We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service at the Baymont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
chicago, Illinios
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service at the Baymont”
Reviewed 4 November 2007

I stayed at the Baymont in Asheville to attend a wedding. I was very much looking forward to my trip as I have heard that Asheville is absolutely beautiful. However, the service at the Baymont was horrible and really put a damper on the weekend. The room was pretty clean for the price and the location was great. However, the man checking us in to the hotel could not be more rude. It because so bad that no one wanted to approach the front desk out of frustration and not wanting to get into a conflict. There is absolutely no reason for rudeness - especially for a hotel that claims to be in the service business. Refusing to give out more than key, refusing to give any directions, refusing to give out the packets that the bride had left us at the front desk, and simply trying to be as difficult as he could really made my stay unpleasant. I will continue to recommend other hotels in the area to friends and will in no way recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — terrible customer service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kates1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    707
    268
    59
    39
See reviews for
643
651
76
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

I have only stayed at four different hotels in North Carolina so far, but I think this one is a good one for the price. The hotel was very clean and everything smelled fresh. There is a gym with a decent selection of equipment, a large pool and hot tub. They also offer a free breakfast with a good assortment of food. We asked for two non-smoking king adjoining rooms with mini fridge and microwave. We got exactly what we asked for without problems. The staff was friendly and were able to answer any of our questions. The hotel was easy to get in and out of, and is technically within walking distance of Biltmore but I would advise against trying to walk there. There are many restaurants within walking distance. What I appreciate most is that it was quiet, and the room was dark at night. Even the bathroom seemed to be well insulated, even though it was very tiny. I did not rate this as excellent because the pool was over-chlorinated, the breakfast food could have been cooked better, our card keys didn't work at first, and I think (for the price of the room) they can do better than offering a tiny bottle of Breck shampoo and a bar of Pure and Natural soap. I would expect to see better brand name soaps and some lotion offered in other hotels of the same price. I realize that sounds a bit nit-picky, but it is something I pay attention to.

  • Liked — It was very clean compared to other hotels I have been to.
  • Disliked — The entrance to the parking lot is very steep. Our rental van kept scraping the bottom.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msomnipotent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

My husband and I stayed in this hotel while enroute to Greensboro, NC for a Van Halen concert. This hotel is about 1 block off the interstate and almost directly across from the entrance to the Biltmore Estate. Very convenient. We booked a King room which was adequate for 2 adults. If you have kids or get a double/double, this size room would be crowded.
The breakfast room was very small, but well stocked when we were there. It does have your "hot" breakfast items, but they are microwaveable egg patties, sausage, and biscuits. Not high quality, but serviceable.
There are a few minor problems but they are worth mentioning-the breakfast area trash can could have been emptied more often. Perhaps they are minimizing their carbon footprint by maximizing their garbage bag use? (BTW I mean OVERFLOWING, not just to the top of the can)
Also the small dark bathroom was made darker by the use of a (clean) dark green shower curtain, which made it seem like takin g a shower in the dark. No need for designer curtains here, just use a white/tan one and it would solve the problem.
I did read other reviews on this hotel and Ms. Julie Patel is still listed as the manager, but we had no problems this stay.
Would recommend this as a base only if you are exploring Asheville and the surrounding area. If you want luxury services this is not the hotel for you.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — barely adequate bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tnmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

We stayed at this hotel August 7 through 10 and were pleased. The staff was very accommodating - we purchased our Biltmore Estate tickets there and got free wine tasting. The breakfast was very adequate although I do wish they would keep serving a little later and had a bigger room. The room is small and often times people were looking for places to sit. The rooms are nice and clean. The location is excellent, very centrally located to everything you want to see. Overall a good experience. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

This is a perfectly nice hotel if you just need a decent, clean place for the night. I gave it an "above average" rating because I am comparing it to other hotels in the same price range.

I stayed here 6 nights and found the various front desk personel to be pleasant and the rooms clean, nice and plenty big. The hotel is relatively new and has a guest laundry, an indoor pool and a jacuzzi.

The breakfast was basic continental fare but with the unexpected and nice inclusion of Southern biscuits.

The hotel is extremely convenient to downtown Asheville, the Biltmore Village and Estate and Interstate 40.

The only drawback is that there is no business center for guests. If you don't bring your own computer and need one, you are out of luck unless you go to the Kinko's up the road.

All in all, I think it's the very best value for the money (under $100) and I plan to return.

Susan McBrayer
Atlanta

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, nc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Good hotel overall. Great place for the price you pay, we paid about $100 per night and it was clean, modern and in a good location. We walked to the steakhouse 50 yards down the street for dinner. It took us 3 minutes to drive to the Biltmore.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank webdevmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2007

The hotel was a great value at $71.00 a night. It is also in a great location, close to Biltmore Estate and some fun shops in Biltmore Village plus various restaurants such as TGI Fridays and Texas Roadhouse. Also in Biltmore Village is a Mexican restuarant called La Paz which is very good! It is also convenient to I-40 and not too far from the mall and stores on Tunnel Road. We did find the beds to be too small and not very comfortable. We also had a challenge with our room keys not working and this went on for 3 days. The staff was accomodating but the manager was not as concerned as we felt was required. In addition, the breakfast area is very small in relation to how many floors and rooms are in the hotel. The buffet did have a nice variety of items, however.

The cleaning staff was great and the rooms were impeccably cleaned.

We would recommend booking with a queen or king sized room. Don't stay here otherwise, unless you are by yourself or just two of you. We stayed here with 2 children and the room with 2 double beds was too small!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank RosenIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#31 of 66 in Asheville
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.3 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#36 of 66 in Asheville
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville Biltmore Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore
Address: 204 Hendersonville Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-2745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Asheville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#19 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Asheville / Biltmore Estate Hotel Asheville
Asheville Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing