We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great way to see Asheville”

Gray Line Trolley Tours
Ranked #3 of 60 Tours in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on board one of Gray Line's nostalgic trolleys for a fully narrated journey, highlighting the history, homes and hot-spots of this "city of surprises." Hop-On and hear the story of a city rich in architecture, history and the arts...Hop-Off and experience it's eclectic shops and galleries; its world class culinary and craft brew scenes. It's fun and informative! Join us and see why we are Asheville's Most Sightseeing Tour!
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great way to see Asheville”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the trolley tour of Asheville. The stops offered were all of interest. The stop we chose was #2 at the Grove Park Inn. We had a wonderful lunch there - excellent food and spectacular views.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TAOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    173
    38
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gray Line Trolley Tours”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We really enjoyed our "hop on and hop off" tour of Asheville today. Although we have traveled to Asheville many times in the past, this was the first time that we had taken a "planned" tour of the city. The ten stops on the tour route give the tourist a varied view of the city, including the history, the business and industry, and the arts and crafts of the area. Each of the tour guides was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Each guide was so proud to be able to show the city to the tourists.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take the trolley tour first.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The trolley is an open bus type vehicle with a driver that is very informed about Asheville. During the tour you get a history of how Asheville came to be. Saw many beautiful, interesting homes. Did not know that Thomas Wolfe was from here. You can also do a hop on hop off situation if there is an area you want to explore more. The tour really gives you a great overview.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mysterynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good overview of Asheville”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

knowledgeable staff who gave great info on city while being transported to various stopping off places. Well priced - my only quibble is the limited hours (couldn't start until 10:45 at the Marriott and last route that would get me back to my starting point was ~3 pm)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank livetoeatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A "Must-Do" in Asheville”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We met friends in Asheville N.C. a couple weeks ago. The big plan of course was to see the Biltmore Estate which was why we went there in the first place, but a very pleasant impromptu thing we did, was to hop on board the Gray Line Trolley Tour around Asheville. This is a trolley tour and the driver/guides are just terrific. They took us all over Asheville and there really is so much to see around town that we would have missed had we gone off on our own. You can get on and off the trolley at various stops as you wish, and we did this a couple times, walked around town, had lunch, and spent a wonderful day seeing sights we didn't even know to go see! A big thanks to "Mike" and all the guides.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maximussnowbirdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line Trolley Tours also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Gray Line Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing