We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience for wedding party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent experience for wedding party”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My wife and I recently booked a block of rooms at the Renaissance in Asheville for wedding attendees. Our first contact was several months ago when we were deciding on a hotel. The hotel desk was happy to let us look at two rooms, escorted by a very helpful bellman. We were offered a very favorable contract on the rooms. Guests reported that they were well-treated on arrival by everyone they came in contact with. The hotel restaurant went out of their way to set up a really nice spot for the newlyweds and about 30 family members to have breakfast together. I would look forward to going back to the Renaissance in Asheville for almost any reason!

Room Tip: The hotel has "mountain view" and "city view" sides. Asheville is a cool city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pfafftonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    543
    311
    102
    34
See reviews for
271
549
59
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed here with a friend a couple of weeks ago for a few days. Upon arrival, I was treated like royalty and had an amazing experience. The hotel was undergoing some major renovations, which was understandable due to the fact that it is in the middle of their down season. Although parts of the hotel weren't accessible, the staff was extremely accommodating and treated me well. Josh and Shun at the front desk went the extra mile and made sure everything was up to par. The rooms were kept well and the location was great. I could not have asked for better hospitality and service, and would love to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in December and loved it! I could walk to everything in town and room was very clean, quiet and even though they were remodeling the restaurant downstairs, they made a great one upstairs which had nice views and the little bar up there was fun! The bed was comfy too. The staff were very very informative of the area and extremely helpful when asking for directions, or recommendations on where to go. Overall, I'd highly recommend this place to anyone. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejkopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Great view. Renovations on the ground floor means the restaurant has been moved to the concierge lounge which is closed - none of this mentioned on their website. I've spent over 120 nights in hotels in 2011 and this was by far the worst bed I've slept in this year. They did comp the room - so kudos for trying to make it right, but it was a tough night.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Smoky Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrvW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, SC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I attended a conference at the Grove Park Inn, but ended up staying at the Renaissance which was an excellent, affordable alternative. The Renaissance was well kept with nicely appointed rooms, perfect cleaning, and lovely surroundings. The walking distance to downtown Asheville made it perfect - so many fantastic restaurants, so little time! Enjoy your stay - no complaints!

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor available - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed at the Renaissance on a last-minute stop during pre New Year's visit to Asheville. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations of its lobby and restaurant areas and that will be welcome for a slightly dated property. The room we got was small for the price, but clean, well-appointed and comfortable. A bonus was it overlooked Thomas Wolfe's home immediately next door. The pros for this hotel are that it is easily accessible from the interstate, has lots of free parking and is in easy walking distance to Asheville's eclectic downtown dining, nightlife and shopping. Made a great launching pad for daytrip in Asheville. Not a luxury offering but a perfectly acceptable option for those wanting a downtown stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing toward downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullzfanzclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Be aware that if you stay at this hotel, watchout you stays around you. I was checking my bank account and found out that this hotel charged me for a "smoking fine" and I dont even smoke. They never said anything to me, or even called to ask if I was smoking. People on my floor might have been , but this is just bad business. When I called to ask about it a women on the phone was very rude and left me on hold for over 5 mins. I love Asheville and the people working there had no knowledge of the area. If you are going to Asheville please stay anywhere but here. There is a Four Points right across the street, and I curse myself for not staying there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
975 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Property: Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing