We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Make no mistake, this is a bare bones hotel. But it is clean and safe, with a friendly staff and pretty little pool, and right downtown, walking distance to all the great shops, restaurants and pubs. If you can get a good rate at Hotel Indigo, by all means stay there. If you want to stay in downtown Asheville for under $100 a night, this is your place! We've stayed here twice now and will be back. (If you're conned a out street noise, just ask for a room at the back.)

Room Tip: High floor, mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Asheville. The staff was very nice. The room was clean and was all we needed. It even had a mini refrigerator and microwave. The pool looked clean and was cool retro. If you want all the fancy amenities, then this isn't for you. If you want a safe, clean, great location, Anderson very good customer service then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroomerLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The rooms were very clean, the hotel itself is dated but there was constant work being done, as if to be making updates on the outside. The breakfast area was clean and the pool was nice (although cold).. The rooms had a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Definitely worth the money and we would stay there again.. Within walking distance of everything downtown, wonderful restaurants and bars!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank cowgirl2ride4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We wanted a place that was reasonably priced and within walking distance to the local breweries and restaurants in Asheville. This is exactly what we got with this hotel. The price was perfect, location was right in downtown and the room was clean. The hotel staff was very nice and accomendating. We asked for a room on the poolside of the hotel to avoid the somewhat noisy steet side and got one. The room was slightly outdated and the bathroom could use a little rework but everything was clean and in working order. We would stay here again when we are back in Asheville.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trzaskos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you're on a budget or there to go brewery hopping, this is great. If you're looking for an upscale hotel, keep looking as there are several in town.

BUT - if you are satisfied with essentially clean rooms, and several good amenities, then this is the place for you - think of RR Inns or any other in that category. Let's face it, it's an old building but there is not really anything wrong with it.

Each room has a fridge and microwave which was impressive as you don't find this at a lot of inns. This makes the stay very convenient - but there was no ironing board or iron - I think you had to request these from the front desk. Walls are somewhat thin though but for the most part if the air or heat is running you can't hear them.

I was there for a weekend with friends to tour the several breweries (guy's weekend of drinking and bars) and this worked out great for us b/c everything was less than a half mile, some less than 2 blocks away and the price was very reasonable - we paid for the weekend what we would have paid per night anywhere else. Looks are deceiving but it is safe, with secure parking. It is an old hotel but they work to make it a good stay and once there I had no issues with the staff or the building. Continental breakfast is very impressive and more than what I expected with fresh fruit, juices, coffee, yogurt, oatmeal and cereals and a very large selection of pastries and breads.

I did have an issue with the manager who did not appreciate the fact that I was upset due to a mixup on their part and giving away one of my reserved rooms - they did accommodate me with another room and roll away at no charge but could not explain (other than a mixup on someone in my party making a mistake - which was inaccurate) how or why they gave away a room without notifying me. I would recommend ensuring by phone several times up to the day you go that your reservation is in tact. Call me crazy, but better safe than sorry. It was a busy weekend with the Independence Day holiday, and there was a wedding in town so I'm sure there was overbooking. Just a word to the wise.

All in all - I would plan on going back here if/when I go back to Asheville.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are along the street and rooms that are on the other side of the building - I b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a perfect location for getting around. You can easily walk downtown to shops and restaurants. The hotel allows pets for an extra $10 a night. It is clean, quiet, and friendly. I'll definitely stay there again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We ended up in Asheville by chance after a great day's motorcycle ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Came across the hotel by chance and it was perfect. Right next to the bars and restaurants in downtown (or is it uptown in Asheville?!), a really great scene, and just what we needed after riding our Harleys through 380 miles of curves. The hotel itself is OK, but staff were good, room was clean, and the free secure parking location and price make this a great deal. Comp breakfast was welcome.

Room Tip: High floor - my golden rule! South side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themotorcycleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: £66 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing