We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Intro to Asheville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eating Asheville

Eating Asheville
Ranked #2 of 29 Food & Drink in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover incredible sights and tastes on our walking food tours with Asheville's ultimate foodies! Find out why Asheville is one of the nation's fastest growing culinary hot spots. From Asheville's most famous chefs to local favorites, our tours are always a blast! Join us as we eat, drink, and walk Asheville one bite at a time.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good Intro to Asheville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We participated in the High Roller tour on a recent Thursday, visiting six eateries within a few blocks of the meeting place. We enjoyed the experience overall. Stuart was our guide and was very knowledgeable about the restaurant scene in Asheville. Our group was a large one of 18 which is apparently the maximum size. The group really should be smaller to take advantage of some of the rather small establishments we visited. Of the places we visited, Cucina 24 especially impressed us with their corn risotto and overall menu choices. We would like to visit there to sample more of the menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NCtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    76
    19
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for first visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We did the high roller your on a Thursday with Stuart and a large group (about 18 people). We visited six sites including the gathering place. The restaurants were all in downtown Asheville all within a 5 minute walk from one another. I would have preferred different restaurants further apart.

The good at each spot was ok, but not amazing. Most single app for each restaurant. Each spot had a glass of wine. I am not a drinker, so that was wasted on me. I would have preferred better food.

Only at one stop did we get the chef. The other spots were either the sous chef or the manager.

We ended up getting dinner at one of the restaurant we tried, but Yelp would have also pointed us to the right direction. It would have been nice if the tour/restaurant offered returning toured customer a discount for dinner. Also, it would be awesome if the tour company can help clients get spots at the busier or hard to get places.

All in all, it's worth it for a first visit to Asheville, but probably not a second.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HonestViewHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Taste of Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with our Eating Asheville tour! A nice selection of foods, a little history and completely accommodated my vegetarian diet. If you are staying for a few days, do this early as there are many places you will want to return to!

Helpful?
Thank Christi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
“Eating Asheville Restaurant Tour - Great Fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have been vacationing in Asheville area off and on for a number of years and never took the time to really explore Asheville's culinary offerings. My wife found this tour when preparing for our vacation and it sounded like a lot of fun. We signed up for the "High Roller" option which offered 7 restaurants over about 2½ to 3 hours. Our guide was Hank who has had extensive experience in the restaurant industry and was quite knowledgeable about each of the venues as well as the town's history. The restaurants were great but Hank really made the tour enjoyable. The tour had a nice pace and arrangement, and was easy to do. Afterwards, we returned to several of the restaurants for dinner and drinks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archer, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“streets and eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We took the tour our first afternoon in Asheville. It was the perfect way to start the trip. Not only did we get to sample from several excellent restaurants but also were able to learn our way around the city. Hank- the guide- kept us entertained as we trekked from place to place with local history and lore. The cuisine was exemplary and special thanks to Korea House for the takeout- we had ample food for the day! I would definitely take this tour again and strongly encourage others to try it when they are in town. Enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eating Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Eating Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing