We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed two nights at the Renaissance and wish I could have stayed longer. My room was on the tenth floor with a beautiful view of the mountains. The bed, pillows, linens were immaculate and very comfortable. The room was well appointed and the bathroom fresh and bright. The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful. I stayed here a few years ago also, and was glad to see that their standards have remained high.

Room Tip: The entire hotel is non- smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClwMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

911 - 917 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nice hotel right in the middle of downtown Asheville. Walking distance to many restaurants, bars and other attractions in the downtown area. The bar and lobby area were nicely renovated. However, the rooms still could use a little work. They were very clean and well maintained but were a little outdated and a little old for our tastes. I see good things on the horizon for the hotel, though, if they plan to do more renovations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our trip to Asheville was wonderful! The hotel location made it very convenient to get to the Biltmore and Skyline Drive. We could easily walk to stores and restaurants downtown. I can't say enough good things about the staff, especially the bartender! The room was very clean and comfortable. Free, easily accessible wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Nice employees. Very helpful. Located in downtown and able to walk everywhere. Free parking. Clean facility. Can't go wrong with a Marriott. Room service was able to accommodate a special request. The bathroom is a tight squeeze but still up to date.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We just stayed at the Renaissance Asheville, it's an attractive hotel and it seems that they are booked frequently with conventions and meetings. We were there Tuesday through Saturday for a working vacation. First off, the rooms are really small, the closet door, the bathroom door and the door to the room all come together and hit each other. It's very crowded. There is not mirror in the room other than the bathroom. Ventilation is horrible, no fan in the bathroom and in order to keep the humidity down the thermostat was set at 68 degrees. It was a bit chilly. We moved it to 70 and the room become very stuffy and uncomfortable. The room really needs a ceiling fan or some other sort of ventilation. The room was not especially clean, the bathroom had been redone, and it was attractive, but the tub and shower enclosure were old and a little moldy looking, the faucet didn't work so well and there was a stained drop ceiling over the shower. I guess for what we paid, (which I thought was too much) this would have been a great room in NYC, there I could understand the issues the room has just because it's a big city. There is no excuse for the hotel to have the issues this one did other than plain old bad design. To add insult to injury I wound up with a raging case of strep throat the day we left and i wouldn't be surprised it I picked it up at the hotel. Plus several cars were broken into in the parking lot the morning we were leaving. We saw people vacuuming up broken glass. We have been to Asheville many times and for the money I say stay someplace like the Haywood Park Hotel. It an older hotel but the rooms are large and very clean and the location can't be beat. My husband booked the hotel this time and we agreed that neither of us would want to stay here again. And I'll also say this is the first time I've ever written a negative review, I'm pretty laid back and usually can find the good in just about any situation but i really felt that the rate we were charged for what we got was ridiculous. I'd hate for someone else to spend their money on this place unless it was being paid for by their work expense account.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eb447427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

We are so sorry that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay. Please call to speak with me as I would personally like the opportunity to make this right for you. I am here Wednesday-Sunday from 3PM-11PM.
Sincerely,
Michelle Porche'
Front Office Supervisor
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
828-252-8211

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were very comfortable in this hotel, the only problem being the rather old fashioned and very noisy air conditioning unit, which we had to switch off at night if we wanted to get any sleep.

We didn't eat dinner here, but the breakfasts were good, with freshly made eggs and waffles available.

The great thing is how close the hotel is to the centre of Asheville, with everything being within 15 minutes walk and plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby (especially if you go out of the back entrance, across the patio.) A plus is that the Thomas Wolfe House is just across the road too.

Reception were very helpful with safe deposit and storing bags on the last day and the little gift shop is great - I bought some unique earrings and a necklace. The lounge area is a great place to sit and drink one of the complimentary coffees. A bit warm near the standalone fire when we were there, but would be great on a colder day.

There is a computer where you can book in online for your flight, but no business centre if you want to surf the internet or check your emails and you don't have your own device with you.

Room Tip: Try to get one looking out over the Baptist Church or the Thomas Wolfe House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJLHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is where my husband and I always stay when in Asheville. GREAT location - walking distance to shops and restaurants downtown, and FREE parking if you stay here! Great decor, clean, nice rooms, great staff, easy to find. Cannot go wrong with a Marriott, much less the Renaissance Asheville.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocofoodowineoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#20 of 66 in Asheville
1,011 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Asheville Downtown
#39 of 66 in Asheville
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £124 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing