We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road noise is a problem”
Review of Brookstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brookstone Lodge
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Road noise was a major problem for me. Requested in advance to be away from highway side, but request was ignored! They need to upgrade there windows to keep noise out. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ralphed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

We get great comments on our breakfast. It is a hot, deluxe continental style breakfast, so not just muffins and cereal! In addition to traditional continental fare, we have eggs and sausage, a waffle station, and great coffee! We are happy to make accommodations for guests that prefer a certain side of the building or an upper floor. Just let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you are looking for a place to sleep and shower that is relatively clean, this place is fine. The employees were nice. It was handy to have a microwave and fridge in the room. Priceline has this categorized as "Downtown" which is absolutely untrue. This hotel is in a strange location near the interstate. The room smelled as is there had been water damage; we had to go buy air freshener. There was a dead roach in the A/C unit, but everything else was clean. The other thing that really bothered me was that there was no secondary lock on the room door, such as the typical bar guard lock or even a chain lock. I did not feel very secure in that anyone with a keycard could walk in at any time.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AL_duo_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thanks for the review. We think the location is great. A short drive to downtown, and less than 2 miles to the Biltmore Estate and Blue Ridge Parkway. We apologize for any odor. We have not had any water damage to date. Security is important to us and that is why we have indoor corridors to access the rooms and every room is designed with a secure key lock and a deadbolt for added convenience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed for one night. Property is just off the expressway in a business area and very close to Biltmore Estate and Biltmore Village. There is also some sort of amusement facility adjacent to the property that had go-karts, arcade etc etc. but we didn't go there. I think we thought that it was a little closer to some ammenities, but it really is a property that you need a car at. Property is decorated like a mountain lodge, but probably could use a bit of a freshening and updating in some areas. Our room was clean and functional though and was just fine for one night. Service was fine, no complaints there. Parking is free and in front of the property and the rate made this property pretty good value in my mind. If we came through again, we might look to stay downtown or in an area that we could have a few more ammenities within walking distance, but I would also stay at Brookstone Lodge again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CroozerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

We appreciate your comments. The feedback is important to us. We are not directly in downtown, but with some great directions from our friendly front desk team, we can get you there quickly! Hope to see you next time you are in Asheville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

The pictures on the web and name make you think it might be a lodge in the mountains overlooking Asheville; actually, it's a rather pedestrian hotel cramped in a small lot in the business area right off the Interstate. Not a bad place - clean, and the staff were attentive. But the room was odd - it had a 10 foot ceiling so it felt a bit cavernous. The tv was mounted on the wall about 8 feet up so watching it was a bit strange. But it was quiet and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaTravelers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is important to us. Please stay with us again next time you visit Asheville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We only paid $75 a night for this hotel and at that rate I wasn't expecting greatness. But we walked in and the lobby was lovely and the rooms were up to date and very clean and comfortable. Even had a fridge and microwave!
Staff was friendly and always at the desk! Love this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaKTupelo_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

It was a pleasure to read your review of the Brookstone Lodge. Nice to read we exceeded your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We took a few days off to get away and went to Asheville. I got a 2 nights for one deal through my AAA. This was good and possibly bad. It was good because the price was reasonable for 2 nights, in fact it was pretty cheap. It was bad because I was wondering if they offered the special to fill some rooms they would not normally fill.
Our room was a one king bed room. It was located next to the maintenance room which cut out about a third of our room. The sides of the bed were less than 18" from the walls on either side in fact they could only get one night stand by the bed. When you walk into the room it was like walking down a small hall first.
The shower had some thick nasty looking stuff in the corner. I decided it was an epoxy that at one time held a shelf there. I think 15 minutes and a razor scraper would get rid of it (hint). There was also a sprinkler above our bed that made us feel a little uncomfortable (see pic). We weren't sure if there might be a camera there or not, we hope not.
The gentleman that checked us in, I think his name was Roger but am not 100% sure of that, was a great guy. He was very nice and when he checked out the pool area for chemicals he was cordial to us. Everyone that worked there seemed to have a great attitude, the desk people, housekeeping and the breakfast people.
Speaking of breakfast they had a great variety of foods, coffee, and juices. Waffles, eggs, sausage, muffins, cereal, toast, bagels, English muffins and Danish. This was a nice way to start the day. There was enough room for us on a weekday but it may get cramped in the breakfast room on weekends. Free USA Today is also nice.
The pool area was kind of small. Had a standard hotel hot tub with odd jets but good power. The pool was nice for us, there was another guy there with 2 kids which was okay. The problem would have been if many more came in. I would say this place would be crowded with 10 people in it. There is only seating inside for 4 I think. There are outside lounges which are in the son in the afternoon. They are on the backside of the hotel but the bad thing is the back faces the street so you have traffic constantly about 12 feet away. It looks like they are trying to grow a border for privacy, it just isn't there yet.
Located outside of downtown Asheville off Hwy 40 I think exit 52. It was easy to get to since it is right off the interstate. Once I got my bearings straight it was pretty easy to get around town. Many eating and shopping places are just a few miles east of here on 40.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for the recent review! We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and we appreciate all of your comments. i enjoy sharing these reviews with the staff in hopes of improving wherever we can to ensure 100% guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at the Brookstone for one night while visiting Asheville. It was pretty convenient to the Biltmore area and downtown (but not walkable to either). It is located in a business park-like area so we didn't really walk around outside the hotel. It did appear to be a pretty safe area. There did seem to be a kids fun zone/ go-kart type place next door which would be good if you were there with kids. The bathroom was clean, a nice size, and had elegant fixtures and countertop. Our room was a double queen bedroom and still had room to walk around in (and bring in our bicycle for the night). The continental breakfast had a wide variety of foods including make-your-own Belgian waffles. Provided a good start to the day. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in rm 408 which was in the middle of the hallway relatively close to the elevators but not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaltimoreBetty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thanks for the recent review of our property. It was great to receive the nice comments. The feedback is very important to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#35 of 66 in Asheville
509 reviews
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore
6.4 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#17 of 66 in Asheville
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstone Lodge

Address: 4 Roberts Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-8613
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Asheville
#20 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £92 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of a mountain lodge just minutes from Biltmore Estate, downtown Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, and the area’s finest shopping and dining. Amenities include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, wireless internet, fitness center, and much more. Some in-room amenities are 32" flat screen HDTV, granite tub and vanity, microwave, coffee maker, mini-refrigerator, and hair dryer. We are independently owned and operated. AAA-3 diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Brookstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstone Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing