We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and easy float trip with a great company!”

Asheville Outdoor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Asheville Outdoor Center (formerly Southern Waterways) has been offering family-friendly calm-water river paddling since 1992. Enjoy a leisurely 7-mile canoe, kayak, or raft paddle down the French Broad River through the Biltmore Estate property. We also offer Stand-Up Paddle boarding, gem mining, bike rentals and outdoor events. Please check out our website for more information and call us to make a reservation. Normal business hours are Tuesday-Sunday 9AM-5PM. We are the "Pioneers of the French Broad."
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun and easy float trip with a great company!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a really great time on the 7-mile float trip. We booked two kayaks for a 10am start. We got views of the Biltmore and the Biltmore Inn, as well as plenty of wildlife. The paddling is pretty easy, as you're going with the current, and there's only a few places with rapids. The guide staff at AOC give you a pretty clear list of instructions before you go out. The single kayaks are the sit-on-top kind, so bring sunscreen for your legs. If it's a warm day, we would definitely suggest starting at 10am, as it can get rather warm on the river. We took a little over 2 hours to complete the trip, but you could certainly go more slowly if you wanted to. FYI, on this section of river there's no place for you to stop and get out along the banks since it runs through private property. Wait until you're done for a picnic or be ready to eat a snack on your boat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Granola192013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    21
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“7 mile float on French Broad”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My father and I paddled the 7 mike trip. River was wide and water was high. Some little rapids with a nice strong current so really did not have to do a lot of work. Past right by the Biltmore and Biltmore Inn. Great staff,super nice outfitter and really close to downtown. Fantastic way to spend a morning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luluvsyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy to book and fun for all ages”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went on the 10am 7-mile canoe trip down the French Broad River on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend.. it was a pretty easy trip due to the steady current (you really can float down the river most of the time if you want) but there were some fun spots where you needed to get through "rapids". The price was pretty average for river trip..$34 a person which includes everything and there is no time restriction (as long as you're back by 5:00pm before close). It may have just been because it was Memorial Day weekend, but the time slots fill up fast so it is a good idea to call and reserve your spot. The owner and the team were very easy-going, fun and accommodating--you could tell that they really enjoyed what they were doing which made you excited about the trip as well. They also just added a craft beer tap where you can grab a beer after your trip!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Kids loved it and a river otter!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We took a two tandem kayaks on this float trip. An adult and child in each. The river is gentle and only one small section actually required paddling. The trip was the perfect length for our 8 and 10 year old children. We saw many birds and even a river otter.

Helpful?
4 Thank DraLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“such a great excursion”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We decided to spend our last day in Asheville kayaking. While our GPS made it a little difficult to find AOC, once there it was smooth paddling. Great space, with equipment in good condition. All the staff were safety conscious and eager to make sure we had a good time. The French Broad is a great river to kayak down. Gentle, beautiful, and clean, we loved the couple hours that we spent there. My only regret was not putting on sunblock on my legs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmers U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asheville Outdoor Center also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Asheville Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing