We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful inn”
Review of Sourwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sourwood Inn
Ranked #20 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you can manage the Scenic Elk Mountain Highway and then the twisting driveway, the Sourwood Inn is the best place to stay in the mountains of North Carolina. Rooms are beautifully done with individual balconies, fireplaces, and lavish tubs overlooking the mountains. No children. If you do not want to go back out, make sure you reserve your stay on nights when meals are provided. Dinner served only four nights a week, breakfast daily, no lunch. Bring your own wine. Good trails, library, porches. One tv in the gameroom. Go here to relax, nothing else to do but read or hike. Definitely check with the owners before you decide...not for everyone, but bliss for those who like it.

Room Tip: Room 8, but really you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Your oh-so-nice review is so appreciated. Thank you for coming and writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at Sourwood Inn in Asheville and what a wonderful place to get away from it all. Susan (the innkeeper), Nat & the rest of the staff are wonderful and makes you feel at home the minute you arrive with goodies and the best peach/nectarine/green tea/lemonade. This is a charming little inn (12 rooms and a cottage) that sits on 100 acres north of downtown Asheville about 5 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway. They also have trails on the property if you want to do some short hikes with longer trails nearby. If you like the hustle and bustle of Asheville, then stay somewhere else. But if you want to unplug and unwind this is the place. Downtown Asheville is only 20-25 minutes away, but you either go down the Blue Ridge Parkway or a winding mountain road, so you can get into town, but probably want to be back at the Inn by dark. There's no WiFi or TV, so you can leave the world behind for a few days. The rooms are all different and very nice. We stayed in room #1 on the main level, but the balcony is actually on the 2nd floor looking out the back into the trees with the mountains in the distance. It was so nice to wake up to the sound of birds in the morning. The breakfasts are fabulous and on the weekends you can dine at the inn on wonderfully creative 3 course meals. It was all in all a really wonderful weekend in an absolutely beautiful setting.

Room Tip: We like room #1 or #2 (mirror images) on the main level or room #8 on the 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your kind! and helpful review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We all enjoyed meeting you both as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We loved staying at the Sourwood Inn about 25 minutes from downtown Asheville. The architecture is Arts and Crafts style. The Inn is spacious and quiet, the owners are special folks, who love caring for their guests.
The food is delicious, dinner is served Thursday-Sunday.
We hiked to the rattlesnake lodge ruins. The trailhead is just down the road.
We would highly recommend this Inn if you're looking for rest, refreshment and a true taste of the Southern Appalachians.

Room Tip: They all are unique and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kensingtoncouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hi and Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review for Sourwood. I am glad to know that it might reach others from the west coast:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Sourwood is a very special Inn. We loved everything about it. The owners are welcoming and friendly. The food they prepared and served was delicious. The ambiance in every room was comfortable snd inviting. We loved everything about our room, the fireplace, porch, bathroom, and decor ! We will be back!!

Room Tip: The second floor on the back has wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for the pleasing review...and for taking the time to write it....and more importantly, for wanting to come again! We look forward to it:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is about our third time to stay at the very special Bed & Breakfast. This is one of quietest places I have ever stayed, and the staff and owners are extremely friendly and polite. Dinner is available on Thursday - Sunday, and dinner last Thursday was an awesome variation on Chicken Pot Pie with Salad and Dessert. Breakfast and afternoon snacks done on a daily basis. We look forward to our next stay at the Sourwood Inn.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tommy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We love to see your name in the books! Thank you for taking the time to write your favorable and generous review. It is so appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is the most wonderful inn! It is beautiful in a comfortably elegant way. There are so many areas to relax in, a game room, a library, the porch outside or on your own balcony. The multitude of windows give you a front row seat to the forest and mountains surrounding Sourwood. The food is outstanding and plentiful. But I have two favorites that made this inn so special. The first is the staff. I have never stayed anyplace where it seemed that every person who worked there loved their job and loved being of service to their guests. Not intrusive, but always ready to serve. From bringing our chilled wine in an ice bucket to our table at dinner to preparing our fireplace, from the wonderful food preparation to the cleanliness of the inn, the staff is proud of where they work and shares their inn graciously. The second thing I loved is that you feel free to meet other guests but you can also choose to be quiet and alone. The dining tables are for two people. There is no time when you have to socialize if you want an intimate atmosphere. Quite simply, Sourwood has raised the bar so high for where I want to stay, I will have to return again and again!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank CarrolltonTXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Wow! I am sharing this one with all our fabulous staff. I think they are mighty fine myself, but to hear such generous and heart-felt word from our guests is truly icing on the cake. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Sourwood Inn is a gem of a B&B on the side of a mountain. Peaceful, meditative, relaxing, a true “get away.”

We have all been on all kinds of vacations over the years, some of which you were glad to get back to work from because the vacation was exhausting. If you are tired of the vacation “rat race” then the Sourwood Inn is for you.

Having stayed at many B&B over the years, the first thought that comes to mind is some historic mansion converted to a B&B. The Sourwood Inn was built from the ground up to be a B&B and it is less than 25 years old. All the rooms are fantastic.

The entire staff is uber friendly. Breakfasts that we enjoyed over several days were perfect. Because of the time of year of our stay, we were unable to enjoy their dinners.

Room Tip: Check there web site for an explanation of each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApexRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourwoodInn, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello Hello and Thank You for the kind review. It is amazing to have such great guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
717 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#13 of 39 in Asheville
894 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
North Lodge on Oakland
#15 of 39 in Asheville
140 reviews
Five Points
ASIA Bed and Breakfast Spa
ASIA Bed and Breakfast Spa
#18 of 39 in Asheville
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourwood Inn

Address: 810 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-1762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £100 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sourwood Inn, constructed of cedar and trimmed with stone, sits on one hundred acres of hilly terrain at an elevation of 3,200 feet. Each of Sourwood Inn's guest rooms has a private balcony overlooking the Reems Creek Valley, a wood-burning fireplace, and a tub with a view. It was created to provide a retreat where our guests can experience the delights of the Blue Ridge and still easily access the arts and sophistication of downtown Asheville.Outdoor activities in the Asheville area include hiking, whitewater rafting, fly fishing, mountain biking, and horseback riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourwood Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing