We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sourwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sourwood Inn
Ranked #20 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2007

I loved this place! You will go up a windy road and then down a gravel entranceway. You will see a beautiful arts and crafts inn with huge fireplaces, broad porches, lovely rooms with gorgeous bathrooms with a view and the highest thread count sheets on which I have ever slept. Oh and each room has a wood burning fireplace. Real wood-not electric.
The breakfast is great but the dinners, ah the dinners. Some of the best food we had on our vacation and we went to Charleston after this. The friendly chef made a southern whipped cream cake that was amazing. Bring your own beer or wine. They have snacks in the afternoon .
We took a long hike on the beautiful trail. We kept coming across areas where they had placed lounges for looking at the view , or horseshoe pits or badmitton courts.
They have three friendly but very well behaved black labs who will walk a bit with you if you are in the mood. They have a good library They have a staff which truly enjoys what they do and shares that joy with you.
We will be going back

  • Liked — The honest friendlinesss-without being intrusive--of the entire staff.
  • Disliked — the gravel part of the entrance road is not wonderful--but the inn itself is so great that it is wor!th it
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gungadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
147
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

We found this B & B while searching for a fishing guide in the area. The son-in-law of the owners runs a fishing guide service/outfitting store in Weaverville. There was a link to the inn on his website.

There were only two other couples the first night we stayed, and we were alone the second night, which kind of negates why we go to B&Bs. But the staff was so great! The Inn in only 10 years old, and the views from all rooms in the inn are fantastic. I loved the luxurious bathrooms, too. The breakfasts were fantastic. A chef prepares dinner for guests (extra fee) Thursday through Sunday nights. We were not able to take advantage of this due to the time of the week we stayed. But the innkeepers allowed us to heat up a meal that we brought in (the inn is quite a drive from town, and we didn't want to leave to go out in the evening).

There are 100 acres to wander around in, and we did. The weather happened to be very warm for March the week we were there. Very enjoyable. There is a billiards table, a ping pong table and darts provided in the downstairs gameroom, and croquet availble in warmer weather.

If you want to go fishing, I recommend Curtis Wright Outfitters in Weaverville. We caught many beautiful rainbows - not a one was less than 11" long!

There is only one TV in the inn - in the gameroom. We didn't miss it. There is only dial-up comptuer access.

We felt so refreshed after our visit here. We hated to leave.

  • Liked — The bathrooms!
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sharongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2007

We visited the Sourwood Inn in October, and we had a really great time. Everything was perfect. We lit a fire every night in our room, and I enjoyed sipping a glass of wine sitting by the fire with the balcony door open while my wife took a long bath. It was truly a luxurious experience. We stayed three nights and had lunches and two dinners in downtown Asheville. We had one dinner at the hotel, and it was very good. Breakfast was great also.

  • Liked — the fireplace
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milk41358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2006

My wife and I just returned from the Sourwood Inn a few weeks ago where we spent a short honeymoon. It was the perfect getaway! From the moment we walked in, to the moment we left nothing could have been more perfect.

Upon check in we were shown around the property and then up to our room (#12), which was spectacular. My wife and I were in shock of the shear beauty and charm that surrounded this amazing place. Within only an few minutes of seeing our room we decided that we would be back for as many anniversaries and we could possibly make it.

Every single room had a wood burning fireplace of which was set up and cleaned for you every day. Each room also had a private balcony, of which overlooked the most beautiful view of the mountains, and a full bath with a stand-up shower and a large tub (big enough for two) which sat next to a big window again overlooking the mountains. The rooms were decorated tastefully with a country flare, and there was no TV in the room which was very appropriate. Candles and matches were set out and all conceivable necessities were readily available within the room (extra blankets, pillows, toiletries, hair dryer, bubble bath).

Breakfast was served buffet style between 8:00 and 9:30 and, if you wake up early, coffee and tea were available in the dining area at 7:00. The food was wonderful, with a different selection each day. I am a somewhat picky eater and even I ate almost everything that was served. Meals were unique, creative, and delicious.

After a day full of shopping and sightseeing at the Biltmore Estate (about 30 mintues away, but a beautiful drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway so who cares), we had bought some champagne to have that evening. The friendly staff offered to chill it for us in their fridge until we needed it, at which point, they put it on a bucket of ice and sent it back to our room along with a towel and a few champagne glasses. The service and attention to detail could not be matched.

I have not a single negative comment about the Sourwood Inn. It was a wonderful and relaxing place to stay, with very friendly service and excellent food. Without a doubt it was the best accommodation that I have ever had. They thought of everything and them some. What an incredible bargain for the money! My wife and I can't wait to return!

  • Liked — Remote location with spectacular views and a very relaxing atmospshere.
  • Disliked — The drive after dark, however it was well worth it!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank javaboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2006

As we were checking out I noticed a small bowl of candy corn on the counter - a subtle nod to Halloween and fall, indicative of the attention to detail that makes the Sourwood perfect. Nat, in one of his musings, said "every guest creates his own privacy". Exactly! Unobtrusive is the key to the high quality of service. Excellent taste, understated and comfortable, is everywhere yet there is not a drop of snootiness. No cute kitsch here. One can actually see taable tops and unadorned walls. No doilies. No dolls.

We left yesterday knowing that the Sourwood would never leave us. We are so lucky.

  • Liked — impossible to choose
  • Disliked — We can't stay forever
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moggydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

My wife and I and my parents stayed at this property last week for one night on our way to a family event. We were encouraged by the other reviews and were not disappointed. The property is about a 25 minute drive north of Asheville up a beautiful winding road or you can take the Blue Ridge Parkway. The facilities are nestled on a heavily wooded hillside which requires that you take a steep driveway about .3-.5 mile downhill but not a big deal - it gave the impression that something nice was at the bottom - Staff/owners were great and very hospitable. Breakfast was good - heavy pancakes, eggs cooked to order, cereals, granola, bacon, etc. A couple of nice trails on property which weren't too steep - I believe they have 100 acres -
Rooms were 5 star - separate shower and bath had window overlooking the woods - fireplace that was ready to light - wood floors, top of the line fixtures - all rooms have a deck with excellent views and a privacy screen to buffer yourself from other guests.
The facilities were designed to give the appearance the building had been there for many years - it blended well with the environment - even though it has been there less than 10 years.
We didn't reserve for dinner because of the menu for our particular evening but will definitely give this a try next time where we look forward to a longer visit.

This place is a tremendous value.

  • Liked — cozy rooms and views
  • Disliked — a lot of wood floors create noise
  • Tips/Secrets — get an upstairs room or rent the separate cottage
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2006

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Sourwood and the experience was just perfect. The Inn is a very lovely Arts and Crafts design and the warm service was top notch. We stayed in the Sassafras Cabin, which is located a hundred yards or so from the main inn. The cabin was comfortable, clean and pretty. Kacia is a great chef creating excellent meals several nights a week. I would recommend eating at the Inn for dinner at least once. We dined at the inn twice and both meals were great and reasonable as well. Each morning we enjoyed a full breakfast in a perfect setting. Do not miss the French Toast! The inn keepers and staff could not have been nicer. We so enjoyed our conversations with Nat, who is a wealth of knowledge in so many areas. The inn is about 20 minutes from Asheville and the mountain roads and long driveway entrance may seem challenging for some. I personally did not find this an issue and liked being up on Elk Mountain with all of it's scenic beauty.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Skier50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,355 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourwood Inn

Property: Sourwood Inn
Address: 810 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-1762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sourwood Inn, constructed of cedar and trimmed with stone, sits on one hundred acres of hilly terrain at an elevation of 3,200 feet. Each of Sourwood Inn's guest rooms has a private balcony overlooking the Reems Creek Valley, a wood-burning fireplace, and a tub with a view. It was created to provide a retreat where our guests can experience the delights of the Blue Ridge and still easily access the arts and sophistication of downtown Asheville.Outdoor activities in the Asheville area include hiking, whitewater rafting, fly fishing, mountain biking, and horseback riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourwood Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing