We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day!”

Asheville Outdoor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Asheville Outdoor Center has been offering family-friendly calm-water river paddling since 1992. Enjoy a leisurely 7-mile canoe, kayak, SUP, or raft paddle down the French Broad River through the Biltmore Estate property. We also offer gem mining, bike rentals, games, and outdoor events. Please check out our website for more information and call us to make a reservation. Normal business hours are Tuesday-Sunday 9AM-5PM. We are the "Pioneers of the French Broad."
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun day!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We took our two granddaughters and their friend for their first kayak trip. This company is organized and professional. They showed an instructional/safety video as well as talking to us about the route. It was a beautiful trip and we all enjoyed it. Autumn is a perfect time to go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    21
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Worthless tour”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We went on a river tour and it looked like rain. I said "it looks like rain" they said "no sir ,no rain it just looks that way". 30 minutes later we're breaking out the ponchos and getting really wet. No refund, no care, no way ever again. DON'T DO IT! waste of time and money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Truthfultraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshevilleOutdoorC, Owner at Asheville Outdoor Center, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
For over 23 years the owner and staff at the A.O.C have strived for excellent customer satisfaction, We were unaware of your situation and always do our best to correct problems. Please contact us directly by e-mail to see if we can resolve this issue. Thank you A.O.C. Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must do Canoe Trip”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a wonderful and relaxing canoe trip down the Broad River. The outdoor center dropped us off at Bent Creek and we gently floated 7 miles down the river. We went through the Biltmore Estate. We could see the Inn and the Biltmore Castle from the river. It took us about 2 1/2 hours to do the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Purnell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crisfield, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Carefree and Enjoyable”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Floating gently down the Broad French River through the grounds of the Biltmore estate in a sturdy raft for two and a half hours on a beautiful September day was a wonderful way to spend the morning. No rapids, no whitewater, a just couple to gentle encounters with rocks beneath us -- it was comfortable cruise in a beautiful place. A sprinkling of turning leaves, several stately blue herons, a glimpse of "the estate's" buildings from time to time, some horseback riders on the Biltmore's trail by the river, all made the trip a memorable one. From a turtle sunning on a rock mid-river to the geese overhead there was plenty to see and enjoy. Friendly and helpful staff and and obvious concern for comfort and safety made this day a carefree and enjoyable one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank drmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Service, Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

One of the prettiest properties in the city. Great service for kayaking, rafting and tubing! Gem mining and bicycle rentals. Bring the whole family!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asheville Outdoor Center also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Asheville Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing