We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Not Well Designed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I are currently spending 4 days at the Indigo in Asheville. While the room decor is nice it is definitely not well thought out. To charge our iPhones and iPad we must move furniture and unplug lights and the clock. There are no outlets nor charging stations near the desk (which is placed directly in front of the only mirror in the room). The cleanliness and in-room coffee is what I would expect to find at a 2 star hotel. No attention to the details that make a hotel stay a vacation.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I appreciate that you took the time to share your honest observations with us. Your feedback is truly invaluable in our quest to constantly improve our offerings. We hope you find accommodations that better suit your needs on your next visit to Asheville.

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in Asheville for a weekend and waited till the last minute to get a hotel. Hotel indigo was the only one with rooms left. It was pricey but worth it. The staff was friendly and we cannot rave enough about Andy, the bartender. He was fabulous! Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smartsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. Andy is truly a treasure, and we will gladly pass along your praise. We so look forward to serving you again in Asheville!

Warmest Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've titled my review this way because we really liked this hotel very much, however, for my wife and I we couldn't understand why they didn't install soundproof windows as the hotel is right next to the highway. That said the service was great and our room was beautiful with the best views in the city(room 715). They need to address having a place to hang something in the bathroom. The snack bar in the lobby needs to label their brownies as the first one we got was with cayenne pepper and the second one which we exchanged for was mint. Enough about this. The best part for us was that you don't need your car once you've parked. Everything is conveniently in walking distance. Bring your earplugs and enjoy.

Room Tip: Corner kings not floors 2 and 7 if you don't want to be on a pet floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your observations with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, despite the noise disturbances you encountered. We are working on improving the sound-proofing in our rooms. Thank you once more for your kind words.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our first trip to Asheville and we wanted to be able to walk around downtown. Found Hotel Indigo and we were completely thrilled with the entire experience. It is modern so you won't find the charm of a historic property. What you will get is excellent, friendly staff and one of the cleanest hotels we've been to (love that there is no carpet in hotel room!). We stayed 3 nights in room 909, just off the elevators. Noise was not an issue because 1.we assume that since this is a downtown hotel that of course there will be noise and 2. we always travel with a portable sound machine. Our mattress and sheets were perfect - again we always travel with our own pillows but ended up leaving them in the car because these were so comfortable.

We were greeted upon arrival with complimentary valet parking. Yay! Front desk was extremely friendly - not pretentious but welcoming and hospitable. We can't choose one specific staff to highlight because each person went above and beyond daily to be friendly and helpful. This is a chain? Didn't seem that way. Seemed to be a lovely boutique hotel. Complimentary umbrellas for our rain days, concierge who knew exactly what was going on in town and gave us honest opinions - we love that! In the mornings, staff would ask what our plans were for the day and if we knew where we were going and did we need any assistance. What more could we ask for?
Yes, sometimes we had to wait for a couple minutes for an elevator - we lived through it. Room air conditioner worked perfect. Bathroom was immaculately clean with large shower and spa stool.
Cafe is operated by another company. We ate breakfast there one morning and we probably wouldn't have a full breakfast there again. It was okay but not great. The evening café staff was excellent.
Location for walking downtown to craft beer bars, breweries, restaurants and shopping is easy. We shared with some locals where we were staying and found that locals love Hotel Indigo too, one even telling us that is where she stays on their "stay-cations".
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorejoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I traveled here by car with my son, his wife and my six year old grandson. We chose it because of the convenient downtown location. The staff at check in were not very organized and a little unprofessional. The lobby was not too impressive, and the entire hotel was not what we had expected. However, when we learned that the hotel is a part of the Holiday Inn chain we began to understand. I was expecting a quaint, boutique type hotel. We were given adjoining, not connecting, as we had requested, rooms and they were kind enough to provide us with a roll away bed. There is very little charm to this hotel and not much comfort either. I would say that the attempt to be environmentally friendly has definitely taken away from this hotel's ambience. The good experiences we had included having very friendly and helpful maid service and very pleasant valet attendants. My grandson had left some toys in the room and the maids tracked us down after we had checked out to return them. Then the hotel was kind enough to mail us another item left in the room. This is a nice, small town hotel, but any sort of luxury or charm is sadly missing. I also felt that the rates we were charged were very high for what we got, although it was their high season and the hotel was sold out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kfg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We appreciate your feedback. Our hope is to provide a peaceful home-base for our guests while continuing to lesson our carbon footprint. We trust our team to serve our guests intuitively to ease the stresses of travel. I am so sorry that the Hotel Indigo was not what you were expecting. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future.

Warmest Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is right off of the freeway which made it perfect for me, as I came to it from The Highlands, NC, on may way BACK to Ohio! I was greeted by terrific people, my room was attended to by a sweet person, and i LOVED my end-of-the hall quiet, modern, room with a quiet air conditioner.

I walked into super cool downtown Asheville without thinking about my car and slept like a baby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeylazar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the world-class service from our boutique hotel in downtown Asheville. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you on your next visit.

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great hotel with a fantastic location and an awesome restaurant. All foods were locally sourced and fresh. Room was comfortable and well appointed. Service was excellent. Parking is a bit tight, so probably not a place for a large truck or trailer. Walking distance to antique shopping and the Orange Peel is right around the corner and a couple blocks down.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a high rise, so I'd say just stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SooperJeenyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are delighted that you had such an awesome experience with us in Asheville! For the convenience of any guests who may be uncomfortable navigating our parking garage, we have a professional valet service available. We look forward to serving you on your next visit!

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#20 of 66 in Asheville
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residences at Biltmore
#25 of 66 in Asheville
1,230 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801-2632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: £111 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Our convenient downtown Asheville location allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing