We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service = zero”
Review of Olive or Twist - CLOSED

Olive or Twist
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Woodfin
Description: (formerly Decades Restaurant)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“service = zero”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Nobody even greeted us for over 5 minutes (sign says "Please wait to be seated"; time was about 7:45 PM)). A waitress finally told us to seat ourselves, or visit the wine tasting. The wine server had "nothing left", so we seated ourselves in a nearly empty section, so that we would be noticed. After a total wait of more than 15 minutes of being ignored, we left!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyLouS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    63
    23
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Trout”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had an extremely large party 30 people the service was fantastic and the trout was to die for , matter of fact planning on driving 70 miles back just for dinner!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsboro, nc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had a nice Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I arrived in downtown Asheville on a Sunday evening in mid-October. It was raining and we found this restaurant quickly and didn't want to spend time looking around for some place more elegant or romantic. This is large and spacious with at least four TVs displaying football games. But, we had a good experience. We were there before the young crowd arrived.

There was only one server handling all the tables and the bar. But, he was superb. He never seemed rushed and remained friendly and efficient and was even one step ahead of all our individual needs.

I had Mahi-Mahi and my wife had Crab Cakes. Both were served with a unique slightly sweet but delicious sauce. At some point my wife realized she hadn't ordered any vegetables as one of her sides, but our amazing waiter said no problem and arrived with an impressive bowl of some of the best broccoli and zucchini ever (as an extra - but no extra charge). My Mahi was absolutely scrumptious. Just the way a light white seafood should be - flakey, moist and delicious. My wife's Crab Cakes were nicely seasoned and tasty, but not not packed with big chunks of crab. We finished with Coffee, but I wish the Coffee had been a bit more recently brewed. But, no problem - the rain had abated so we walked down the street and found the Old Europe which had rich fresh Sumatran coffee which we had with a piece of Key Lime pie. Over all the evening turned out to be a nice experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton
1 review
“Bad choice”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Don't let the location fool ya. Wanted shrimp n grits, but shrimp did not come in so 2nd choice was ribs, guess what, no ribs 3rd choice ahi tuna..frozen steak, premade frozen salsa, frozen veggies...yuck..then ordered dessert..choose the cheesecake,,half way through it..wait for it.......saw MOLD on crust...was told they just got it in from Sysco...really? Waitress was unprepared, had to ask someone with every question we had, and to top it..bathrooms are filthy..I will never go back nor recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Live band and Dancing and awesome food”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I love to dance and this is the best place in the tri-state area to go. Olive or Twist is a place where folks 40 and up can feel comfortable and dance to tunes we recognize. The live bands are outstanding and the crowd is friendly. Everyone dances with everyone and the place has a definite cheers atmosphere-- everyone knows your name and the bartenders remember your fav drink.
The food menu is varied and really good. I like the chicken sate'.

Here is the schedule of bands:
Wednesdays: Free East Coast Swing dance lessons with Bobby Wood from 730pm-8pm
3 Cool Cats Swing Band featuring Rock and Roll tunes from the 50s and 60s from 8:00pm-11pm
Thursdays: Free Old School East Coast Swing Dance Lessons with Randy Bassham 730pm-8pm
Russ Wilson Swing Trio featuring Jazz dance tunes from 8:00pm-11pm Free/No cover
Friday: 3 Cool Cats Swing Band featuring Rock and Roll tunes from the 50s and 60s from 8:00-11:00
Saturday: 42nd Street Jazz Band featuring classic dancing music from the 20s, 30s and 40s from 8:30pm-11:30
There is no cover charge. I like the earlier hours-especially on weekdays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank titanxsw234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive or Twist also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing