We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel in a great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asheville Hostel & Guest House
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was frustrated upon arrival as I thought that the owner was not answering the phone and we had to wait a while. Then I realised I was calling the wrong number. So once I called the correct number the owner was there almost immediately and we were able to check in. He was very helpful and went over some great places to check out in Asheville.

We were easily able to walk into the town area of Asheville and everywhere else was in easy driving distance. Parking was street parking but we had no trouble getting a park.

The room was clean and basic and suited us fine. We were very happy with our stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bethybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hostel was clean, secure, and comfortable. The owner personally shows you around the site upon arrival and maps out the city, restaurants, and entertainment based on your interests. The rooms are exactly like the pictures. Everything in the downtown area is walkable within about 15 minutes. The stairs squeak pretty loudly, so be aware coming and going. I could imagine this being obnoxious if you had the downstairs room next to the stairs, but I was in the room at the top of the stairs and had no problems.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArwenRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

let's be real you are staying in the middle of a beautiful city and is did very cheap cost and its clean well at least cleaner than most of the inns and motels around town this place is absolutely amazing and no camera in the kitchen that person is a pscho.

Room Tip: the manager will help you with any tips you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Between their website and photos on Facebook we knew what to expect and there were no surprises. Everything was as described and as promised. My husband and I stayed in the private room and there was ample room for parking. The room was small and only a curtain for a bathroom door but good location and clean place. Served it's purpose and we were happy with our choice and the savings! You can walk a few blocks either direction and get to restaurants and pubs/bars. That's what we really wanted and so this was a perfect fit for our simple needs.

Room Tip: Only reserve the private room with two adults total and make sure you're married or very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieKay8229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Very nice hotel! Rooms were clean, spacious and comfy. Staff was helpful and went out of their way to make sure everything was good. Close to the Biltmore Estates and Biltmore Village. Restaurant right next door. Next time I visit Asheville, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy3249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stopped in Asheville on my way to New Orleans. It was exactly what I needed after a long drive. Quiet, clean, convenient. I was welcomed with a discussion about local music happenings that night, and enjoyed the bluegrass jam, as well as asheville brewing for dinner before. i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We spent just a Friday night in April and we were satisfied with the service.. it was a sort of last minute booking.. so we can't complain. Really close to all the bars/stores/attractions of downtown asheville, walking distance, so you can park the car and forget about it. The owner will tell you and point out in a map all the options in the city. Security code at the door.. and we got the 3 ppl room next to the kitchen, but or the hostel was almost empty or everybody is really quiet because we heard no noise from our room... you can also do pancakes on your own in the kitchen. Nice choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silthalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Downtown Inn & Suites
Downtown Inn & Suites
#43 of 66 in Asheville
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Hostel & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Hostel & Guest House

Address: 16 Ravenscroft Dr, Asheville, NC 28801-3637
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range: £30 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Asheville's International Private Bedroom Youth Hostel & Guest House. Keyed bedrooms, shared lockable bathrooms. Tiny House is the only room with bathroom in room. Check pricing, availability and reserve online. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing