We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Southport, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel is in the ideal location if you want to leave your car and walk the downtown area. It is convenient to all restaurants, shops, etc. It is a few minutes drive from the Visitors' Center and 10 minutes from the Biltmore and Biltmore Village. Breakfast included a variety of things such as make -your-own-waffles, sausage, biscuits, eggs, cereal. pastries, breads, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit and of course beverages. Check-in was quick and easy. Yes, the rooms and hotel as a whole are dated but clean and we only paid, with AAA discount $71.00 per night.floors. The pool looked very nice but we didn't use it. Reading previous reviews this hotel was exactly what I expected.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the mountains are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndlessSummer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    249
    118
    53
    53
See reviews for
87
276
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is certainly not the most modern, luxurious hotel in Asheville. But it is very affordable, clean and close to everything downtown. The location can't be beat - it's right across the street from Jack of the Wood and steps from the Thirsty Monk. It's an easy walk to any of the shops, restaurants and breweries downtown.
The room was a decent size, we easily fit four people. There was a fridge and microwave, and a nice big vanity area right outside the bathroom. The tile in the bathroom was definitely a little nasty. And the blankets on the beds were scratchy. But it was overall clean and quiet.
The pool area is very nice - private and clean.
The free continental breakfast was expansive - waffles, bagels, fruit, cereal, eggs etc. The lobby and room where the breakfast was served are definitely in need of renovations.
It's a great location and a great price. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel is located very close to most of the activities to see and do downtown, but you get what you pay for. You can park your car and walk to just about anywhere. The rooms are dated, and a little threadbare, but they are sufficient if you just need a place to park your head for a few hours. The staff are helpful, but not a place to take the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip196672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have two chocolate labs (each 70 lbs) and finding hotels who will welcome them can be difficult. Truthfully, we chose this hotel because of their pet policy and because it is relatively inexpensive. We didn't really care too much about how nice the rooms were. The hotel is close to the main attractions in downtown Asheville, including great restaurants and bars. Looking back, even if we didn't have the dogs, the location would have sold us. If you are going to have some drinks and don't want to have to drive, this is the place to stay. I think many of the guests were there for this purpose (although to be fair, we did stay during the weekend!).

The room was not fabulous but also not horrible. It was very clean for a pet-room which we definitely appreciated. However, the small details in the room reminded us that we were in a cheap hotel. Nothing awful, just not high-end. The bed was comfortable and the room was large enough that we didn't feel as though we were on top of each other, even with the dogs. The A/C was loud and the room was a little damp smelling. Again, though, for the price, we were fine with all of this.

There is no real green-space around the hotel which was a bit of an issue for our dogs. There is a bank across the street with some grass that our dogs used in the mornings and evenings. Make sure you take your poop bags with you to clean up after your dog!

There were a lot of "questionable" people lingering around the area. This may be because the bus depot was just across the street or it may be simply because of it's downtown location. I never felt unsafe with any of these people but it may bother others if they are not used to urban settings. (We saw several people sleeping on the sidewalk close to the bus depot and around the bank where our dogs used the grass. We also witnessed many "casualties" of a night of partying who were roaming the streets around 6:00 AM when we were walking the dogs. One in particular vomitted in each trash can as he walked down the streeet! Lol! :))

All in all, if we were to return to Asheville (which we loved!) we would consider staying at this hotel again. The price is good and their pet-friendly policy cannot be beat! Although we took our dogs with us everywhere we went, the hotel does permit guests to leave the dogs in the room while they are out. This is not something many other hotels allow. If you are staying with your dogs, I would recommend this hotel. There are a few other hotels downtown but I doubt they are anywhere near as reasonably-priced as this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to elevator #2 to prevent having to go through the lobby every time you leave y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatelabmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We went to Asheville for my friends bachelor party and booked two rooms at the Downtown Hotel. I have stayed here before, never having an issue with the staff. One night when we came home we decided to smoke cigars outside on the balcony. A manager came and told us to go inside or we would be “evicted”. So after an hour we went inside out rooms. Later one of our friends walked outside to deliver something to the other room when the manager came by and saw him. He then informed us we were being ‘evicted’, told us we had 15 minutes to pack up, and proceeded to call the police. A very friendly police officer arrived (shout out to officer Morgan) and informed us we had to leave. He told us this happens all the time when this specific manager is on duty. He knew we were not being out of control as we had a rational conversation with him. I would also like to add the manager let loud topless women into the pool at the same time we outside smoking our cigars. Additionally there were no complaints about our noise, a fact that he admitted himself. To top it all off he did not allow us to sleep in our cars in the parking lot, so we were forced to sleep in another parking lot. Officer Morgan was very helpful and had the quote of the night, “If I had to sleep in a parking lot downtown this is definitely the one I would choose.” This was a very unfortunate experience as I have stayed here before and the younger managers have always been helpful. We did get our money back quickly the next day, proving how ridiculously this specific manager is. Im giving this stay a 'Poor' not terrible only because this is an awesome story to tell.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is within walking distance of everything in downtown Asheville. You can just park your car (they have a private lot, another plus) and leave it and walk everywhere. This place isn't fancy; it's very generic, so if you're looking for character or frills, you won't find it here. But for the price (between $89-100 a night), you get a lot of bang for your buck: excellent location, with mini-fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker in room, private parking lot, wi-fi, breakfast, and a pool. We stayed on the very top floor and had a great view of the mountains and almost zero street noise. The front desk clerks were very helpful, and we were very comfortable during our stay. I would definitely use this hotel again, if only for the location and price point.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookstoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is the dirtiest hotel I've been too(and I travel often). Customer service is horrible and the night mananger looks and acts like one of the homeless people who surrounds this hotel.I seen 3 bugs crawling around in my roomand I had several bites all over my body when I woke up and have notified that bed bugs may be an issue. The so called "management" took it very personal and was extremely rude when I expressed these issues. I will tell you this....any hotel that has no corporate control(being that it is not ran by a corporation) then who do you complain too to get things resolved about health and cleaniness issues? That in its self should warn you....people who run a business that dont have someone to answer too then they just wont care. beware and stay away...FAIR WARNING. spend a couple more bucks and go elsewhere.....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Property: Downtown Inn & Suites
Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing