We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“customer service lacking”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed while traveling for a sporting event in which the event required we book through a hotel manager (Traveling Teams) that managed several hotels and placed the teams participating in the event. We were unfortunately placed at Country Inn. I read the reviews and expected an uneventful weekend. When we arrived, we were placed in a king, even though my printed confirmation clearly showed double/double. The receptionist told us that our confirmation was wrong (it was in black and white)! We insisted on a double double due to a medical condition and were told that since we booked through the contracted company, they could not help us. Again, we had no choice in the contracted company as all sport participants were required to go through Travel Teams Company. If Country Inn wasn't willing to agree to the contracted company, they should have never entered the agreement with the event! We asked to be switched with someone else who had not yet arrived but we were also assured by the receptionist that everyone else checking in after 8:30 pm would be assigned a king and no double/doubles were remaining. While waiting for Country Inn to find another hotel for us, a team mate arrived AFTER our check in and was given a double double. It was only a mother/daughter and they were happier with the king anyway so we switched on our own.....no help from the front desk! If you want customer service, you are better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashevillewest, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear S.R.
I wanted to reach out and make sure you knew the entire story. It appears some information has been witheld from you. The organization that you booked through cancelled your original reservation on 03.21.14. and it appears that they did not alert you. they orignally negoiated 20 rooms with us and sent over a rooming list with 22 rooms attached. As this weekend had been sold out for many weeks in advance, I have no wiggle room. I informed the organization that 2 rooms would have to be removed. One of the rooms was yours. It appears that the organization did not alert you that they cancelled the room. The "black and white" confirmation you had was from them and not Hotel generated and we had no idea that you did not know that they cancelled your 2 bedded room. On the date that they cancelled the room, a reservation for C. A. was booked online for a Studio Suite. THIS reservation was changed on 4.10.14 to your name via an outside source i.e. the Hotel did not change the name. When you arrived to the Hotel and stated your name, we only had the Studio Suite in your name. I honestly believe we both got slighted with this deal. We were asked to provide a Studio Suite, and did, and you were under the expectation that you had a room with 2 beds, and you didn't...both of these actions were perpetrated by others and not the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    479
    125
    43
    17
See reviews for
664
795
64
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Homosassa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Asheville based on the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. Boy were they right! We were very warmly greeted as soon as we walked in and it just got better. We were upgraded to a King Suite; the room was absolutely spotless; and it even smelled great. A great place to stay and I highly recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

First I would like to say that the online prices were cheaper than the price quote we got when we arrived at the hotel. We checked online and price was 86 per night. Price at hotel after arriving was 90. I asked about the discrepancy and she matched the price. Hotel had a very stong perfumy odor. Smelled like patchouli fragrance. I am not sure if it was cleaning solution of a sprayed air freshener, but it was overwhelming and I did not like it at all. My husband said it smelled clean to him but it annoyed me as it seemed to be everywhere and was very strong. Rooms were very dark, rather depressing since there were only a couple table lamps. No over head lighting. Rooms were very clean though. Nice furniture and comfortable beds. Breakfast your standard continental breakfast. Nothing great, nothing bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onthemoveMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for the night on the way up the Blue Ridge Parkway. The reception staff although very busy were very helpful with information on places to see and places to eat. We were recommended Fatz Café just around the corner and it was excellent. The rooms are very clean tidy and the beds were nice and comfortable. The breakfast was just the usual fare and was ok, can't complain when it's complimentary but was very busy when we went for breakfast. There were plenty of restaurants in the area. Overall I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel was conveniently located and easy to find. It was also clean and well kept. But the best part was the staff! They were all very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again when we return to Asheville.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

very close to downtown Asheville and biltimore estate. the rooms were clean and modern. staff excellent helpful and very polite. decent breakfast, plenty of choices.
would definitely stay here again. 5 min drive to the parkway as well and the nc arboretum.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. The front desk staff was very friendly. They answer all of my questions regarding the stay. The hotel is very well maintained, the room was clean and the location was great. The stay was an excellent value and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
5.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,184 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
937 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 1914 Old Haywood Road, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#5 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#6 Family Hotel in Asheville
#7 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the newest hotels near Asheville, the Country Inn & Suites West Asheville Hotel Biltmore Estate. Our Biltmore-inspired hotel features French decor, a tranquil waterfall feature and a French gazebo overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel is conveniently located near Interstates 26 and 40, just minutes from the beautiful Biltmore Estate, one of Asheville's most popular tourist attractions, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Biltmore Mall and Asheville Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville West Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing