We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sweet suite!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Had a wonderfully fantastic stay. As an Asheville resident I don't often get the chance to enjoy local hotels but the kids were off school on a Friday and instead of road tripping to Gatlinburg, they voted on a mini stay-cation so I jumped on priceline and got a great rate on a room at the Hotel Indigo (which is listed on Priceline as one of three 4 star properties in Asheville). From the time I called ahead to request two beds or a bed and pull out sofa (spoke with a very professional and friendly guy named Brad) to the time we ended our stay, we were made to feel like honored guests. At check in Morgan and Lisa greeted us enthusuastically with warm smiles and attentive service. Joel, a parking attendant was as helpful and informative as he was cheerful. The room/suite was delightful, clean as a whistle, well appointed and afforded us stunning views of our beloved mountains and charming city. Loved the oversized shower, aveda HBC products, bathrobes, artwork, color scheme, high end furnishings, comfortable bed, heavy curtains and convenient downtown (but right off of 240) location. My kids were especially thrilled to stay at the same hotel as some of "The Hunger Games" cast (or so they they tell me). We drive by the hotel everyday and I have always wanted to check out the rooms so I was more than happy to check in (but we didn't want to check out!). As great as the room and property was, the employees we encountered are the ones who really made it a terrific stay for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    460
    156
    40
    29
See reviews for
207
836
50
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a great time staying at this trendy boutique hotel close to the heart of downtown Asheville. We were only able to stay for one night but hope to return soon. The staff were all very friendly in a genuine way. They have a small bar and restaurant off of the lobby that helped establish a welcoming atmosphere. The welcome began as we arrived in the form of a cordial valet who ended up presenting us with a complementary valet pass for our car which was much appreciated. Although I reserved a room on-line, I called the hotel with a question prior to our arrival and was offered a free upgrade to a "view room" as an IHG member. We were given a corner room on a higher floor with amazing views of the mountains on two sides for a very reasonable mid-week price. While the hotel is adjacent to I-240, we stayed on the side away from the interstate and didn't find road noise to be a problem at all. The hotel is an easy walk to wonderful locally owned shops and restaurants. I would recommend an early check-in to shop as many of the locally owned stores close at 6, while many of the restaurants are open later. The hotel staff are happy to store your luggage if your room isn't ready. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and has been so since it's construction. Our room was clean We found the bed to be quite comfortable. The pillows were 100% polyester but had a "down" feel to them - wonderful for those of us who like the down feel but are allergic to feathers. The hotel provides complimentary Aveda hair and skin products in the bathroom. They also have filtered water available in the vending areas which are located on the odd-numbered floors. We appreciated the availability of specialty coffees and fountain drinks in the lobby bar/restaurant. The furnishings throughout were eclectic and modern. The desk chair was comfortable. This is a place that works well for both the business traveler as well as someone vacationing or visiting in the area. I appreciated the fact that the light switches next to the door were set to turn on lights in 3 different places in the room. The sunset viewed from our room was absolutely outstanding! We are already planning a return trip!

Room Tip: I agree with the travelers who have recommended the "01's." We were in corner room 80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaldri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

4.5 Stars If I could. Pros: Customer Service Friendly, Clean Facility, Easy Parking Access, Handicap Friendly, Modern Feel, In Room Coffee, Big Showers, Comfortable Rooms
Cons: Close to Interstate, No Bathroom Exhaust Fans (Opps), Slow Elevators, AC Had Musty Smell

This is one of the best Hotels in Asheville. Many nice things without hidden fees. Smaller size hotel but big city feel. Nice cafe at the bottom for an easy breakfast. Within walking distance from downtown. Would Stay Here Again! Upset they did not have a bathroom fan or at least one that worked for obvious reasons.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views and avoid some highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobchappellNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Waffling distance to everything. Ask for a corner room with a mountain view. The Corner rooms are larger and also ask for as high as possible. Clean small room but good place and would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTravelerXOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us, and look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
jbratcher@hlihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-Atlantic State
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a fairly new hotel in downtown Asheville. The location is convenient, you can walk to most things downtown. I enjoyed shopping downtown without the hassle of looking for parking,
Hotel Indigo is trendy, the staff is friendly and helpful. Valet parking is fantastic, the parking attendants also serve as bell men. The hotel room we had was a suite with a view, although our view was mostly of the city, we could see the mountains and a beautiful sunrise. The suite had a refrigerator and Kureig coffee machine but no microwave. The little café in the lobby was kind enough to give us a couple of small containers of milk for our tea/coffee. We decided to buy a container of milk just for our convenience. Overall we were very pleased with the service the staff provided, quite a pleasant group of people.
On the CON list:
1. No shampoo or conditioner in the room.. Front desk did offer to send some up to us.
2. Bring your earplugs- many guests let the doors slam shut and it was NOISY. The street noise was constant throughout the night. We were on the 12th floor and it was loud enough to wake us repeatedly throughout both nights of our stay.
3. Lighting in the bedroom was really poor.
That list of cons does not outweigh the positives by any means. I will return to this hotel, it was clean and comfortable.
3.

Room Tip: If you are getting a suite with a view, ask for 1210 or 1208. They have better views than 1209.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tealuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted that our team shined with wonderful service during your visit. How disappointing to discover that you were disturbed by noise during your visit! I am so sorry that you did not have a peaceful night's rest. We are working on making our rooms more sound-proof and have even added iHomes with white noise applications for your comfort and convenience. We certainly hope to see you in Asheville again soon.

Warm Wishes

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Nice room. Great view. Excellent location to downtown Ashevile. However, room was very dusty when we checked in and in-room WiFi was spotty and unreliable. Staff assured us that IT service would correct the problem but it didn't happen. At these prices ($400/night$ these problems shouldn't be the case.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAndyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
I appreciate that you took the time to share your concerns with us. I am heartbroken to hear that your experience was not up to our standard. Please feel free to connect with me personally so that we can ensure your next stay is seemless.

Warm Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Mananger
jbratcher@hlihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked a last-minute trip to Asheville and based on its location chose the Hotel Indigo. We really enjoyed our stay. At check-in the front-desk agent greeted us warmly and asked, ‘so what brings you to Asheville?’ My husband replied, ‘the food!’ She said she would be happy to make recommendations, but we were eager to re-visit some tried-and-true favorites. That’s one great advantage to this hotel, it is easy walking distance to the heart of downtown Asheville and its great restaurants, shops and activities. We liked being able to put our car in the garage (no fee for self parking) and walk everywhere. On previous visits we stayed in hotels where we had to drive downtown where parking can be a challenge and you have to remember to feed the meters.

The location also provides easy highway access to the Blue Ridge Parkway, where we enjoyed hiking and the scenery.

We had a room on the 9th floor that had a view of downtown as well as the mountains. Our room was close to the elevators and vending area but we never heard any undue noise from either.

Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly, from the front desk to the behind-the-scenes staff. We were on the elevator with employees a few times, including housekeeping and maintenance staff. Every one said hello, asked how we were enjoying our stay, etc. We have already recommended it to some friends and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRWeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you so much for this phenomenal review. We are delighted to have impressed you so! We look forward to providing another wonderful experience on your next visit!

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
960 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Property: Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801-2632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Our convenient downtown Asheville location allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing