We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great locale”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Perfect locale for strolling Asheville. Nice staff, delicious breakfast buffet kept tidy and clean. Fitness room is better than many hotels and the pool looks very inviting.
Now that this is a Marriott affiliate, listen up Marriott---Renaissance coffee is MUCH better. (We have complained about Marriott coffee for years!)

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room for nice sunrise and mountains view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathypeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    531
    303
    98
    33
See reviews for
255
535
58
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Staff is great, rooms are nice but windows aren't big enough for me!
Consierge services on 12th floor are wonderful although is closes at times during the day which is unfortunate. Location is awesome for walking to restaurants and shops downtown. Be sure to make reservations at THE ADMIRAL while you are in Asheville. It is a must eat!

Room Tip: Views are beautiful from almost every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberSagester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We booked this hotel based on several tripadvisor reviews. The rooms and bathrooms were tiny, and the hotel while theoretically centrally located feels isolated from the main Asheville drag. The a/c unit kept firing off and was reason for a poor nights sleep. We couldn't get the temperature we wanted. The only redeeming quality was it's staff and attentiveness and politeness. For the price you pay, I would have expected a whole lot more. Will probably stay in the aloft downtown next time for prime location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Super location if your plans call for a downtown visit as everything is with a half a mile or so walking distance. Property is OK but lacks in a couple of areas...1) no business center and 2) bathrooms are very small. We really had no needs that called on the staff....I'd stay here again if I wanted to be downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airstrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The room was clean. the windows were leaking water in the morning. the breakfast foods were same as any hotel/motel. the staff was above average. a very expensive,sub par room and building. It needs quite a bit of renovation. parking was included. building was being painted on outside. I can not recommend this hotel, and I really like Marriots, usually.

Room Tip: go down the street a little farther.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al-Dorothy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your stay with us. We were aware of some of the windows having that issue and so a part of the painting of the hotel you mentioned actually includes them resealing our windows to fix that problem. We are always updating our facilities to better fit our guest's needs and clearly we missed the mark with you. I would love to hear from you directly so I can find out which room you were in so we can further investigate the problem and make sure no other guests experience it.

Sincerely,
Kevin Allustiarti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I love Marriot!!! BUT this one let us down. The staff WAS friendly, no complaints -always trying to make a conversation, smiling, welcoming. Parking is included, that's good, location is great.
So why the let down. First,.-I think it is overpriced , we stayed at much better hotels in large cities, downtown for the same price.
Second, we were first given a room next to a VERY noisy people who played music really loudly. When we called the operator, she knew exactly who we were talking about! ( I am assuming someone else complained??) Why would you tolerate guests like that and give a room next to them.... Operator did not offer to move us at first, manager went to the room and asked guests to lower the music, however we could still hear it pretty loudly. Operator did call us and asked if it's better, and since it really wasn't, we asked to be moved.
Ok.. after moving ( one floor up, right above those people:)), but at least music stopped. The let down DID NOT STOP. The next day we came back from a very long day at about 8pm to find out that the room service was NOT done.. I am no princess, and can make my own bed, however, there were no clean towels, etc.. Once again had to call the operator..
Just disappointed with this hotel, too many ooppses .
Stayed on November 2013.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We always stay on Marriott Properties. This was not a great experience. Bed was very uncomfortable...definitely not your typical "heavenly" bed. Bathtub did not drain and it's just gross to shower in a tub like that. We did complain and it was not fixed. We could have been moved to a different room but that is a real pain if you are only staying two nights. The concierge lounge has a nice breakfast & the staff is very accommodating but the evening happy hour leaves a lot to be desired. If you want a really nice place to stay The Bohemian is the place down in the village for sure. That's where we will spend our return visits.

Room Tip: Look at room before check in and check the shower/tub to make sure it drains properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Property: Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing