We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 20 August 2012

No frills hotel, but room was clean and comfortable. Great downtown location; you can walk to just about anywhere of interest. Staff was friendly and helpful in providing directions. Great value, especially when they give many options for discount room rates: AARP, AAA, military/govt. ID, etc.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is what it is, a place to sleep and shower between activities. The room we had was clean, if outdated. What you will receive here is friendly service, free breakfast, and a free place to park your car while you are walking around downtown. Granted, the free parking is VERY tight (no Suburbans), but if you want to pay $3, you can park in a nearby lot. I suggest that you drive a small car and check in early. This is not a froo-froo-fancy-shampoo kind of hotel. You will not be wearing a fluffy robe and drinking espresso. What you will be doing is staying downtown for under a hundred bucks a night. :)

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view - the street side is very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We've stayed several times at this very affordable hotel and will do it again and again. It is very clean, has a nice outdoor pool, and it offers an unusally good continental breakfast (including eggs, sausage, waffles, and bagels). Staff have always been friendly and attentive, and the manager Joline has always been very responsive to my occasional requests. Parking is free, and Location is a Real Big Plus if you like to indulge in this city's many nearby taverns. You can stay out as late as you want, and you never have to worry about a DUI.

Room Tip: If you do not mind the sound of water going into the pool, the mountain side rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cisco289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

No frills here but it is cheap and clean. The AC worked, the phone didn't. No bed bugs, or gross stains on the carpet even though they are pet friendly. The location is perfect. The one downside is the parking lot. The spaces are cramped and there are not enough of them. The staff was nice and our room was a steal, under $200 for a weekend stay! I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the end that faces the street. It was nice and the noise level was fine even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clkiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel is in the ideal location if you want to leave your car and walk the downtown area. It is convenient to all restaurants, shops, etc. It is a few minutes drive from the Visitors' Center and 10 minutes from the Biltmore and Biltmore Village. Breakfast included a variety of things such as make -your-own-waffles, sausage, biscuits, eggs, cereal. pastries, breads, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit and of course beverages. Check-in was quick and easy. Yes, the rooms and hotel as a whole are dated but clean and we only paid, with AAA discount $71.00 per night.floors. The pool looked very nice but we didn't use it. Reading previous reviews this hotel was exactly what I expected.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the mountains are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EndlessSummer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is certainly not the most modern, luxurious hotel in Asheville. But it is very affordable, clean and close to everything downtown. The location can't be beat - it's right across the street from Jack of the Wood and steps from the Thirsty Monk. It's an easy walk to any of the shops, restaurants and breweries downtown.
The room was a decent size, we easily fit four people. There was a fridge and microwave, and a nice big vanity area right outside the bathroom. The tile in the bathroom was definitely a little nasty. And the blankets on the beds were scratchy. But it was overall clean and quiet.
The pool area is very nice - private and clean.
The free continental breakfast was expansive - waffles, bagels, fruit, cereal, eggs etc. The lobby and room where the breakfast was served are definitely in need of renovations.
It's a great location and a great price. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoriCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel is located very close to most of the activities to see and do downtown, but you get what you pay for. You can park your car and walk to just about anywhere. The rooms are dated, and a little threadbare, but they are sufficient if you just need a place to park your head for a few hours. The staff are helpful, but not a place to take the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip196672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#30 of 66 in Asheville
323 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £67 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing