We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very happy here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were very comfortable in this hotel, the only problem being the rather old fashioned and very noisy air conditioning unit, which we had to switch off at night if we wanted to get any sleep.

We didn't eat dinner here, but the breakfasts were good, with freshly made eggs and waffles available.

The great thing is how close the hotel is to the centre of Asheville, with everything being within 15 minutes walk and plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby (especially if you go out of the back entrance, across the patio.) A plus is that the Thomas Wolfe House is just across the road too.

Reception were very helpful with safe deposit and storing bags on the last day and the little gift shop is great - I bought some unique earrings and a necklace. The lounge area is a great place to sit and drink one of the complimentary coffees. A bit warm near the standalone fire when we were there, but would be great on a colder day.

There is a computer where you can book in online for your flight, but no business centre if you want to surf the internet or check your emails and you don't have your own device with you.

Room Tip: Try to get one looking out over the Baptist Church or the Thomas Wolfe House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJLHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    512
    295
    96
    32
See reviews for
245
526
55
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is where my husband and I always stay when in Asheville. GREAT location - walking distance to shops and restaurants downtown, and FREE parking if you stay here! Great decor, clean, nice rooms, great staff, easy to find. Cannot go wrong with a Marriott, much less the Renaissance Asheville.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocofoodowineoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Last time we stayed at a B&B in Asheville and discovered we're not B&B folks. This property was formally an Omni Hotel before Marriott took it over. They've done some renovations, but it's still a work in progress. I think they're trying to complete with the Aloft across town. So the details follow so you can make your decision:

-Staff: I honestly dare you to find better in Asheville. It was pride weekend in Asheville (didn't know that before going, but fitting). Everyone in the hotel was exceptional. One of the managers came over to talk with us after the event (a concert) and I felt completely welcome and at home. The bar staff was exceptional and the front desk was ready with recommendations. There is a specific gentleman at the front desk who has a very strong southern accent....my initial reaction was "umm...maybe he's a good old guy and won't understand the pride thing or my situation." He was actually the most on the ball and wonderful person. His service to everyone was outstanding. I saw him walk out the back to point out exactly how a guest should drive to the back parking lot. Really above and beyond.

-The back patio: If you smoke and enjoy wine, it was finished by Friday and is a great place to hang out.

-Free coffee in the mornings in the lobby. No other comment needed.

-Rooms: It was a good sized room with comfortable beds and pillows and a nice view.

-Bathrooms: a wee bit small but fine. I would have liked Marriott to have spent the money to completely redo the bath tiles and not just patch them. The spray coating on the bath was also beginning to chip. Also, the shower on/off valve was loose. (room 805)

-Towels: lots of them and not too plush. Great for drying off.

Overall, I would stay here verses other places in town. Centrally located and an easy 5-8 minute walk to all that is Asheville. The staff really made it 4 stars. I'm not sure if the person I met was the hotel GM, but either way, they should be proud.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel in September and must say it is an incredible, top notch hotel! It is very close to everything downtown. The staff were outstanding and very cordial. Elegant, clean and the staff were top notch! Kudos to the management for making our stay so enjoyable. I will go back!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this superb hotel. You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very convenient, walkable to whole downtown and great ambiance in the lobby. Rooms were little small but good view of the mountains.
Front desk staff normally very nice except one or two person in the morning...who refused to even grant 30 minutes extra timing on late checkout request.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avmvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitesburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

If you wanna stay downtown Asheville NC this is THE hotel!! It is in the best location by far. It is an easy walking distance to all the fun, food, and action that downtown Asheville has to offer!! The hotel is Very clean and Beds was Super Comfy!! The desk staff was very friendly and helpful when asked about town and everything we needed!! Oh...and a nice plus..they have Aveda products in the bathrooms :) This will always be our Asheville hotel from here on out!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We arrived late to find that they are doing some remodeling -- painting etc -- outside. We booked the room with points so I was worried.we often stay with the Marriott brand, but I can't remember the last time I stayed in a Renaissance. We walked in and the lobby was really nice. Mountain view room was more of a city view, but spacious, really comfortable room. Aveda products! Nice workout facility and pool. We walked to breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Property: Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing