We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & Underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I don't know how all the fabulous reviews of this hotel occurred. When I pay top dollar for a hotel, I expect top-notch service not walking into a tacky lobby and having the front desk person greet me by asking for a credit card and ID. Or having no one help us or even offer to help us with our bags. Seriously, rude.
Employees mostly looked sloppy and lazy and could barely muster a smile. Save the sweet blonde guy at the bistro. Room was sparse and furniture was beat up. Bed was hard and pillows were strangely squishy. Water pressure was almost non-existent though bathroom was large. No fridge or any other amenities.
I guess "going green" means charging an arm and a leg but not offering one to help.
Wouldn't stay there again if they paid me.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jaffa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

I am truly shocked to hear that you had such an awful experience with us. Intuitive, personalized customer service is our most important goal, and I am just devastated that you did not receive this during your visit. Please allow me to express my most sincere apologies. I would like to invite you to contact me directly so that we can identify specific areas to improve. Thank you again for your feedback, as it is invaluable to helping us improve.

Warmest Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
jbratcher@hlihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and shopping. The room was very big, clean, wood floors and with a mountain view. Everyone working in the hotel was very friendly. We were celebrating a birthday and the concierge made it special for us upon arrival. Big bathroom.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NorthSeaHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday visit with us in beautiful Asheville, North Carolina! Please let us know how we can serve you in the future!

Warm Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Overall it was a good experience to stay at the Indigo for 3 nights. Spanking new facilities, clean rooms and pleasing decor all around. Helpful and friendly staff make it a positive experience even though there were a few gaps in service. The first day our room was not made up until almost 4pm and only after we called several times. We were told it was because of the weekend check-ins.

The hotel could get a higher rating but for the very basic restaurant and bar facilities. That said, the access to downtown Asheville is easy -- a 5 minute walk! What's not to like about that?!

The friendliness of the staff make up for what is missing in the execution.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank SelectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback. Our team is the heart of our operation, and we are thrilled that their excellent service made up for some of the hiccups you experienced. If you would like to, I would encourage you to share more with me as to how we might improve our restaurant and bar offerings. We appreciate any insight you might want to share.

Warmest Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
jbratcher@hlihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Indigo while meeting up with some family over the weekend. The location is great, not the center of downtown, but still good, as Asheville is extremely walkable. The staff was super friendly, accomodating, and I had overheard them giving some great recommendations to other visitors as far as where to eat and what to do. The hotel itself is bright, eclectic, and very clean.The only real cons were that the bed wasn't very comfortable, and it was a little noisy being by the highway. Also, there was no refrigerator or microwave which was only a big deal to us because we have a baby and needed a way to refrigerate milk and warm it up. Other than that, we would certainly recommend staying here, and we're sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rdmerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for allowing us to serve your family on your most recent vacation to Asheville. We appreciate your feedback so much, as it helps us identify areas that we need to improve. It would be our absolutely pleasure to serve you on any future trips to Asheville.

Warmest wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very modern and clean hotel situated in the downtown Asheville. Great but not overbearing service. A short walk to plenty of shopping and restaurants. Dog friendly which was a concern but we have been twice and is well managed. Have been twice now and will continue to visit this great hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are so humbled to be your favorite hotel in downtown Asheville! We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Warm Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice, clean, modern hotel well located in downtown Asheville, with free parking. We had a room high up with views over Asheville. The room and bathroom were lovely, and I loved the HUGE shower. It was good to have a pod coffee maker in the room. Great choices for breakfast and our waiter was charming. The only minus point is that it is dog-friendly. I like dogs, but I don’t like the smell of them sitting next to me at breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RedSoxGirl_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for sharing such wonderful observations with us. While our boutique hotel is dog-friendly, our Bistro is not, so I apologize that a pup slipped our notice. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Asheville.

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel was just what we needed. Close to downtown, easy parking, clean and well appointed room. The service was excellent here. Left a computer cord, it was found, and mailed to me. Thank you, Rene McElreath, for the special care and attention to this. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Larucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words! Rene is truly a gem. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Warmest Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#20 of 66 in Asheville
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
307 reviews
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801-2632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: £80 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Our convenient downtown Asheville location allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing