We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good music and drinks”
Review of TallGary's Cantina - CLOSED

TallGary's Cantina
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Enjoy traditional Mexican favorites right in downtown Asheville. Warm, fun, friendly atmosphere with great margarita's and local/regional beers available on tap. Live Music on weekends. Outdoor seating spring, summer and fall. Locally owned and operated.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good music and drinks”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Never tried the food but this has always been a great place for live music and drinks. Will be back again and again and I need to try the food.

Helpful?
Thank 7turns7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    6
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
johnosn city
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“food good service was great”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

went to Tall gary's, every place was packed but this one, we had nacho's and wings. we sat by the window a gentle breeze flowing gently threw the window, this was very nice. this place is not outrageously expensive but the food is nothing to brag about either. Its a local pub for late night partyers. Ezra was our waiter and he was excellent, never waited for anything and had a great personality he was great fun. If your looking for a great food experience this is not it. you want a place to hang out have a beer eat a snack and watch the down town antics that go on in Asheville this place will do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a waste”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I visited Asheville downtown and the city was packed. All the restaurants we wanted to try were packed full and we couldn't even get in let alone find a seat.

We almost gave up on "independent and local" downtown to go to a chain when we just stumbled into TallGary's. I wondered why the place was nearly empty. Well, to start the beer is from the tap WARM. The food looks like something you'd cook at home. The taco beef tasted fresh out of an old el paso taco dinner kit. The burger was ok, but the fries were clearly frozen and low quality. Just paid and left. Sucked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lackluster food and poor customer service”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I decided to check out TallGary's Cantina last night with a co-worker. The restaurant/bar is in the same location as the old College Street Pub from many years ago. The smell of cigarette smoke (although no smoking has been permitted inside for years), fried food and stale beer permeates the main room. I ordered 2 beef tacos. They were very bland. We shared some tortilla chips and queso which were very disappointing as well. To top it off when I went to pay and presented my AshevilleDeal.com coupon (kind of like a Groupon) the manager said that they had new ownership and would not accept the coupon. I paid for it online! And I mentioned the coupon to the waitress prior to ordering. If there was any issue they should have mentioned BEFORE we placed our orders. They simply would not accept the coupon, the food was lousy and the customer service fell short. I don't see them lasting very long in this local competitive restaurant market. Don't waste your time going to this place unless you are only going for a $3 beer special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Owner/manager Nick is wonderful behind the bar!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We were in town visiting for the weekend and weren't sure where to have some afternoon drinks. Nick was very friendly, knowledgable about the beers and a delight to deal with!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenniG20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TallGary's Cantina also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing