We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That kind of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

You know you're not in Kansas anymore when the two "downtown" hotels are a renaissance and a W (the Aloft.) Midcentury, so not as lavish as newer places, and yes the bathrooms are very small and cramped. But very good price on a thursday night and we've paid more for Fairfield s without even getting free parking (in Bremerton washington of all places.) Staff are always warm and friendly, the king room was large and comfy and while the concierge lounge was small and crowded at breakfast, at least the other guests were polite as we tried to stay out of each others way at the juice and coffee stations. Hint: stock enough club soda in the lounge that its not all "reserved" for mixed drinks. another hint: get some of those nifty "4th generation" fairfield lamps to add additional electrical outlets to the rooms. Great quiet location, friendly welcoming staff, reliable Marriott quality.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DC196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Asheville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Check-in went smooth, but the lady told us nothing about property and wasn't into conversing. Room was clean and housekeeping staff nice (although we always saw them gathered gossiping by elevator). Room service over priced, but surprisingly good. Bar closed to early Friday night, but great atmosphere and loved outdoor sitting area! Breakfast buffet good and service was alright (omelet maker man was so funny and really left you in a good mood). Location was great--- close enough to walk downtown. I'd stay again if I'm back in Asheville.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank kathrynp816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

There are less expensive hotels in Asheville, but this one is guaranteed to please. It's in a wonderful central location to lively downtown Asheville. Park you car (free) in the hotel parking lot and take a walk or a short ride to all this great small mountain city has to offer. The rooms are clean and sizable, the beds are comfortable, and many rooms have nice views of the surrounding mountains. The newly renovated lobby is quite attractive, and is staffed by super-friendly and helpful desk clerks. There's a nice little bar and a lovely outdoor patio--across the street from the historic Thomas Wolfe house-- for relaxing after a busy day of sightseeing. The hotel restaurant has decent dinners and more-than-decent breakfasts to fuel you for the day. We've housed our out-of-state-guests d there for a family wedding, and all of them were pleased. They do a fine job, all around, of making you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donnastwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is in a good location, has wonderful views and everything you would expect from a higher end hotel. Pool and hot tub are indoors, gym is clean, there is coin operated laundry, nice restaurant, good bar scene, and an outdoor area that you can bring food and drink into that is covered. Business center has wonderful views and is a great place to breakfast.

Room Tip: You want mountain view room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick92065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is obviously an older hotel but has been refurbished very nicely. Very attractive lobby.
Frond Desk personnel were very friendly and accommodating. One refreshing detail is that on-site parking is free!
There are other newer, more exciting hotels around, but for the price and its location I thought the Renaissance was a good choice.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face towards the mountains and have nicer views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I and another couple booked this hotel last minute on a road trip to North Carolina and saw that it was listed as a category 6 hotel on Marriott's website. Standard room was $197 and we figured for that kind of money it should be great. While the location was optimal, located only minutes walking from downtown Asheville, the hotel itself was lacking. The indoor pool, hottub and gym were nice --- but nothing stood out as spectacular. The room was also mediocre, noting that I wouldn't have any qualms about it except that the price did not match the value offered. All in all, the standard room at this hotel should have been $80, not $197. Don't want to leave out the staff. Front desk were polite, quick and friendly. No issues there.

Room Tip: Standard room is small.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chadchernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback. I do appreciate your positive remarks about the front desk. We look forward to serving you in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A great location as everything Downtown Asheville is walkable. Professional staff with nice and clean rooms. The property looks a little old but is well maintained. A little pricey but it was ok thanks to the downtown convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulKulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
998 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £136 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing