We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder Couple's Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bittersweet Cottage & Suite
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed! Cottage was beautiful, clean, with wonderful amenities and lots of perks (breakfast in the fridge, gourmet kitchen, plenty of towels, robes). The best part is the view - Unbelievable! You can see the mountains and the City overlook, not only from the deck, but the hot tub and even the living room couch! The second best thing is the Privacy - despite the great location (only minutes from downtown), you feel totally secluded in the cabin. Highly recommend this cabin for couples!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmithNCtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked Bittersweet Cottage as a rest stop after we celebrated our daughter's destination wedding in Georgia. We could not have been better pampered. Matt met us at the cottage to give us details on the property and advice on where to get food, services, etc. He was very hospitable, Thanks! We were amazed by all the incredible quality that was thoughtfully added to this private cottage. First, the location is just a quick 5 minute drive to needed stores and a few minutes to Asheville itself, but it is secluded with no other houses or properties nearby so you get a completely private place all to yourself. Second, the home is filled with top of the line everything, from chef quality pots and pans, nice dishes, fully stocked seasonings, candles, towels for the hot tub, towels for the bathroom, coconut soaps for handwashing (coconut is known as a relaxing scent) and even a spearmint sage soap to take home. Also, robes were available that were soft and comfy and there were packaged nice slippers as a take home gift. The lighting was a combination of stained-glass styles, unique lamps and nicely placed overhead lighting. The shower had a 1/2 wall of glass block with a spacious area for showering and then a full outer wall of glass block to bring in the great outdoors lighting while giving privacy. The bed linens were so soft and soothing, I looked at the label (Target organic) and went directly to the store once home to purchase my own set. The couch was a soft leather large unit that was so comfortable it was hard to leave it. There were architect designs that were artfully done throughout the home (one owner is an architect) and is done in an arts and crafts style I believe. We enjoyed the hot tub with wine and fruit from the beautiful bountiful bowl of fruit left on the counter. This gave us needed time to replay the wedding weekend and events. We had a stunning view of downtown Asheville from one side and waterfalls and great landscaping with a koi fish pond in the other direction. My husband is a landscape architect by training so appreciated the lush plantings and great rock work done on the walls and steps. At night, there were red/yellow old fashioned Christmas lights hanging in a design on the walkway above the bridge you cross to get to the cottage that was so playful and artfully done. We got take out at the Fresh Market and for $21 had a dinner of Thai chicken curry soup, a Margherita pizza and creme brulee. What a great feast. Sleeping was easy and it was quiet and so soothing. The morning light brought silhouettes of trees through the blinds for a nice visual. Breakfast included juice, coffee, two big muffins, the fruit and six eggs, plenty. We had planned to hit the road early as we had a long drive ahead, but we stayed enjoying the cottage until checkout at 11. Thank you SO much for allowing us a piece of heaven in this cottage. If and when we get back to Asheville we will want to revisit your sweet place.

Room Tip: Loved the cottage. They have a smaller space a distance away nearer to the road for a lower rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhodes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I've stayed in both cottages and always had an amazingly peaceful and fun time. The two cottages are completely different in decor; Arts & Crafts or Asian, but completely consistent in delightfulness. Accomodations are simple but complete; towels are soft, bed linens comforting, breakfasts nourishing. The hosts are more than helpful; giving as much information and personal suggestions as you want or need. We LOVE this place!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi is soothing and the view is unparrelled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is a the perfect place to go and relax and enjoy the scenery. It was close enough to get into Asheville and enjoy dinner, shopping, art, breweries etc, but secluded enough to enjoy nature. The kitchen is well set up and made cooking a nice meal possible. Stephen and Matt are great hosts, meet all of your needs and then unless you need them, you are left to your privacy. Perfect on every level.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights in the suite. For my wife and I, who are both small, the place fit perfectly. But if you are larger, or travel with much luggage, you may find the quarters a bit tight – everything fits exactly so without much extra open space. As I said, for us, it was perfect: a private deck with views south over Asheville; clematis, russian sage, a nice garden around the place, comfy furniture, nice kitchen. I recommend it and will stay again if I’m in the area.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank merepitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Found Bittersweet online looking for a private get-away near Asheville. Although it was pricier than I normally would spend compared to high-end hotels in downtown there was no comparison! The cottage was immaculate and comfortable. The view from the deck and hot tub were spectacular!! Stephen and Matt had the kitchen stocked with a few breakfast items, but there's a grocery at the bottom of the hill and we stocked up for the weekend...grilled steaks, had breakfast and coffee each morning on the deck overlooking Asheville and the mountains. The hot tub was a perfect spot to relax and enjoy the views as well.

The property is on site with their home, but the excellent landscaped path, waterfall, and bridge made you feel miles from anyone else!

We will definitely come back here again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a getaway near Asheville!!

Mike & Tom
Louisville, KY

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This place was so lovely that I almost hate to review it for fear that everyone will want to stay there. The location is gorgeous, the decor is flawless. We arrived to find muffins, bananas, eggs, butter, etc. waiting on us. There's a full kitchen and grill if you feel like cooking, but mainly, you'll just want to turn on the gas fireplace and curl up on the couch with a book and a cup of tea. You can watch the fog clear over Asheville or observe the wildlife that traipses through the yard-- we saw a group of wild turkeys. Sadly, Matt said they have their place on the market. If I had 1.9 million, I'd gladly take it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite, which was more than enough room for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bittersweet_10, Owner at Bittersweet Cottage & Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

Thank you St. Louis! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. As to having the property on the market. It is now off the official market. Sales in Asheville are particularly flat right now so, if you are interested in staying at Bittersweet please go right ahead and make that reservation. I suspect that we will be here for quite some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
5.6 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 66 in Asheville
1,218 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
4.1 mi away
Asheville Swiss Chalets
Asheville Swiss Chalets
#3 of 21 in Asheville
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bittersweet Cottage & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bittersweet Cottage & Suite

Address: 460 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-1709
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range: £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on scenic Elk Mountain just ten minutes from downtown Asheville, Bittersweet Cottage & Suite is the romantic getaway you have been searching for. Combining a private and peaceful setting with commanding views of Asheville and the Blue Ridge Mountains beyond, Bittersweet offers every amenity geared to your total relaxation. Choose from our completely renovated Arts-and-Crafts style cottage, or our Asian-inspired suite - both of these one-bedroom accommodations are beautifully appointed and fully stocked for the discerning guest. If you are traveling with another couple please consider renting both cottage and suite to enjoy the best each has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bittersweet Cottage And Suite
Bittersweet Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing