We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poo in the pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 23 June 2014

At about 9:00 p.m. on June 19 we observed quite a bit of poop lying on the bottom of the pool. There were some other guests in the hot tub and they said that they did not notice it when they were in the pool at about 6:30 p.m.

We reported the problem to the front desk and he said that maintenance would be called to
handle the problem and he quickly posted signs saying that the pool was closed. We were relaxing in the hot tub when the hotel employee returned and said that maintenance could not be there for another hour so he was going to investigate the problem. He grabbed the skimmer for the pool and scooped up some of the poop and set it in the skimmer on the side of the pool. Another guest took a photo of him posing with the poop! He officially declared it to be poop and then placed it back in the pool!!!!

At 7:30 a.m. the next day there were guests swimming in the pool and my husband asked the current desk clerk why people were allowed in the pool again. This clerk said that he had no knowledge of the incident and quickly asked the people to get out of the pool and posted signs again saying that it was closed for maintenance.

This hotel started out as a strong "4" to 4 1/2 rating, but it rapidly went to a "1". I realize that they cannot be responsible for the bad behavior of their guests, but the way this problem was handled by the hotel spoke volumes about their hygiene procedures.

We decided to check out a day early at about out 9:00 a.m. and get to our clean house!!! At this time the signs were down again and he told me that the pool was treated and the poop was removed at about 11 p.m. the night before. I know that the pools in my area have to be closed for 24 hours for this type of problem. Possibly the health department rules are different in North Carolina.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmishWannabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baymontinnasheville, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize for the unfortunate incident in the pool. When the front desk staff was made aware of the situation, the pool was immediately closed and pool maintenance came in to treat the pool. The pool was closed overnight which is more than enough time to rebalance the water. I am glad that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable and I hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to town.
Sincerely,
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Convenient to Hwy 40.Great buffet included in hotel price. Clean confortable rooms.Pool & sm exercise room. Helpful check in staff with directions in Asheville. I Would stay there again if in area.Close to Biltmore village & other stuff.

Room Tip: Free hot buffet breakfast with a lot of choices but no restaurant. I have no kids so don't kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 37Ginny37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baymontinnasheville, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is located in a great area - maybe 1 mile from Biltmore. It is conveniently located off Hwy 40 and easy to get to. Our family stayed for 3 days and 2 nights. The rooms are typical for a hotel but everything was very clean. We ate breakfast each morning which is included with your room rate - it was great and fully stocked the entire breakfast hours. Everything from waffles, yogurt, bagels, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, cereal - coffee, juices, milk, etc. It was well worth it as feeding a family is expensive. We used the pool and hot tub. They have a small gym but we didn't use it. The front desk staff was very nice and helped us quickly with anything we needed. They have coffee and baked cookies every afternoon which is a nice touch. The rooms are very quiet as we could not hear anyone around us. Overall it was a great experience!

Room Tip: There is only one elevator so request a room close to the bottom floor. We were on the 4th floor wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baymontinnasheville, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

I appreciate the time you took to review your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and that you were able to take advantage of our indoor pool and hot tub. I will be sure to pass your review along to our staff as they will appreciate your feedback. I hope to see you again on your next visit to town. Thank you for choosing the Baymont Inn for your lodging needs.
Sincerely,
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#33 of 66 in Asheville
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville Biltmore Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville-Biltmore Vlg Area
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore

Address: 204 Hendersonville Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-2745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Asheville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#19 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £85 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Asheville / Biltmore Estate Hotel Asheville
Asheville Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing