We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookstone Lodge
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Only Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed at the Lodge in July of 2009 for three nights. The place overall looked nice and we appreciated the fact that they had an indoor pool as our 2 year old loved to swim each evening. The breakfast each morning was not great, they didn't have enough tables and the offerings were pretty slim. Our room was very noisey, we heard doors slamming all night and it got so bad we asked to be switched to another room for the next night. That room was quieter but the AC united had a musty smell. The customer service at the front desk was lacking and some side comments were made about us getting a special rate. The location was good, right off the highway and 10 minutes from Biltmore. We are going back to Asheville but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, 10 February 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that your experience last July was not up to your expectations, and we hope that you will come and visit with us again. We understand that the immediate area around the hot full breakfast buffet is limited, but that is why we leave our conference room open to dine in as well. Our conference room presents a much quieter and more intimate dining experience. I am sure any comments you felt bothered by were simple misunderstandings as our staff provides the best customer service in the Carolinas. I hope you have a wonderful week, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    297
    151
    57
    22
See reviews for
267
391
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

The reviews are right on... this was a great value and a great place to stay. We visit Asheville a couple of times a year and will definitely return to Brookstone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getoutoftheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2010
Thank you very much for you review of Brookstone Lodge! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we can't wait for you to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

We chose the Brookstone Lodge based on the very favorable recommendations on Tripadvisor.com. After staying at the Brookstone I suspect that many of the extremely high ratings were placed by employees of the Brookstone Lodge. The facilities are new and the staff are friendly (but nothing beyond what you would expect from a hotel staff). The rate was reasonable, however the room we stayed in was one of the smallest motel/hotel rooms I have ever seen. It was a King bed room and there was literally only room to walk around the bed and a small hall leading to the door with an adequate bath off the narrow hall. I would say that it is comparable to a typical comfort Inn, but with much smaller rooms (Did not see any of the other rooms so there might be larger rooms in the facility).
As others have mentioned the hotel is located in an industrial area and on a fairly busy highway, so don't assume that you will have a room with a view! Also, there is a complimentary continental breakfast with the room but it was nothing to write home about (the typical fare you find at most hotels offering a free continental breakfast).
I would not give a negative recommendation if someone asked my opinion of the Brookstone Lodge, but it was certainly nothing special. The most positive thing about the Brookstone Lodge is that it is a new facility (but time will negate that). This is the only hotel I have stayed in in Asheville but I suspect there are better options.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2010
Thank you very much for writing a review of Brookstone Lodge! We are sorry that your stay with us was ordinary, as we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests. Although as employees we do love our hotel, Trip Advisor does not let us write reviews of the hotel only responses like the one you are reading now. If you felt that our room was a little small please consider one of our spacious suites for your next visit. We also apologize that our scrambled eggs and hot sausage and gravy biscuits were not to your liking, but we hope you found the free hot brownies and cookies to be a delight! Thanks again for your time, and we hope you will give us another shot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We picked this hotel for a one night stay ( 2 rooms to accomodate family of 4) based on the good reviews. The hotel is new and is clean. It certainly is not anything fancy. I would compare it to a Hampton Inn with a flat screen and updated bathroom. The location is near Biltmore Square and just a short drive to downtown, however, the immediate area is industrial so do not go thinking there is any sort of view, etc. There is not. It is also is located right on a busy road so there is some traffic noise although we were tired so that did not really bother us. If you are looking for a clean, basic hotel to sleep in and that is it, and you want to be convenient to Biltmore and not too far from downtown, then you can consider this hotel. There are others close by that might not be as new but are in a less industrial area that might also be a consideration. Next time we might consider others to see if we can find one comparable but in less of an industrial area and not right on a busy road.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honesttripreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Thank you very much for reviewing the Brookstone Lodge on Trip Advisor. We are glad that we met your expectations, although we strive to surpass them. Our breakfast, customer service, and interior design are what set us apart from other hotels, and we hope that you will consider staying with us again. Have a wonderful New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

For the price, it was the best breakfast we have had in a motel. It is unusual to find a hotel of this quality for this price so close to the main attraction. We are fussy about noise, and once we figured out the heating system, even that caused no problem for us.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Thank you very much for your review of Brookstone Lodge. We are glad that you had such a wonderful experience, and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel one night. The desk staff was friendly and gave good advice on what to do in town. The Internet sometimes ran slow but was functional. The included breakfast buffet was good and offered a wider fare than the usual "continental breakfast" served at most hotels. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect for visiting Biltmore Village and the Biltmore Estate.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nondescript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2009
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor, and we are glad that your stay at Brookstone Lodge exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves in both our closeness to Biltmore and our hot breakfast bar. We greatly look forward to next time you stay with us. Have a very wonderful New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, TN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

I had booked this hotel for an overnight stay before going to Biltmore. However due to heavy snow, while traveling from eastern NC to Asheville my son and I were stuck on I-40 for several hours. A trip that normally would have taken 5 hours took 14. When we arrived at Brookstone at 2 am they had no power. However, the hotel staff was very friendly, inquring as to whether we needed anything to eat and offering what they had. We were very grateful. After about a day and a half, the hotel regained power. While the hotel was comfortable without power, it was even more so with power. The staff was very friendly and had a great attitude during what was a difficult time for them as well. The hotel was in a very convenient location which made it easy to get to what we wanted to see, especially in the heavy snow!

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank thewanderertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2009
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. As you know from experience the Blizzard was a very interesting time for all of us with its many difficulties. We are glad that you found the hotel accommodating and comfortable, and we greatly look forward to you staying with us in the future. Have a wonderful new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.8 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#34 of 63 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstone Lodge

Property: Brookstone Lodge
Address: 4 Roberts Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-8613
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Asheville
#20 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel! Experience the charm of a mountain lodge just minutes from Biltmore Estate, downtown Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, and the area’s finest shopping and dining. Amenities include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, wireless internet, fitness center, and much more. Some in-room amenities are 32" flat screen HDTV, granite tub and vanity, microwave, coffee maker, mini-refrigerator, and hair dryer. We are independently owned and operated. AAA-3 diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brookstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstone Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing