We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've stayed in this hotel many times this year and decided to consolidate all my experiences into this review. The hotel staff is excellent. They always remember me, which is really impressive to me. The food is delicious. I've eaten just about everything, and it has all been good. The chicken flatbread is probably my favorite dinner item. The hotel is very pet friendly. The location is on the edge of downtown Asheville, but it is within very easy walking distance. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    457
    156
    40
    29
See reviews for
205
836
50
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

snagged a great last minute deal for a night here on priceline. very funky. was our anniversary and the woman who checked us in brought a small complimentary bottle of wine up to our room. great location. loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TtotheRtotheU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is a wonderful element in the entire Asheville Downtown experience. Asheville itself is an eclectic mix of music, food and natural surroundings that is both a center for business and pleasure. Hotel Indigo is no exception. Nestled right off the freeway and right at the end of downtown, with all the great restaurants and other shops within an easy walk - leave your car in the parking lot - it is beautifully appointed and quite reasonable in price, although higher than the surrounding area, but for good reason. My room was a corner one with views of one side of downtown and the other the beautiful Blue Ridge/Smoky Mountains. The room was spacious with an amazing bathroom and all of the amenities one would want or need on business or for pleasure. There is even a little place in the lobby where you can buy breakfast and also have dinner, although I will admit with all the choices in Asheville, I didn't have dinner there. The staff was outstanding and friendly and the concierge incredibly helpful. She was always there with a beautiful smile and great "inside" information about the area. I believe her name was Rebecca. If you are visiting the area, maybe to see the Biltmore Estate - there is so much more to Asheville than just that - splurge the extra bucks to stay at Indigo. Treat yourself to a little class.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Fla
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo on a recent three day trip to Asheville and greatly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Indigo. The hotel is only about five years old, so everything still feels new and fresh. The location could hardly be better as it is right on the edge of downtown, a convenient walking distance to just about everything. I would describe the architecture and decor of the Indigo as urban industrial chic, admittedly not everyone's cup of tea, but we like it a lot. Read pinu2's review "Almost a 5" for a description of the rooms. That is our observation as well, although we did not have the same trouble with the shower head or hair dryer. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and seem genuinely interested in your having a good experience in Asheville and at the Indigo. A few days before we arrived, we got a call from the concierge asking if she could help us in any way with our trip to Asheville, which I thought was a very nice touch. There is a small restaurant in the hotel with a very limited menu. When we return to Asheville, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnvfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After a last minute change in plans due to weather we found ourselves in Asheville without a place to stay. There was a basketball tournament in town and the only room we could find was at Hotel Indigo. Lucky us! We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here. The room was modern, a little funky and very spacious and the bathroom was gorgeous. Easy walk to most of Asheville. We didn't try the bar downstairs, but it did look like fun.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dixie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineland, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice rooms, great staff, they were all very nice. Great location, we could easily walk downtown. Plus they have a bar which everyone seemed to like. I would call it probably the best place to stay in Asheville...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoRahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary a couple of weeks ago, and it was a very nice hotel. We run up to Asheville all the time, but don't usually stay overnight because it's so close now. But we have spent several nights in hotels here over the years when we lived outside of Charlotte.

Hotel Indigo isn't as nice as Biltmore, but not much else in Asheville is. It's much nicer than your standard Holiday Inn, and the location is great - within walking distance of downtown, Pritchard Park (for the drum circle on Friday nights), etc.

The room was very large with laminate floors throughout, ceramic tile bathroom, huge tiled walk-in shower, and a lot of windows in our corner unit. We had great views in about 180 degree radius, and were even able to open smaller windows within the larger windows. The king bed was oversized, and was pretty comfortable for a hotel bed.

Most of the staff was friendly, especially Nick the valet.

What keeps me from giving the hotel a 5 is: water pressure was not good, and we weren't even on the top floor. That huge tile shower seemed a little drafty when you couldn't get a strong spray out of the shower head, no matter what setting we tried. They could use upgraded hair dryers with a cool setting (not a button that works for 2 seconds) - surprising since other items were upgraded like the ipod alarm clock. The tv also looks undersized in that size room, although we didn't watch any tv. Also, the parking is very tight if you don't use the valet. It looked like there were only two open spots when we were there, and the hotel wasn't full.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for an expanded view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Property: Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801-2632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Our convenient downtown Asheville location allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing