We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay, other than parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok stay, other than parking”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here with my mom while visiting my aunt for 3 nights. It was a basic no frills hotel. The only problem we had was parking on Saturday night. The lot right at the hotel was full, the attendant at the desk told us where the overflow lot is, so we drove there and it was full, also there were some people hanging out on the street across from it that seemed a little sketchy. We went back to him and he sent us to another lot with $3 to put in the pay box. However, the lot he mentioned had no such lot, we went back around and he assured us they did, that it was right in the front. After going back again, and still not seeing the box, we noticed there is pay parking at the bank right across the street and parked there for $5. The attendant did give us the other $2 but it was extremely frustrating and we let another guy, who was having the same difficulties as we did, know where he could park, since he had been doing the same running around we were.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank eee950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    251
    120
    53
    54
See reviews for
89
278
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This motel is a great value in a great location. It is definitely old and the lobby elevator is like stepping into a time machine. I admit I was worried the first time I stayed here but have several times since and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Despite the appearance it is clean and safe; never have a bad experience here and for the price you really can't ask for a better location. Walking distance to anywhere you'd want to be downtown. The biggest downside is the tiny parking area, but, it is free.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrknHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The current owners have done a great job improving/maintaining this hotel. Ok so it isn't new, bright and shiny. If you are looking for new and expensive, then this isn't for you.

You cannot beat the location or the price. Only steps from downtown. VERY safe even though the building and neighborhood looks rough. Park the car for free in their secure lot and be within walking distance to everything. When we visit somewhere we are only there to sleep. Very helpful and friendly staff. Very clean throughout. We had everything we needed, fairly large clean room, comfortable king bed! Clean bathroom, tv (remote worked great), fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

Breakfast is served everyday. The usual breakfast fare. We don't eat carbs so we visited the many restaurants close by. Always fun to try something local.

Ask to have a poolside room, that way you are away from street noise. Could never connect to the internet even though there was a strong wireless signal which was no big deal just tethered to my phone. This is a fantastic safe and clean place to stay. We have found a new place to stay when visiting Asheville/Biltmore

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room. It's much quieter than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatherpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

You cannot beat this location. I stayed here before going to a concert at the Orange Peel. The staff was friendly. We did not have any issues with noise or disruptions while we were there. The continental breakfast was adequate. Room was clean. My only beef with this inn was that the price was higher when I got there than when it was supposed to be. It wasn't much money, but still. I wasn't happy with that. Overall though, it is a good place to stay if you were like me and you were from out of state and wanted to do something downtown in Asheville without spending a ton of money on a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoodyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington nc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great location, have been staying here for years it has improved new bedding and furniture was a nice surprise. walk right into city and enjoy everything asheville has to offer. Parking can be a bit tight but they have an overflow lot only a short distance. No big deal for us.Breakfast is a great way to start the day many selections. from which to chose We always stay here when in Asheville and you should too. looking forward to our next vist soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niceguy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Situated directly downtown you couldn't ask for a better location within walking distance to everything! Staff si very friendly and helpful, even taking the time to circle places on the map they thought we'd enjoy. Rooms are clean and very comfy. Great views. Will stay here each time we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great location, but a bit pricey for such a cheap stay. Parking was super tight, but parking is a pain downtown anyways. So it was nice not to have to worry about it and just walk everywhere since it's located near everything including some night clubs and the grove arcade.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Property: Downtown Inn & Suites
Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing