the family owners who showed us our second floor room with its own private outdoor balcony and "show stopping" scenic view. There was even a fire place! (How romantic! Oh, did I mention the large bathroom with shower and tub for two with a window to the outside vistas and the comfortable king bed?) Downstairs, the common room had another lovely fireplace. Snacks were served upon arrival---yummy hummus and a refreshing berry lemonade tea were just two highlights. Breakfast the following morning was delicious scrambled eggs, cheese grits, fresh fruit, sausage links as well as a basket of home-made mini muffins.

The best part of our day away stay was the peace and serenity. We read in the cozy library in front of another warming fire. We listened to the sounds of nature on the outside porch. We were still. We dreamed. We shared. We were able to just "be." The owners are intuitive hosts who have designed a truly restorative and healing place for the comfort and pleasure of every guest. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 6 on the second floor has the view you would love!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandlovingit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello and thank you for the generous and kind review. I cannot tell you how significant your taking the time to write about your Sourwood experience is. I am so glad your staycation here was relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Sourwood Inn hits just the right note if you're someone who likes staying at places that have character, heart, and something a little unique, but hate the fussiness and pressure to visit with strangers that usually characterize B&B's. This place is bigger than the typical B&B -- it's truly an "inn" -- 12 well-separated rooms on two floors in a BEAUTIFUL, lovingly designed Mission-style building, impeccably furnished with authentic Mission-style furniture, with comfy/cozy sitting areas and eating area, porches, fireplaces, hiking trails outside, and proximity to the Blue Ridge Parkway. The rooms are all large, with windows and doors that open to get mountain breezes, little private balconies, comfortable beds, and the bathrooms exceptionally thoughtfully designed with large soaking tubs AND commodious shower area (and windows and nice light). The food--dinner, breakfast, and afternoon snacks--was outstanding (oh, the French toast!!). This really is the kind of place you could just go, check in, and stay for a few days very self-sufficiently--reading quietly, visiting, listening to the mountains. We traveled with our teen sons (14/16), and they loved the game room area (pool table, ping-pong, darts), and the hiking/photography opportunities. We also had my elderly parents along, and Susan helped us pick a handicapped accessible/outfitted room (#3) for them that had grab bars, a roll-in shower area, and just the sorts of thoughtful touches (including moving the throw rugs out) that made this EASY for them to enjoy the trip, too (not at all always the case when we travel). The only caveats I'd mention for other visitors are (a) the road down to the Inn from Elk Mountain Scenic Highway is partly gravel and a tad on the scary side for driving in--but we did manage it fine even at night in rain/fog--and (b) there is no wifi. I do understand the goal of creating a place to "unplug," but could also make an argument that having wifi might actually even improve the place by allowing someone who had a lot of internet-dependent work to do (as I frequently do when I travel) come there and have a GREAT time getting projects or writing done in the peace and quiet of their space. I would LOVE to spend a weekend up there, for instance, finishing up the website for the course I'm teaching this fall, but, alas, you can't do that here unless you provide your own hotspot via your cell phone (there was 3G cellular at least via Verizon). In any case, I would highly, highly recommend this for anyone traveling to Asheville--it was much nicer than many of the downtown Asheville hotels and, for this particular weekend at least, was probably cheaper than what we would have paid for much fewer amenities downtown.

Room Tip: Room 3 is great for elderly/handicapped. First floor, king bed, grab bars, etc. Room 5 upstairs is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amwdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and insightful review. We so enjoyed meeting you all! Your appreciation of some of the smaller details made us feel we were doing the right thing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,548 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
North Lodge on Oakland
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourwood Inn

Property: Sourwood Inn
Address: 810 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-1762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sourwood Inn, constructed of cedar and trimmed with stone, sits on one hundred acres of hilly terrain at an elevation of 3,200 feet. Each of Sourwood Inn's guest rooms has a private balcony overlooking the Reems Creek Valley, a wood-burning fireplace, and a tub with a view. It was created to provide a retreat where our guests can experience the delights of the Blue Ridge and still easily access the arts and sophistication of downtown Asheville.Outdoor activities in the Asheville area include hiking, whitewater rafting, fly fishing, mountain biking, and horseback riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourwood Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing