We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktails look tasty but dinner options were limited”
Review of The Scarlet Bee

The Scarlet Bee
Ranked #387 of 840 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Description: We are a restaurant and bar that is excited to offer you the food and drinks we have a passion for! In the kitchen, owners Matt and Kristin Sawaya prepare family recipes that Matt grew up with, and are proud to share a taste of his Lebanese heritage with a menu featuring locally sourced ingredients. At the bar, Thistle Pass offers an herbal-focused menu of house sodas, tonics, and cocktails using all organic herbs, fresh-squeezed juices, and spirits with plant-based stories all their own.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a restaurant and bar that is excited to offer you the food and drinks we have a passion for! In the kitchen, owners Matt and Kristin Sawaya prepare family recipes that Matt grew up with, and are proud to share a taste of his Lebanese heritage with a menu featuring locally sourced ingredients. At the bar, Thistle Pass offers an herbal-focused menu of house sodas, tonics, and cocktails using all organic herbs, fresh-squeezed juices, and spirits with plant-based stories all their own.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food tastes great, sort of a Mediterranean-American hybrid. The space is cozy. The cocktails looked delicious. The menu is very short and the portions are small for the price and not necessarily easy to share. There is no kids menu. Vegan options are sparse. There is no outdoor seating. Parking is super-easy but there are not other attractions nearby

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K4166ZJjessicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Owner at The Scarlet Bee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your thoughts and insight. We are actually in the process of expanding the menu and adding some kid friendly options! Our goal is to maintain consistent quality with local ingredients across our menu, which is why we have started off with a smaller amount of choices to ensure we are providing the best possible food and drinks that we can. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful to see this new addition to the neighborhood. Very inviting with an extremely friendly staff. Great for a cocktail and nibble, very limited beer menu all from one brewery only, Bhramari Brewing. The small plates are all delicious, from the Shatti spicy dip to the tenderloin kabobs to the chickpea sliders. But that's the challenge, come here twice ad you have eaten everything on the 10 choice small plate menu. Would like to visit more often but not just for a cocktail so the menu really needs to be expanded to get locals to return very often. Weekly specials or seasonal additions would be great. You can only eat the same small plates so many times and that won't keep us coming back very often. Lot's of potential, great atmosphere hope to see the food and beer menu show more choices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Owner at The Scarlet Bee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review Grabes! We are in the process of adding new items to our menu so that our customers will have more options. We appreciate your thoughts and hope you will come back and try some of our new additions soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious cocktails and mezzas
We shared a dipping plate and a Slider

Only open for dinner
No fuss parking .save your self the hassle of going downtown
Nice atmosphere and good service

Thank robertsonrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Owner at The Scarlet Bee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We appreciate the review and we're glad you enjoyed your visit! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found the quaint restaurant by accident on line. We have been looking for a good Mediterranean restaurant since we moved here last fall. We have.
Start your dinner off with one of their craft cocktails or small selection of beers from bhramari beer pub here in Asheville.
The food is good with a limited selection of mezze. We are hoping they will expand the menu in the future. Especially now the the spring/summer produce is in season.
This is defiantly on our list of places that will make our rotation of local restaurants we enjoy.
We only tried a couple of the offering from the menu but will be back to sample additional items.

Thank lc2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Owner at The Scarlet Bee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review! We are indeed planning on expanding the menu and should have a few additions within the next few weeks. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped in at the Scarlet Bee the other night. The food and drinks were amazing! I recommend the tenderloin kebabs. The Toum (garlic dip) is a must also, delicious! I personally like the Desert Blossom drink with Love tonic ;)
Definitely worth the trip, we will be coming back soon

Thank MinnieS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scarlet Bee also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Scarlet Bee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing