We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tapas”
Review of Curate

Curate
Ranked #4 of 792 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton Avenue
Transit: Asheville Transit provides bus service throughout the City of Asheville and other local areas with 24 bus routes running from 6 a.m.-11:30 p.m., Monday - Saturday. Routes originate at Transit Center, located 49 Coxe Avenue in downtown Asheville (next to the U.S. Post Office). On-duty information assistant provides assistance with maps & schedules.
Description: THE BEST OF SPAIN, conveniently located downtown Asheville! Curate is pleased to bring the best Spain has to offer through our traditional cuisine, unrivaled hospitality and festive, energetic atmosphere. In Spanish, Curate, means 'cure yourself.' Whether you're looking for a fun-filled evening out with friends or a quick bite before or after one of Asheville's many art or music productions, Curate is the place you go to take care of yourself, by letting us take care of you. Please join us for some fun...Just say "una cana!"
Asheville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Tapas”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Four of us visited Curate for a celebratory dinner and we tried almost everything on the menu. We all enjoyed the tapas. We then tried ALL of the desserts on the menu and found them to be quite bland, and lacking in texture (everything was mushy).
Overall the experience was nice, but next time we will celebrate at Zambras...the atmosphere, the service ,and the food is more our style.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank habrannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,664
    494
    175
    46
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We were in Asheville for a spa weekend at the grove park inn and this was our only venture out of the resort. Well worth it. We had sangria made at the table, very refreshing. It's a small restaurant with a long tapas a bar. Reminded us of Spain. Since there were 5 of us and we sat at a table in the back a little away from the action. We each ordered 3-4 small plates to share with the table so we had a great variety. Favorites were the pork, the omelet, the clams,the calamari .....on and on!every thing was wonderful. Our server was great. He kept the tapas coming a the perfect pace and brought clean individual plates frequently. If we had any complaints the white asparagus was a little mushy. Wish we'd saved room for dessert. Even with all the dishes we ordered the bill was reasonable, about $40 per person including the wine. Go,have fun

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1051carolinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Valley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Restaurante Puro Espana”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

As a foodie ... I do not think that I have ever been to a restaurant this side of the great pond that exclusively offered Spanish wines with such "exclusivity." My knowledge of Spanish wines is limited to the advantage of Riojas in regards to price point and palate enjoyment especially combined with the Spanish varietal Temperanillo. This is real big boy competition for the California and French Cabs and blends. Yummy yummy, as was the fired eggplant ... love the noun Aubergine rather than the previous term. The service was upfront, friendly and informative
interchanging with a large happening crowd. The stool to action view was great so sitting up front looked like fun.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoelJefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We enjoyed an early meal of shared tapas. With the help of a local, we were armed with a menu with dishes marked to try. The spanish omelet and cheese plate were delicious, but my favorite was the tomato and tuna salad with greens, absolutely wonderful! Be sure to make advance reservations for dinner, because this popular spot fills up quickly. They say sitting at the bar is fun, but it looked a little crowded to me.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando, florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“YUM to the 10th degree! Please visit.”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I went to this small but energetic SPanish style tapas restaurant for our anniversary. We got a reservation and asked to be put in the back where it is quieter and more private. They did just that. The food-absolutely delicious and fresh. We had their own cured olives, bread, cheeses, homemade Sangria, garlic shrimp, fried eggplant with honey and rosemary, etc...the list goes on and on. They also surprised us with an awesome "glass" sculpture for our special occasion that was actually made out of sugar and fruit zests and was so delicious. Overall, we only end up spending around $80 before tip and I didn't even list all the food we had. (each dish is smaller portions meant to be shared between two people generally btw). You will not be disappointed. A gem in downtown Asheville!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayray2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curate also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Curate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing