We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a good value”
Review of Brookstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookstone Lodge
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 7 August 2013

After reading reviews of people staying in a petite queen, we gave it a try. The room was small but not less than needed. There was only one nightstand so I used piece of luggage to place books at night. Breakfasts were very nice and tables kept clean. All personnel were friendly and helpful. the locations was excellent and near a top rated barbecue place. I would definitely stay there again as it was such a good value and it gave us more money to spend on the wonderful restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: A petite queen is a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningDiner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Nice to read your review. Thank you for all of the good comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

My family and I took a road trip from mid-Michigan to Hampton VA to Southern Pines NC to Asheville NC to Horse Cave KY and then back home. The Brooksto e Lodge was the cleanest and least expensive hotel we stayed in during the vacation.
It's close to Blue Ridge Parkway (hidden gem: check out Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy...way cool houses on climbing mountain road.) Its also a quick drive to Downtown, Biltmore, mall (kids needed new (not downtown prices) shoes, etc.
I would highly recommend if ok not having mountain view from your hotel room (it was really the only downfall, albeit a big downfall but hence the lower room rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumpmaster26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thanks for the recent review. We take pride in being clean and offering great rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We got bang for our buck at Brookwood Lodge, The daily breakfast wasn't fancy, but it was more than adequate, and also offered fresh fruit daily. The breakfast dining area is small, but usually large enough. It was very full on the last day of our stay, so the lodge staff accommodated people by opening a conference room for overflow diners. I thought it was a smart thing to do and a good way to respond to the volume of breakfasting guests. Some fancier hotels we've stayed at have let diners "fend" for spots to sit when more than full. Our 4th floor room was comfortable (double queen) and it worked great to have a day to visit (including nap) with our young granddaughters. The indoor pool was a nice way to keep them entertained. I also liked that the pool area has a little shower to rinse off before swimming (although we'd washed in our room).The staff at Brookwood is personable and friendly, and the cleaning staff are thorough and hard-working. The parking lot is a bit "compact", but we had no trouble finding a spaces to park. The hotel's wi-fi was a little iffy, but at least it was included in the price. The Lodge isn't fancy, but it sure has a lot to offer if one is looking for a nice, clean, reasonably priced option in the Asheville area. The bathroom was a good size, too, even though it was not hyper-modern. We appreciated the in room fridge, coffee pot and microwave, and the hotel didn't skimp on bathroom linens - compared to other hotels we've stayed at in the area, ie. Tunnel Road Hampton Inn, Days Inn I40 exit 55, Comfort, we received good value at a good price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grannysjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us comments on your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Brookstone Lodge and enjoyed your time here. See you next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our third stay at Brookstone Lodge over the past 3 years. Each time for a trip to the Biltmore. The hotel location is off the beaten path, yet within a few minutes of Biltmore Village, Downtown Asheville and other shopping and dining destinations. Staff is friendly and courteous.

The size of our room was as expected and a good fit for a family of four overnight. The bathroom was clean on the surface, but you could see the stain and discoloration of the granite and where the caulk had failed and mildew was building up around the tub/shower. The bedding was comfortable; but be aware that the hotel is near Highway 40 and you will likely have a small amount of road noise. In 3 trips, it was never enough to disturb our sleep. Our room had a fold-out sofa, but the mattress was stained so our 9 year old opted to tough out the night in the bed with his ever active little sister rather than sleep on the soiled mattress.

The breakfast was simply "ok" this time around. Small things like providing some ice water, or peanut butter seemed to be missing, and the pastry selections were just not what they were on previous trips, but no one left hungry.

All in all, still a decent place to stay for a very reasonable price in Asheville. I do hope the hotel receives updates as the property ages and management tries to keep up on standard wear and tear. We will return someday and would love to find that Brookstone gets the attention it needs to stay a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your comments and your loyalty. It is very important to us that we keep up the hotel and maintain its appearance. We value your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We traveled to Myrtle beach from Indiana and made Asheville our stop over. On the way down we stayed at a Days Inn, which was just awful. We were so happy to have found this hotel on the way back. It was beautiful, very clean, and had an excellent free breakfast. The staff was very nice and helpful and the prices were great - the same as the Days Inn. The rooms were large enough for a family of 4 to spread out and relax comfortably. Even though it is near highways, there was no noise problem. Overall, this is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Beds and pillows are great. Pull out couch not too comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

What a great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed our property and that you had a good visit to Asheville! We expect to see you next time you come through!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The photos on the site actually only cover a small section of the hotel. I don't know why but "Lodge" had me thinking of something a little more outdoorsy and unique. Other than having whirlpools outside of the bath in some rooms, this hotel is fairly standard. Hot breakfast bar, tiny swimming pool, some small patios dominated by smokers.

It's located between highways, but the rooms are quiet. It's close to Biltmore Estate and there's a family center right next door to keep the kids busy.

Room Tip: Save your money and skip the whirlpool rooms. If you're busy, you'll barely use them. More u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gautam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We appreciate the recent review. Your feedback is very important to us. Please come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Nice decor, comfortable room but I wasn't fond of the location. I wrongly assumed it would have a nice outdoor space as it was called a "lodge" but it actually in between several busy highways.
Good breakfast. Price reasonable, booked through Expedia special offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks for the review. We are glad you liked the hotel. We find the location to be quite convenient. Although we are not located in a private, secluded setting, we are less than 5 minutes from the Biltmore Estate, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and downtown Asheville without paying the rates that are often associated with this sort of proximity. We hope to see you again next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), NC
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#35 of 68 in Asheville
520 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#28 of 68 in Asheville
338 reviews
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstone Lodge

Address: 4 Roberts Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-8613
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Asheville
#19 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £58 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of a mountain lodge just minutes from Biltmore Estate, downtown Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, and the area’s finest shopping and dining. Amenities include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, wireless internet, fitness center, and much more. Some in-room amenities are 32" flat screen HDTV, granite tub and vanity, microwave, coffee maker, mini-refrigerator, and hair dryer. We are independently owned and operated. AAA-3 diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Brookstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstone Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing