We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, lofty, well located and best price”
Review of Sweet Peas Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sweet Peas Hostel
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
275 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Clean, lofty, well located and best price”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Let me start this review, first by telling you that at nights until 2am you are forced to hear loud music. There is a bar downstairs. Secondly, no alcohol is allowed inside the hostel.

The above two things did not bother me because all other things are awesome.

Well located, neat, clean place and big place, friendly staff, nice kitchen, free towel and extra blankets, free locker, and many other things that you may or may not find in other hostels.

Did I say it's well located? It's in the center of the city. You can reach many places in the city on foot. They don't have a parking but one can find free street parking close by. I think they have bikes for rent or free. Not sure about that.

It's basically a big loft with partitions and bunk beds. Personally, I like the lofty look. The living is big and comfortable to sit, relax and read. I found people staying there quite compared to other hostels. Probably, because they don't allow alcohol in the hostel. You know what alcohol does to people ;-)

Free tea and coffee :-)

Overall this is the best place to stay in Asheville.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlienTraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    45
    7
    11
    8
See reviews for
8
17
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Foremost, let me say that Sweet Pea is beautifully crafted, and it is staffed by friendly folks. It could not be more conveniently located. It is clean, and the expectations for customer behavior is well-implemented. So why only a two out of five? The noise. Lexington Avenue Brewery, owned by the same people that own the hostel, adjoins, and the bone rattling shaking of music lasts until 2:00 am every night. It was so loud that, despite ear plugs, I could not sleep until the bar staff left at about 2:30. I measured the noise with a decibel meter on my phone, and it never got below 50 decibels. The bass translated through the structure, literally causing the walls to shake.

If not for the noise, Sweet Pea would be incredible, an easy 5 out of 5. As is, it's barely tolerable. Upon inquiring after this issue, someone associated with the hostel admitted that they could never sleep there. This person said that it was fine for the heaviest of sleepers or for partiers, but it was not good otherwise. Agreed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was my first time staying at a hostel. Wow, what a treat, if you're doing a trip solo or with a group of adult friends. I would not recommend this place for younger kids. But this hostel was inexpensive, clean, and had a lot of nice features to include wifi. Keep in mind, this is like living in an open bay to a degree, like military basic training, but much better. It as centrally located to all the great eating spots and bars. You could walk to the cool spots in less than 20 minutes. If I'm ever in Ashville again without my family, this is the place I will go. Keep in mind, if you drive, there is a parking garage located right in front of it. Parking will run you $10/day.

Room Tip: Bring slippers, do not walk around barefoot. It's against the rules, but people were doing it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvin3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights as was visiting a friend in the area. Great location- everything to see/do is very close by! Very, very clean- you can tell whoever runs this hostel takes pride in its appearance. It could get slightly noisy at night from the bar next door- this didn't really bother me as I was out most of the time but as the rooms were open plan from the kitchen you could hear everyone in the morning getting up. The only 1 negative was one of the ladies on reception could be pretty rude and unfriendly at times, other than that great hostel and would return!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I decided to step outside my comfort zone a bit and try something new. The Sweet Peas Hostel was my first foray into the hostel experience. A short walk to local fare. An easy bike ride to anywhere, pubs and eateries abound. I liked it and particularly liked the staff. They weren't shocked by the guy with grey hair showing up at there door step. You can listen and learn some interesting stories by the people that travel via Hostel. Hotels are boring, hostels are hot! In my opinion, you should try a Hostel for the experience alone.

Oh and by-the-way, I see from other reviews that some people gave sweet peas a single " * ". I have no idea where these people were staying but it wasn't sweet peas. Come on, it's a hostel, it's not the Ritz.

Room Tip: Get a pod for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

They are upfront with how noisy it is, so it is hard to complain about that. The hum and vibration of the nightlife from downstairs ends around 2 am. (I felt like I was sitting on the engine of a large ship or airplane--that kind of noise.) But if anyone is up and about in the hostel, you will hear that as well. The wood floors and layout provide no chance for quiet or a good night of sleep.

But, if you don't mind that, this is a very clean and safe place, cheap--right in the heart of downtown Asheville. The room where the showers are is co-ed, but each stall is private and locks. Separate bathrooms for male/female. I did not have to wait for a bathroom or shower. They offer bunk rooms, private pods or private rooms. I was in a private room and appreciated having my own sink and mirror in the room. Private rooms do not have any windows, so they are very dark. I believe the bunk rooms have a lot of natural light in them and one set of bunks faces windows--so depending upon your preference, you may want to ask about that when you are making a reservation.

The "23 Rankin Ave" address put in your GPS should lead you right to it. Parking is directly across the street and affordable for a downtown location. You will need to drive if you are going to Biltmore Estate, but can walk anywhere else. When you first arrive, there is a call button. They will buzz you in. Walk in and follow the hall all the way to the end. Door on right leads you to the desk. After check in, you will have a key card to get in and out. No curfews.

The lady at the desk was nice and friendly. There is someone on staff at all times--if they aren't at the desk you can knock on their door if there is a problem. Nice laundry facility and kitchen facilities--fully stocked. Again, everything very clean.

There were extra blankets set out by the laundry room. I would recommend grabbing one--it gets chilly at night. Plenty of outlets for charging your electronics.

Very lovely place, nicely decorated. This was my first experience with a hostel and it wasn't bad. I much prefer luxury, but if it isn't in the budget, this is a nice alternative.

Check out by 11:30. They provide a laundry bag for you to place your linens and towels in. Leave that by the laundry room on your way out. There is a drop box to leave your key.

Room Tip: Two people can share a private room--may be cheaper than two bunks. BOOK EARLY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momsterof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Very disappointed with the customer service while trying to make reservation. Was told to call back at a specific date since they don't take reservations many months ahead. Called back to confirm this in coming up to the time. The website clearly states (as of right now) that reservations don't open up until 10am. Once I was able to reach the front desk after 10am, I was informed that they had been taking reservations since 9am and were nearly sold out. Voicing my complaint the woman said she "had no time" to deal with my issue. I might not be able to make my trip now since most of the area is booked up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Peas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Peas Hostel

Property: Sweet Peas Hostel
Address: 23 Rankin Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a newly renovate historic building in the heart of downtown Asheville. We are a European style hostel and a great alternative to a hotel for travelers on a budget. Our beds start at $32 per night and we are clean and comfortable with friendly knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweet Peas Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing